Search for articles, books, dissertations, and more
The Library’s website and resources are available 24/7.
Library Staffed Hours (not including observed holidays)
All times below are shown in San Diego, CA - Pacific Time. Use the Time Zone Converter to check your local time.
The Research Consultation service offers students an in-depth, personalized, one-on-one meeting with a reference librarian to discuss possible information resources and search strategies for class assignments, master’s theses, and doctoral dissertations.
Research consultations focus on:
Click here for more information about research consultations and booking an appointment.
To see all NU Library Databases, go to the A-Z Database List.
Content: APA database that offers full-text for journals published by APA, the Canadian Psychological Association, Hogrefe Publishing Group and APA's Educational Publishing Foundation. View the APA PsycArticles Journal History for a complete coverage list.
Purpose: Important database for psychology, counseling, and education students.
Special Features: The database is updated bi-weekly all content is available in PDF and HTML formats.
Content: Ebook database from the American Psychological Association that includes the most current scholarly and professional titles published by APA, as well as historical and classic works from the behavioral and social sciences.
Purpose: A fundamental resource for any psychology student.
Content: Journal article database from the American Psychological Association that indexes over 2,500 journals along with book chapters and dissertations.
Purpose: Provides a single source of vetted, authoritative research for users across the behavioral and social sciences.
Special Features: citations in APA Style®, updated bi-weekly, spans 600 years of content
Content: Psychological tests and measures designed for use with social and behavioral science research
Purpose: Allows students and researchers to find and download instruments for research and/or teaching. Focused primarily on unpublished tests, this database was designed to save researchers time from having to reproduce tests when conducting research on previously measured constructs.
Special Features: Records include summary of the construct, and users can find information on reliability, validity, and factor analysis when that data is reported in the source document.
Content: EBSCO database of test instruments found within articles.
Purpose: Provides users with instruments and measurements used in health and behavioral sciences and education
Special Features: Can be used along with APA PsycTests, ETS, and Mental Measurements to learn about instruments in the education and behavioral and health sciences.
Content: Strong in psychiatric reference materials, but also including some journals. Includes the DSM Library.
Purpose: Use when researching psychiatry, mental health, and behavioral science topics.
Special Features: Includes the DSM-5 manual
Content: Instructional videos on psychotherapy for diverse populations.
Purpose: Use when seeking reliable, detailed instructions for implementing therapeutic approaches, as well as serving diverse populations and therapeutic issues.