School of Health Sciences

The AIDS Clinical Trials Information Service (ACTIS) is a central resource for information about federally and privately funded HIV/AIDS clinical trials. Sponsored by four components of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, ACTIS has been a key part of U.S. HIV/AIDS information and education services since 1989. The ACTIS website provides access to clinical trials databases and a variety of educational resources.

Publisher of 183 peer-reviewed open access journals

One of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services, this agency protects America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S.

"ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Learn more about clinical studies and about this site, including relevant history, policies, and laws."

"The National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich resources."

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

"Disaster Lit®: the Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience. Materials selected are from non-commercial publishing sources and supplement disaster-related resources from PubMed (biomedical journal literature) and MedlinePlus (health information for the public). More..."

Health information and resources about illnesses, conditions and diseases provided by the organization of American Academy of Family Physicians.

Site lists free journals available on the Web. Good resource for psychology or hospital administration degrees.

"A comprehensive reference to current clinical practice for clinicians and other medical professionals - constantly updated, fully referenced, and peer reviewed."

Health.gov is your portal for health related resources and news from the US government.

resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations.

Provides multilingual and multicultural health information for those working with or providing care to individuals with limited English proficiency. Browse health information in multiple languages and information by health topic.

free resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health care decision making.

From the US National Library of Medicine, provides a free searchable catalog of research data sets, instruments and software relevant to health services research, behavioral and social sciences, and public health.

Research portal of health services research resources providing numerous Internet links to data, funding announcements, reports, podcasts, discussion groups, and more.

A non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.

Provides patient care and health information on diseases and conditions, symptoms, tests and procedures, and drugs and supplements.

National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends; it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues.

A meta-search engine that searches a variety of health and medicine related websites from government and authoritative sources. Filters allow users to sort by publication type, source, date, and many other categories.

The NCBI Bookshelf provides free online access to ebooks and documents in life science and healthcare.

The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.

A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.

"Rapid identification of unknown solid-dosage medications (tablets/capsules) based on physical characteristics and high-resolution image".

The Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) Database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Unlike other databases, the PILOTS Database does not restrict its coverage to articles appearing in selected journals. It attempts to include all publications relevant to PTSD and other forms of traumatic stress, whatever their origin without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographic limitations.

RAND Health is a major research division of the RAND Corporation, a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decision making through research and analysis.

Your resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

A bibliographic database providing references covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.

"UNOS collects and manages all data that pertain to the patient waiting list, organ donation and matching, and transplantation occurring on the OPTN, the nation's organ transplant network."

"Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data from the National Center of Health Statistics (NCHS) and the violent death data from NCIPC's National Violent Death Reporting System."

The goal of the World Health Organization (WHO) is to build a better, healthier future for people all over the world. Working through offices in more than 150 countries, WHO Secretariat staff work side by side with governments and other partners to ensure the highest attainable level of health for all people.