This is a space for the teal alert bar.
This is a space for the yellow alert bar.
This is a space for the teal alert bar.
This is a space for the yellow alert bar.
OpenAthens allows you to personalize your experience when logged in through a library database. While personalization features may vary by database, they often include the following:
Using NavigatorSearch and EBSCOhost Databases with a Personal Account
When accessing NavigatorSearch or any of the NU Library's EBSCOhost databases, a NEW MyEBSCOhost account will be automatically created for you, which allows you to save searches, create search alerts, save resources to personal folders, and check out EBSCO ebook content.
NOTE: If you maintained one or more MyEBSCOhost accounts prior to July 1, 2021, then you have the option to access your old account and view content by clicking on the Switch Accounts link in the top-right menu of any EBSCO database; however, you will NOT be able to save any new content to previous accounts.
In order to access NavigatorSearch and EBSCOhost databases as well as manage your personal accounts, you should consent to EBSCO's Personal Data Retention and Usage policy. You will be presented with the consent form when accessing NavigatorSearch or EBSCOhost databases for the first time.
You may choose to withdraw consent but note that you cannot use any of the personalization features offered with a MyEBSCOhost account. You will also need to withdraw consent each time you access these resources as your personal information is not stored to remember this setting.
MyEBSCOhost accounts will now be linked to your OpenAthens information. For more information, review EBSCO's Data Retention and Usage consent form FAQs and Privacy Policy.
Steps for Switching to a Previous MyEBSCOhost Account
MyEBSCOhost accounts will now be linked to your OpenAthens information, and a new account will be automatically generated for you upon signing into an EBSCO database or NavigatorSearch with your NU credentials. If you had previously created a MyEBSCOhost account prior to July 1, 2021, you can still access your personal folders and saved research information using your previous login. NOTE: You will NOT be able to save any new content to previous accounts.
Please review the steps below to switch to your previous established account:
1. Beginning July 1, 2021, the first time you use NavigatorSearch or any of the NU Library's EBSCO databases, you will be prompted to agree to EBSCO’s Personal Data Retention and Usage statement as shown in the image below. For more about this statement, see here. NOTE: Selecting NO when using NavigatorSearch or an EBSCO database will result in your being unable to access, create, or merge accounts. Without a personal account, you will no longer be able to save items to folders; access saved folders; see your search history; and checkout books and/or magazines.
2. Once logged into NavigatorSearch or any EBSCO database, click Switch Accounts in the top right-hand corner of the search page.
3. Sign in to your MyEBSCOhost account with your previously selected Username or email address and chosen password.
Steps for Merging a Previous MyEBSCOhost Account
The EBSCO Merge Accounts feature allows you to merge account information (saved articles, searches, alerts, videos, etc.) from one Personal User Account into another. Once your accounts are merged, the account that contained the data that was merged into the target account is removed and no longer exists on the service.
Before merging your account, NOTE the following:
To merge an account, review the following steps:
1. Beginning July 1, 2021, the first time you use NavigatorSearch or any of the NU Library's EBSCO databases, you will be prompted to agree to EBSCO’s Personal Data Retention and Usage statement as shown in the image below. For more about this statement, see here. NOTE: Selecting NO when using NavigatorSearch or an EBSCO database will result in your being unable to create or merge accounts. Without a personal account, you will no longer be able to save items to folders; access saved folders; see your search history; and checkout books and/or magazines.
2. Once logged into NavigatorSearch or any EBSCO database, click Update My Account in the top right-hand corner of the search page.
3. To start the merge process, click Get Started in the EBSCO Merge Accounts section at the bottom of the display. You will be taken to a summary of details for your new MyEBSCOhost account, including your name and email address.
4. Next, click Sign in to Your Second Account and sign in to your previous MyEBSCOhost account using the username and password you created when you initially set up the account. NOTE: If you need help recovering your username or password, please contact the NU Library.
5. After signing in, you will be presented with a summary of the account merger. The Secondary Account listed at the top should correspond to your previous account. The Current Account will be your new account. This account should show zero items if you have not already saved items to it. Any items you have already saved to your new account will be saved after merging accounts. Once you’re ready to merge accounts, click Merge Account.
