LibGuides: MFT-6105: Couples and Sex Therapy: Week 9 Resources

Week 9 Resources

A Hold me Tight Workshop for Couple Attachment and Sexual Intimacy
Morgis, B. L., Ewing, E. S. K., Liu, T., Slaughter-Acey, J., Fisher, K., & Jampol, R. (2019). A hold me tight workshop for couple attachment and sexual intimacy. Contemporary Family Therapy, 41, 368-383.
This article highlights a form of therapy that allows for a deeper romantic connection for sex therapy.
Erotic Mindfulness: A Core Educational and Therapeutic Strategy in Somatic Sexology Practices
Thouin-Savard, M. I. (2019). Erotic mindfulness: A core educational and therapeutic strategy in Somatic Sexology Practices. International Journal of Transpersonal Studies, 38(1), 203–219.
This article introduces several different mindfulness approaches that can be integrated into therapy.
Sensate Focus
Hunt, Q. A., & Nelson, M. (2017). Sensate focus. In T. Carlson & S. Dermer (Eds.), The Sage Encyclopedia of Marriage, Family, and Couples Counseling (Vol. 4, pp. 1495-1497). SAGE Publications, Inc.
This article offers a clear and concise definition of sensate focus.
A Psychobiosocial Approach to Sex Therapy
McCarthy, B., & Wald, L. M. (2017). A psychobiosocial approach to sex therapy. In Z. D. Peterson (Ed.). The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy (pp. 190-201). John Wiley & Sons.
This chapter presents the psychobiosocial approach, which combines the medical approach with the therapeutic approaches to sex therapy.

Kaltura User Guide
National University (2023). Kaltura User Guide. Graduate Studies Support Center.
This resource includes instructions for recording and uploading videos into courses using Kaltura.

American Association of Sexuality Educators, Counselors and Therapists
(2021) American Association of Sexuality Educators, Counselors and Therapists.
This site is from an organization that has training and certification for sex therapy.

Optional Resources

The following chapters from The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy may be helpful as you decide on which model to use for your assignment (or locate sources outside of these for the assignment).

Chapter 14: Kleinplatz, P.J. (2017). An existential-experiential approach to sex therapy. In Z. D. Peterson (Ed.),The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy (pp. 218-230).
- https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.1002/9781118510384.ch14
Chapter 15: Findley, R. (2017). A narrative approach to sex therapy. In Z. D. Peterson (Ed.), The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy (pp. 231-249)
- https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.1002/9781118510384.ch15

Chapter 16: Johnson, S. (2017). An emotionally focused approach to sex therapy. In Z. D. Peterson (Ed.), The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy (pp. 250-266)
- https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/9781118510384.ch16

The book can be accessed directly from Ebook Central here: https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=cat01034a&AN=nu.EBC4825473&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv (search: The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy)