LibGuides: Global Business Management: Background Information

Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content: A reference database useful for accessing scholarly definitions, background and contextual information. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, economics, education, history, literature, music, psychology, religion, and science and technology.
Purpose: An excellent starting point for brainstorming a research topic and building out your initial search terms list.
Special Features: Mindmap; related articles; image search
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content: Ebooks with coverage across all academic disciplines. The collection offers a critical mass of more than 150,000 foundational scholarly ebooks with balanced quantity and quality to improve teaching, learning and research workflow and outcomes.
Purpose: Provides access to multidisciplinary ebooks for download or to be read online.
Special Features: Browse by subject option; highlight and take notes in text.
Help using this database.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content: Reference sources, primarily books but also videos and business cases.
Purpose: Use for finding reference sources like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide contextual or explanatory material.
Special Features: Includes Sage Navigator

Business Dictionaries

The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by George Thomas Kurian More than 6,000 key business terms, covering a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business.
ISBN: 9780814420287
Publication Date: 2013
Dictionary of Accounting by S. M. H. Collin; Jane Russell; A-and-C Black UK Staff Dictionary of Accounting covers a wide range of topics related to accountancy, including personal finance, investments and company accounts. Ideal for students of accountancy, users without a background in accounting and those working in company accounts departments.
ISBN: 9780713682861
Publication Date: 2007
Dictionary of Economics by C. L. Pass, Leslie Davies , Bryan Lowes Summarizes the theoretical principles behind the science of economics and their application in such areas as competition policy, agricultural policy, fiscal policy and monetary policy.
ISBN: 9780007198108
Publication Date: 2005
Webster's New World Finance and Investment Dictionary by Barbara Etzel Clear, accessible, and cross-referenced explanations of today's most essential financial terms, including vocabulary related to accounting, finance, banks and banking, economics, investing, markets, real estate, and securities.
ISBN: 9781438001401
Publication Date: 2003
Wall Street Words by David L. Scott; Louis Rukeyser (Foreword by) Has 4,500 entries; more than 700 of them newly added to reflect key developments in national and world markets.
ISBN: 9780618176519
Publication Date: 2003
Webster's New World Finance and Investment Dictionary by Barbara J. Etzel This resource gives you cross-referenced explanations of financial terms, including vocabulary related to: Accounting; Finance; Banks and banking; Economics; Investing; and Markets.
ISBN: 9780764526350
Publication Date: 2003

Selected Background Information

Learn how to find background information in the Library. See the FAQ: How can I find general information about a topic?

The A-Z of Corporate Social Responsibility by Nick Tolhurst; Manfred Pohl; Dirk Matten; Wayne Visser
ISBN: 9780470686508
Publication Date: 2010
Provides an easy-to-use guide to CSR: from general concepts such as sustainability, stakeholder management, business ethics and human rights to more specific topics such as carbon trading, microfinance, biodiversity, the Base of the Pyramid model and globalization.
Asian Business and Management by Michael B. Witt (Editor)
ISBN: 9781446200254
Publication Date: 2012
This major work presents a collection of seminal works on Asian business and management, carefully chosen by the editor on the basis of impact and expert nominations.
Corporate Espionage, Geopolitics, and Diplomacy Issues in International Business by Bryan Christiansen (Editor); Fatmanur Kasarcı (Editor)
ISBN: 9781522510314
Publication Date: 2017
Highlights strategic planning and operations tactics in the areas of human resource management and security. Features the impact of espionage, geopolitics, and diplomacy.
Foundations of Cross Cultural Management by Mikael Søndergaard (Editor); Mark F. Peterson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781847873484
Publication Date: 2008
Provides ready access to classic and contemporary materials that provide people interested in international organization studies and cross cultural management with the insight to understand current developments.
Global Issues in Management by Ruth A. Wienclaw
Publication Date: 2019
Entry from the Salem Press Encyclopedia discusses how working in a foreign culture under a different set of laws and regulations brings with it new concerns in the host county.
The Handbook of Cross-Cultural Management Research by Peter B. Smith; Mark F. Peterson; David C. Thomas
ISBN: 9781412940269
Publication Date: 2008-05-22
Renowned international experts have drawn together scholars in the field of management from around the world to contribute vital information from their cross-national studies to this innovative, comprehensive tome.
International Business and Globalization by John D. Daniels (Editor); Jeffrey A. Krug (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412935302
Publication Date: 2007
divides globalization into three broad categories, each comprising a volume: (1) The growth, consequences, and future of globalization, (2) Globalization and national cultures, and (3) Effects of globalization on the firm.
International Themes in Business Law by Stephen T. Hardy (Editor); Mark Butler (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412929004
Publication Date: 2007
With contributions from the main stakeholders in the field, including company lawyers as well as leading scholars, this four volume collection of classic and contemporary articles maps out the key issues in Business Law.
Introducing Management in a Global Context by Robert MacIntosh; Kevin D O'Gorman
ISBN: 9781910158494
Publication Date: 2015-09-10
In this core text a range of leading experts present an introduction to management in a global context.
Multinational Management by Edwin D. Davison
Publication Date: 2019
Entry from the Salem Press Encyclopedia provides an introduction to the topic of multinational management.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence by Janet M. Bennett (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452244280
Publication Date: 2015
Key Features: 300 to 350 entries organized in A-to-Z fashion in two volumes.
The SAGE Handbook of International Marketing by Masaaki Kotabe (Editor); Kristiaan Helsen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412934282
Publication Date: 2009
Brings together the fundamental questions and themes that have surfaced and promises to be an essential addition to the study of this critical subject area.