6. You will be asked to continue with and confirm the merge process. This form will remind you that, after doing so, your previous MyEBSCOhost account will be deleted. If the contents of your previous account are especially large or valuable to you, be sure to export them prior to merging accounts. The NU Library will NOT be able to recover the contents of your previous account after it has been merged to the new account. When you are ready to merge accounts, click Continue.
7. You will receive a confirmation email once the merge is complete. You will need to sign out and log back in to see your merged resources. To merge multiple accounts, click repeat these steps.
Additional Troubleshooting for Merging Accounts
Ebook Central and OpenAthens
When you access Ebook Central with OpenAthens for the first time, you may notice that your previously-saved items no longer appear on your bookshelf. With OpenAthens, you are signing into your Ebook Central bookshelf using your NU institutional credentials. Because of this, a new account will be created based on your email user, and a new bookshelf will be created for you.
However, it is possible to retrieve items saved to your previous bookshelf.
Contact the NU Library with the below information so that a Library team member can open a support case with ProQuest Ebook Central on your behalf.
Questions? Contact the NU Library by calling 888-628-1569, by texting 928-550-6552, or by chatting with us during live help hours.
Creating an Account with RefWorks
To create a new account with RefWorks, use the following steps:
1. Access RefWorks using the following link https://shibboleth.refworks.proquest.com/authenticate?provider=https://idp.ncu.edu/openathens and sign in with your NU institutional credentials.
2. You will be routed to the RefWorks sign-up page to enter your NU school email address to begin.
3. Complete your RefWorks profile to begin using RefWorks.
4. Next, set up an alternate password for your RefWorks account. Click on your name in the top right corner and go to Settings.
NOTE: Choosing an alternate password for your account will allow you to login to RefWorks for Google Docs and RefWorks for Microsoft Word using your NU school email and this password. Currently, these integrations do not sync with NU's institutional sign-in page.
5. Scroll to the Alternate Password section and click on Set alternate password.
6. Create an alternate password that is at least 6 characters for your RefWorks account and click on Save.
RefWorks Citation Manager is a plugin that lets you run a simplified version of RefWorks in Microsoft Word. RefWorks Citation Manager is a newer, more modern version of Write-N-Cite.
RefWorks Citation Manager is available through the Microsoft Store and can be installed directly from Microsoft Word. By default, Office automatically updates RefWorks Citation Manager whenever a new version becomes available.
Features:
NOTE:
1. To install RefWorks Citation Manager, open a new Microsoft Word document. Click on the Insert tab in your Microsoft Word ribbon and click on Get Add-ins.
2. In Office Add-ins, search for RefWorks. Click on Add.
3. An RCM tab will appear in your Microsoft Word ribbon. Click on RefWorks Citation Manager to launch the tool. You will be required to login with your NU school email address and your chosen alternate password.
NOTE: Choosing an alternate password for your account will allow you to login to RefWorks for Google Docs and RefWorks for Microsoft Word using your NU school email and this alternate password. Currently, these integrations do not sync with NU's institutional sign-in page.
Choosing an alternate password for your account will allow you to login to RefWorks for Google Docs and RefWorks for Microsoft Word using your NU school email and this password. Currently, these integrations do not sync with NU's institutional sign-in page.
1. To set up an alternate password for your RefWorks account, click on your name in the top right corner in your RefWorks online dashboard and go to Settings.
2. Scroll to the Alternate Password section and click on Set alternate password.
3. Create an alternate password that is at least 6 characters for your RefWorks account and click on Save.
Personal Accounts with NavigatorSearch & EBSCOhost Databases
When accessing NavigatorSearch or any of the Library's EBSCOhost databases, a NEW MyEBSCOhost account will be automatically created for you using your university email address and password. You will be automatically signed into this personal account each time you access the search tool or databases.
A MyEBSCOhost account provides access to the following features:
In order to access NavigatorSearch and EBSCOhost databases as well as manage your personal accounts, you should consent to EBSCO's Personal Data Retention and Usage policy. You will be presented with a consent form when accessing NavigatorSearch or EBSCOhost databases for the first time. You may choose to withdraw consent but note that you cannot use any of the personalization features offered with a MyEBSCOhost account. You will also need to withdraw consent each time you access these resources as your personal information is not stored to remember this setting. More information is available in this FAQ.
