LibGuides: SoPSS: Systemic Sex Therapy: Dissertations

Dissertation Databases

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ National University This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content: National University & NCU student dissertations and literature reviews.
Purpose: Use for foundational research, to locate test instruments and data, and more.
Special Features: Search by advisor (chair), degree, degree level, or department. Includes a read-aloud feature. AI-generated foundational research results about the topic on the full-text page.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global - Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content: Global student dissertations and literature reviews.
Purpose: Use for foundational research, to locate test instruments and data, and more.
Special Features: Search by advisor (chair), degree, degree level, or department. Includes a read-aloud feature. AI-generated foundational research about the topic on the full-text page.
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (PQDT) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It is the database of record for graduate research, with over 2.3 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.

Selected Dissertations

Learn how to find dissertations in the Library. See the FAQ: How can I find completed dissertations in the Library?

Addressing Sexual Issues with Jewish Clients: A Culturally Integrated Approach
By exploring the laws, customs, and intersecting cultural factors that influence sexuality, this dissertation aims to create a culturally integrated model of providing sexual therapy to Jewish clients. Author: Matthew A. Seitman, Alliant International University.
Couple Attachment and Sexual Desire Discrepancy: A Longitudinal Study of Non-Clinical Married Couples at Mid-Life
Using latent growth curve modeling, this longitudinal study examined the patterns of the discrepancy between desired and actual frequency of sexual intercourse for 331 married couples over a period of 5 years. Author: Anthony A. Hughes, Brigham Young University.
The Effectiveness of Group and Psychodrama Therapies with Female Survivors of Sexual Trauma
The purpose of the current paper is to provide a review of the literature on sexual trauma treatment and, more specifically, the strengths of using various group therapies to this end. Author: Kendall Robins, Biola University.
Efficacy of Bibliotherapy as a Treatment for Low Sexual Desire in Women
The current study compared participants’ scores on measures of sexual desire, sexual arousal, and other components of sexual functioning (e.g. lubrication, satisfaction), including overall sexual functioning, across three different groups. Author: Alexandra M. Balzer, University of Missouri - Columbia.
The EIS Model: A Mixed Methods Research Study of a Multidisciplinary Sex Therapy Treatment
This study utilized a convergent parallel mixed method approach that evaluated the effectiveness of a manualized sex therapy approach. Author:Jennifer Konzen, Alliant International University.
Female Genital Image Self-Consciousness: Using Acceptance and Commitment Therapy in a Group Setting with College-Aged Women
This paper identifies empirically supported rationales for positive benefits of Acceptance and Commitment Therapy and mindfulness to help reduce genital image self-consciousness and increase sexual self-esteem. Author: Anna Katherine Smith, Widener University.
A Phenomenological Study Using the Miracle Question with Low Sexual Satisfaction and a History of Childhood Sexual Abuse
This study has shown evidence for using a modified version of the miracle question (MQ) as an effective treatment intervention for sex therapy with couples reporting low sexual satisfaction and a history of childhood sexual abuse. Author: Bianca A. Mickan, Texas Wesleyan University.
Sexual Health and Religion: Counselors' Perceptions of Religious Influences in Treatment Efficacy
The purpose of this study was to explore how counselors describe their experience and perceptions in the treatment of sexual dysfunction when Christian religious ideologies are incorporated into the counseling process. Author: Tori A. Telfer, Barry University.
Shame Reduction in Male Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse: A Group Therapy Workbook
This dissertation will present a group therapy workbook designed to address the needs of male transitional age youth (TAY), aged 18–25-years-old, who are survivors of childhood sexual abuse (CSA) and/or assault. Author: Melissa Kafader Stevens, California Institute of Integral Studies.
Who's Coming to Sex Therapy? Exploring Black Women's Willingness to Seek Treatment for Sexual Problems/Dysfunctions
This study investigated which sociocultural (i.e., healthcare access, medical mistrust, dysfunctional sexual beliefs, partner communication, and religion/spirituality) and predisposing factors (i.e., sexual dysfunction and distress) predict a Black woman's willingness to seek treatment and examined whether age and partner status moderated this relationship. Author: Jerika N. Wilson, University of Cincinnati.