NOTE: If you maintained one or more MyEBSCOhost accounts prior to July 1, 2021, then you have the option to access your old account and view content by clicking on the Switch Accounts link in the top-right menu of any EBSCO database; however, you will NOT be able to save any new content to previous accounts. More information is available in this FAQ.
Please note that following graduation you will no longer have access to your EBSCOhost account. Your personal EBSCOhost folder can only be accessed by logging in through the account of the institution in which the folder account was created. You will not have access to EBSCOhost or NavigatorSearch following graduation. You can, however, export your saved EBSCOhost content to RefWorks using the steps outlined in this FAQ. Additionally, you do have access to a number of other Library databases following graduation. Please see our Alumni Access FAQ for more information.
Content: Scholarly journals, e-books, videos and more.
Purpose: A key multidisciplinary database for most topics. It is one of the library’s main search engines and the most comprehensive single search.
Note: Certain library databases and publisher content are not searchable in NavigatorSearch, and individual databases may need to be searched to retrieve information due to unique content. NavigatorSearch can be found at https://resources.nu.edu.
Content: One central search that contains all of NU's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO.
Personal Accounts with Academic Video Online & Psychotherapy.net Collection (Alexander Street Press)
Why create an account
Any user accessing the site through NU Library will be able to create a personal user account that can be used to save clips and playlists for as long as the user has access to Academic Video Online, including Psychotherapy.net Collection.
How to create an account
To create a new account, click the person icon at the top right-hand corner of any page on the site and select Sign Up. You will need to select and enter a display name, email address, and password to complete the setup of your account. You will then be sent an email containing a link to click on in order to confirm your account.
If you already have a user account but have forgotten your password, click the Forgot your Password link on the sign-in page to reset it. If you wish to change any of the information associated with your account, including user image and short bio, you can do that from the My Profile tab once you have signed in.
Note that there are no options to create alerts or RSS feeds for video content.
Content: The most comprehensive video database covering more than 67,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more.
Purpose: Curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.
Content: Instructional videos on psychotherapy for diverse populations.
Purpose: Use when seeking reliable, detailed instructions for implementing therapeutic approaches, as well as serving diverse populations and therapeutic issues.
Personal Accounts with ACM Digital Library
Why create an account
Registering an account in ACM Digital Library allows you to create binders that contain custom collections of citations from the ACM Digital Library. Binders can be shared with other users of the ACM Digital Library.
How to create an account
Click on the Register link in the upper right-hand corner of the page, as shown below. Enter your email address and click the Continue button. Complete the registration form, which requests your name, a password, and a security question and answer. Be sure to write down the username which will be automatically assigned to you as well as the password you selected. An email message with a link to confirm your request for the account will be sent.
Content: The Association of Computing Machinery database is a research, discovery and network platform. The database provides journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
Purpose: An essential database computing and technology research topics.
Special Features: Provides a list of authors after an initial topic search, includes a dataset search filter, and the ability to sort results by most cited.
Personal Accounts with Annual Reviews
Why create an account
Registration is free and registered users enjoy the following benefits:
How to create an account
Click the Register link located in the upper right-hand corner of the page, as shown below. Complete the registration form. You will receive a confirmation email. NOTE: Do not attempt to access Annual Reviews via the web address link provided in the confirmation email. You will need to continue accessing the database through the NU Library. You may then login using the username and password you just created. You will know you are properly logged into the database if you see Welcome Your Name at the very top of the page.
Click on your username to access your personal account profile within My Account. Within the Profile section, you can:
Content: Literature review database covering psychology, sociology, anthropology, environment and resources, law and social science, political science, and public health.
Purpose: Provides articles that synthesize primary research and discuss the topic in historical context. Discover seminal works and literature gaps.
Special Features: Multimedia and supplemental materials.
Personal Accounts with BioMed Central
Why create an account
Registration is free and registered users enjoy the following benefits:
How to create an account
Click the Login link located in the upper right-hand corner of the page, as shown below. Then, click on the Register tab. Complete the registration form. You will receive a confirmation email with a link to complete your registration.
Content: Database of open access, peer-reviewed journals specializing in biomedicine and life sciences.
Purpose: Database for science and medical students.
Special Features: Easily browse by journal, however, there is no advanced searching functionality.
Personal Accounts with Credo Reference
Unfortunately, Credo Reference does not provide the option to create a personal account. However, you can save results for your current browsing session.
Click the Saved Items tab located on the top right-hand side of the blue navigation bar to view My Saved Results, as shown below. This page is for emailing, printing, or exporting the entries that you collected during your Credo session.
To create a collection of saved entries, you can do any of the following:
1. Click the Save icon at the top of any topic page or entry to add to your temporary folder.
2. Click the Save icon beneath each search result.
When done, return to the My Saved Results page where you will be able to easily email, print, or save the entire set of collected entries. Selected entries are remembered only for the duration of your session. NOTE: If you close your browser or start over, the list of marked entries will be cleared.
Content: A reference database useful for accessing scholarly definitions, background and contextual information. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, economics, education, history, literature, music, psychology, religion, and science and technology.
Purpose: An excellent starting point for brainstorming a research topic and building out your initial search terms list.
Special Features: Mindmap; related articles; image search
Personal Accounts with Ebook Central
There is no registration required for an Ebook Central account. Your Ebook Central account is linked to your NU school login and you are automatically signed in when you directly access the database. Your Bookshelf in ProQuest Ebook Central keeps track of your downloads, loans, and saved books. To access your saved content, click on the Bookshelf link in the top right-hand corner, as shown below.
Bookshelf features include the following:
- Downloads and Loans: Easy access to the books you’ve downloaded or have on loan, and a reminder of how many days are remaining.
- Recently viewed: Up to 10 titles that you’ve recently viewed are displayed here.
- Annotated books: Easy access to all the books that you have bookmarked, highlighted, or added notes to. Click on Annotated Books on left, and then click on the Annotations link under each book to view annotations.
- Saved to Bookshelf: This is where you access your saved bookshelf items and create folders. Organize your books into as many folders as you would like. Your bookshelf comes with a Research folder and you can add more folders as you need them.
Content: Ebooks with coverage across all academic disciplines. The collection offers a critical mass of more than 150,000 foundational scholarly ebooks with balanced quantity and quality to improve teaching, learning and research workflow and outcomes.
Purpose: Provides access to multidisciplinary ebooks for download or to be read online.
Special Features: Browse by subject option; highlight and take notes in text.
Personal Accounts with Films On Demand
Why create an account
A personal user account gives you the ability to create playlists, save links to favorite videos, and create folders to organize playlists and favorites. Playlists and favorites are saved to your personal user account. Once you create a personal user account, you can also set user preferences, including defaults for search results and closed captioning.
How to create an account
Content: National University Library's collection of Films Media Group streaming videos.
Purpose: Access Films and videos from a wide range of academic disciplines
Special Features: Content ranges from major academic subjects to vocation and even life-skills categories
Personal Accounts with GALE Databases
GALE allows you to connect a personal Google or Microsoft account by signing in using the options provided in the top right-hand corner. Connecting your personal Google or Microsoft account allows you to save documents, citations, and highlights.
GALE is a Google for Education Partner, which means that after accessing the database, you can sign in with your Google account credentials to share, save, and download articles or annotations to Google Drive or Google Docs. Using a Microsoft account, you can store, sync, and share files by downloading GALE content to your Microsoft OneDrive account in the cloud.
This short video demonstrates how to download, save, and share content from GALE databases to your personal Google or Microsoft account.
Content: Multidisciplinary content in a number of different formats, from academic articles to magazines
Purpose: Provides users with a broad range of content about diverse topics in different source types
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature.
Personal Accounts with Google Scholar
Why create an account
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. It provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
With a Google Scholar personal account, you can save articles from the search results page, organize content by topics in your personal library, and create and manage search alerts.
How to Create an Account
You can sign up for a personal Google and Gmail account, or you can create a personal account using a non-Gmail address instead.
To create a personal Google/Gmail account:
1. Go to the Google Account sign in page.
2. Click Create account.
3. Enter your name.
4. In the "Username" field, enter a username.
5. Enter and confirm your password. Tip: When you enter your password on mobile, the first letter isn't case sensitive.
6. Click Next. Optional: Add and verify a phone number for your account.
7. Click Next.
To create a personal account using an already existing email/non-Gmail:
1. Go to the Google Account Sign In page.
2. Click Create account.
3. Enter your name.
4. Click Use my current email address instead.
5. Enter your current email address.
6. Click Next.
7. Verify your email address with the code sent to your existing email.
8. Click Verify.
Personal Accounts with HeinOnline
Why create an account
MyHein is HeinOnline’s personal research tool that helps you personalize your search experience and save time. With a MyHein personal account, you have access to the following features:
How to create an account
To set up a MyHein account, click the MyHein Profile option from the toolbar on the upper right side of all pages in HeinOnline. Then select Create an Account.
Fill out the form provided. You can choose your preferred username and password.
Once the form is completed, you will be brought directly to your MyHein account where you can begin to organize your research. To return to the welcome page to start searching for resources and content on your topic, simply click the Hein house in the upper left-hand corner of the page.
Content: Traditional legal materials (reported cases, statutes, government regulations, academic law reviews, commercially produced law journals and magazines, and classic treatises), historical, governmental, and political documents, legislative debates, legislative and executive branch reports, world constitutions, international treaties, and reports and other documents of international organizations.
Purpose: Informs users about a broad range of legal and governmental topics.
Special Features: Users can narrow by topic and subject and may also search particular databases.
Personal Accounts with Homeland Security Digital Library
Why create an account
Individual account-holders have access to the following features:
How to create an account
Your login and password will be the same for both www.chds.us and www.hsdl.org and passwords are valid for 6 months. Note that passwords cannot be reused for three years. You can add more than one email address to your account, but please do not create multiple accounts as it can create issues with access.
If you have trouble with your account, please email techsupport@chds.us for support.
Content: Material from Federal, State, international, and private sources related to security policy, strategy, and management. The content is primarily current with some historical material.
Purpose: Informs users about current topics related to homeland security and national defense.
Special Features: Informs users about current topics related to homeland security and national defense
Personal Accounts with IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Why create an account
Anyone can sign up for a free IEEE account on IEEE Xplore. A personal account allows you to do the following:
How to create an account
To create an account with IEEE Xplore, click on the Create Account link in the upper right-hand corner of the page as shown below. 
Fill out the form with your first name and last name. Then, specify a username (email address) and password. Passwords must follow these guidelines:
Click on the Create Account button to finalize your account. IEEE Xplore will display a confirmation box and will sign you into your personal account.
Content: Full-text peer-reviewed journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings, and published standards in the areas of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Purpose: Users may learn about technology industry information
Special Features: Users may search datasets
Personal Accounts with IGI Global
Why create an account
Creating an IGI Global account allows you to easily do the following:
How to create an account
1. Use the following direct link to create your account: https://www.igi-global.com/login/create-account/
2. Enter your email address and proceed to complete the registration information.
Content: Books, chapters, and peer-reviewed content about a diverse range of topics.
Purpose: Users may access full text, and authoritative information about many topics.
Special Features: Users may explore topics and subjects.
Content: Educational videos on business, education, medical & healthcare, security & forensics, information science and technology, and other social sciences topics.
Purpose: Informs users of a range of social science topics through video lectures that are between 1-5 hours in length.
Personal Accounts with JSTOR Open Content
Why create an account
A registered personal account is a free account that enables you to access, cite, and return to JSTOR Open content. Your personal account may support your research in a variety of ways:
Please note that the NU Library does not currently subscribe to the JSTOR database; however, to support researchers, JSTOR offers the ability to read up to 100 online articles for free.
More information about JSTOR accounts and obtaining access to open content is available here:
How to create an account
To register for a new free account, visit the JSTOR registration page. You may use any e-mail address to register. The e-mail you choose to register your account will be your default username.
Items marked with asterisk (*) are required to register.
To stay logged in, select the checkbox Keep me Logged In. To opt-into updates from JSTOR and/or JSTOR-participating publishers, select the checkbox JSTOR Updates.
Content: Open-access articles and book chapters covering arts, humanities, business, education, government, health, medicine, and psychology.
Purpose: Provides users with open-access content ranging from peer-reviewed literature to books.
Special Features: Features JSTOR Daily, which combines news trends with scholarly literature and includes links to open-access works.
Personal Accounts with LinkedIn Learning
Why create an account
LinkedIn Learning lets you learn at your own pace. You can select courses relevant to your current role or degree program in areas like Business, Technology, and Marketing. The content is focused on job skills and can be good for those wanting to learn software platforms specific to their job, but you can also pursue other passions! With courses on financial literacy, social media, even drawing and music theory, you’ll be able to grow and develop in the areas you care about both at and outside of the University.
How to create an account
Before you can access LinkedIn Learning, you need to activate your account. Click this link to activate your account.
Enter in your NU student email address or NU staff/faculty email address and wait for the activation email to be sent. Once you receive the activation email from LinkedIn Learning, click the Activate your account button from within that email.
This will take you to the NU organizational landing page, which you will click to continue to.
After signing in with your NU credentials (just like you would access NCUOne), you should be able to access LinkedIn Learning. When accessing LinkedIn Learning for the first time, you will be prompted to log in or create a LinkedIn account which will be paired with your LinkedIn Learning account. Pairing your account is optional, but if you choose not to pair a LinkedIn account, there is a potential that you may lose any progress, history, or customization. It is highly recommended that you pair a LinkedIn account with your LinkedIn Learning, but you will be given the choice to do so.
If you experience issues with logging in, please contact Service Desk at servicedesk@ncu.edu.
Content: Contains educational videos related to industry and business.
Purpose: Helps users learn about relevant and industry-specific skills.
Special Features: Users can get customizable and personalized learning recommendations based on their preferences and goals.
Personal Accounts with National Academies Press Free eBooks
Why create an account
Creating a personal MyNAP account allows you to do the following:
How to create an account
Create a personal MyNAP account by going to the Register For An Account page and entering your email address and creating a password.
Content: Books in behavioral science, technology, education, and medicine.
Purpose: Informs readers about a wide range of topics from the social sciences to the hard sciences.
Special Features: Searchable by topic, such as autobiography or mathematics.
Personal Accounts with OVID
Why create an account
Creating a personal account with OVID allows you to save searches, create alerts, and manage your research.
How to create an account
For more details about Personal Accounts, see Modify Your Personal Account and Reset Your Personal Account Password.
If you have any questions or problems with your personal account, please contact OVID Technical Support by emailing support@ovid.com.
Content: Medical database covering nursing, allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
Purpose: Provides information about all topics relevant to nursing and nursing education
Special Features: Advanced search functions including MESH capability.
Personal Accounts with ProQuest
Why create an account
My Research is a tool that you can use to save, manage, and organize the content and supporting materials you find and create in ProQuest. You can include documents, searches, search alerts, RSS feeds, and more in My Research. Setting up a My Research account is simple and free to all ProQuest users.
How to create an account
1. Click on the profile icon and select the Sign into My Research link (located in the upper, right-hand corner of any page in the ProQuest platform) to create an account or sign into an existing account.
2. The link to Create a My Research account is below the link to Sign Into My Research
3. To create an account, just fill in the required fields: email address, password, and confirm password.
4. Once you create a My Research account, you will have access to the following items (located in tabs when you are signed in):
Important to know: My Research accounts will be permanently closed after three (3) years of inactivity.
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.
Personal Accounts with PsychiatryOnline
Why create an account
Register for a free account to get alerts about new PsychiatryOnline content and take advantage of personalization features like creating search alerts, saving searches, and bookmarking favorite resources.
How to create an account
1. Click the Sign In link located in the upper right-hand corner of the page.
2. Select New User.
3. Fill in the form information and click on Create Customer to finalize your account.
Content: Strong in psychiatric reference materials, but also including some journals. Includes the DSM Library.
Purpose: Use when researching psychiatry, mental health, and behavioral science topics.
Special Features: Includes the DSM-5 manual
Personal Accounts with PubMed
Why create an account
Creating a My NCBI account in PubMed will allow you to collect and store search results in personal collections, create a bibliography, and set up email alerts. You'll also have access to recent activity searches and records for six (6) months and the ability to display your format references.
How to create an account
1. To create an account, click on the Log in button in the upper right-hand corner.
2. Create an account using one of the third-party sign-in options, such as linking a Google Account or a Microsoft Account.
Content: Includes citations to millions of biomedical journal articles, as well as some books, book chapters, and reports.
Purpose: An essential database for biomedical and health topics
Special Features: Includes MeSH search functionality
Personal Accounts with ReferenceUSA
Why create an account
With a personal account, users can create custom user profiles, save searches and maintain search criteria for future list building.
How to create an account
Click the Register button located at the bottom of the database homepage.
After submitting the registration form, you will need to verify your email address. An automated email will be sent to your account containing an activation link. After clicking the activation link, you can log in and begin using the personalization features.
Contents: Business research database covering businesses from large conglomerates to small businesses.
Purpose: Database for business and economics students
Special Features: Data updated in real-time, phone numbers, addresses, SIC code, online presence, and number of employees, as well as information on verified, unverified, and out-of-business records
Personal Accounts with RefWorks
Why create an account
RefWorks is a web-based research management tool designed to help you gather, organize, store, annotate, and share all types of resources used in your research, assignments, or dissertation. RefWorks is NU Library's preferred research management tool since comprehensive support is provided. It is also FREE for all NU students, faculty, staff, and alumni.
With RefWorks, you can do the following:
NOTE: When using RefWorks, you must always check your content and citations for accuracy and proper formatting.
How to create an account
To create a new account with RefWorks, use the following steps:
1. Access RefWorks using the following link https://shibboleth.refworks.proquest.com/authenticate?provider=https://idp.ncu.edu/openathens and sign in with your NU institutional credentials.
2. You will be routed to the RefWorks sign-up page to enter your NU school email address to begin.
3. Complete your RefWorks profile to begin using RefWorks.
4. Next, set up an alternate password for your RefWorks account. Click on your name in the top right corner and go to Settings.
NOTE: Choosing an alternate password for your account will allow you to login to RefWorks for Google Docs and RefWorks for Microsoft Word using your NU school email and this password. Currently, these integrations do not sync with NU's institutional sign-in page.
5. Scroll to the Alternate Password section and click on Set alternate password.
6. Create an alternate password that is at least 6 characters for your RefWorks account and click on Save.
Content: Citation management tool.
Purpose: Use to record your sources and automate the creation of your bibliography in APA format.
Special Features: Can function as cloud storage for your research.
Personal Accounts with SAGE Journals
Why create an account
With a SAGE Journals personal account, you can do the following:
How to create an account
1. To create an account, click on the Sign In icon in the top navigation.
2. Under Access Options, click Create Profile in the My Profile box.
3. Fill out the required information on the form and click Submit to finalize your personal account.
4. Check your inbox for an email from SAGE Journals and click the link to complete the registration process and finalize your account.
Content: Scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles only, in health science, biomedical science, engineering, social science, and the humanities.
Purpose: Use for scholarly research in most fields.
Special Features: Includes discipline hubs for browsing and citation search.
Personal Accounts with SAGE Knowledge, SAGE Navigator, SAGE Research Methods & SAGE Videos
Why create an account
Creating a My Profile account allows you to complete the following in SAGE Knowledge, SAGE Navigator, SAGE Research Methods and SAGE Videos:
NOTE: Creating a My Profile account is valid for SAGE Knowledge, SAGE Navigator, SAGE Videos and SAGE Research Methods. A separate account is required for SAGE Journals.
How to create an account
Click on the Profile button located in the upper right hand corner of the page to create your account and select Create Profile. Fill out the required form and click save.
Content: Reference sources, primarily books but also videos and business cases.
Purpose: Use for finding reference sources like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide contextual or explanatory material.
Special Features: Includes Sage Navigator
Content: Pulls content from SAGE Knowledge, focusing on major works.
Purpose: A valuable literature review tool for social science fields.
Special Features: Includes an interactive chronology tool.
Content: Pedagogical videos produced by leading academics, societies, and practitioners.
Purpose: Find videos on the social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Special Features: Videos include transcripts.
Content: Books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos on research methods and design.
Purpose: Use to learn more about qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research.
Special Features: Includes a methods map, project planner, and "which stats" test
Content: Social science case studies, each with pedagogical tools including learning objectives and discussion questions.
Purpose: Discover the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves.
Special Features: Includes teaching tools.
Content: Practical guides to data analysis, comprised of peer-reviewed datasets and tools to manage data.
Purpose: Use to learn and practice data analysis including cleaning and normalizing data.
Personal Accounts with Science Direct
Why create an account
Registering with ScienceDirect gives you access to personalization features and alert services. With a personal account, you can do the following:
How to create an account
To register for a personalized account with ScienceDirect, use the following steps:
Content: Elsevier’s science database covering computer science, health science, and social sciences. Contains peer-reviewed and open-access journal articles and book chapters.
Purpose: A great resource that covers foundational science to new and novel research.
Special Features: Covers theoretical and practical aspects of physical, life, health, and social sciences.
Personal Accounts with SpringerLink
Why create an account
Creating a personal account with SpringerLink offers a personalized experience. With your personal account, you can sign up for journal content alerts.
How to create an account
Click on the Sign up/Log in link located in the upper right hand corner of the page. Scroll down to the Don’t have an account? section and fill out the registration form. Click Create Account to begin using the personalization features of SpringerLink.
Contents: Scholarly journals and other resources covering science, technology, business, engineering, medicine, and the social sciences, 1997 to present
Purpose: Millions of scientific documents on a large variety of disciplines.
Special Features: Browse by discipline or keyword search. Filter results by article, book chapter, reference book, discipline, and sub-discipline. Coverage for most journals is from the first issue to the current issue.
Personal Accounts with Taylor & Francis Online
Why create an account
Creating a personal account with Taylor & Francis Online allows you to do the following:
How to create an account
To create an account, click the Register button in the top navigation.
Fill out the required registration form. To complete the registration process and activate your account, please click on the confirmation link sent to your email address.
NOTE: Once you have confirmed your account, close out of your browser window and re-launch your access to Taylor & Francis Online directly from the NU Library. This will ensure that you are properly authenticated to access all subscribed library resources on the platform.
Content: Scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all disciplines.
Special Features: Browse by topic or keyword search.
Personal Accounts with Ulrichsweb
Why create an account
With a My Ulrich’s personal account, you can create and manage lists of journals, retrieve search history, and create and manage alerts in the Workspace section of Ulrichsweb.
How to create an account
To create a My Ulrich's account, use the following steps:
1. Click the Log in to My Ulrich’s link located in the upper right hand corner of the page.
2. Click Create a New Account and fill out the form with a chosen username, password, first and last name, and email address.
3. Once you have submitted your registration, a confirmation will be sent to your email address. Click on the link to consent and proceed with your account creation.
4. You can now access the Workspace area in Ulrichsweb to view marked titles, search history, lists, and alerts.
Content: Detailed information about periodicals.
Purpose: Use to verify if a journal is peer-reviewed, as well as discover additional information on a specific journal.
Special Features: Provides a review of certain journals
Personal Accounts with Web of Knowledge
Why create an account
As a registered user, you can take advantage of these convenient features in Web of Knowledge:
How to create an account
To create a personal account in Web of Knowledge, use the following steps:
1. Click Register in the top navigation bar.
2. Fill out the registration form with your first and last name, email address, and a chosen password.
3. A registration confirmation will be sent to your email account. Click on the link to verify your account.
Content: Citations and articles in multi-disciplines not found through a NavigatorSearch.
Purpose: Used to conduct topic searches as well as find additional resources that have cited a specific resource (citation network).
Personal Accounts with Wiley
Why create an account
A personal account with Wiley Online Library allows you to do the following:
How to create an account
To create a personal account with Wiley Online Library, use the following steps:
1. Click on the Login/Register link in the upper right-hand corner of the page.
2. Select New User and fill out the required information on the registration form.
3. Check your email for a message with a link to verify your account.
Content: Scholarly journals, e-books, and reference materials.
Purpose: Subject areas include Anthropology, Business, Economics, Finance, Geography, Family Studies, Law, Management, and Psychology.
