COUN-6107 v1

Corey, G. (2020). Personal Reflections on Counseling. American Counseling Association.

This resource provides Corey’s personal reflections on counseling and his perspective on the development and importance of resilience.

Read pages 72-73 for this lesson.

---

Sheward, S. (Academic). (2015). Resilience [Video]. SAGE Knowledge. https://www.doi.org/10.4135/9781473936225

---

Munsch, J. (Academic). (2013). Health, well-being and resilience [Video]. SAGE Knowledge. https://www.doi.org/10.4135/9781506357836

This video resource provides important information about wellness and the development of resilience.

---

Sanchez, B. (Academic). (2016). Resilience in the face of racial discrimination [Video]. SAGE Knowledge. https://www.doi.org/10.4135/9781473978201

This video resource focuses on the development of resilience in those who experience discrimination.

---

(2016). Resilience: Family tragedy & returning to school [Video]. SAGE Knowledge. https://www.doi.org/10.4135/9781071840191

This video resource is a unique look at the concept of resilience and how that has manifested in schools.

---

Osher, D., Cantor, P., Berg, J., Steyer, L., & Rose, T. (2020). Drivers of human development: How relationships and context shape learning and development. Applied Developmental Science, 24(1), 6–36. https://doi.org/10.1080/10888691.2017.1398650

This article provides an increased focus on the influences of various systems and relationships on the development of resilience over the lifespan.

---

Hetzel-Riggin, M. D., Landers, K., Hinton, S., & Heukeshoven, H. (2021). Caught by connections: the mediating roles of social and community support after interpersonal violence. Community Mental Health Journal, 57(6), 1052–1064. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10597-020-00732-2

This article reviews the importance of communities and social structures on overcoming adversity.

---

Santrock, J.W. (2022). Essentials of life-span development (7th ed.). McGraw Hill.

This textbook is one of the two primary resources used in this course, it provides essential information for understanding the theories of human growth and development. The link to this Redshelf book is located in the Getting Started module of the course, under learner resources.

Read chapter 17 for this lesson.

Sarantakis, N. P. (2020). Rediscovering meaning when entering “older age”: A counseling case study based on a lifespan development and a pluralistic approach. Practice Innovations, 5(1), 1–18. https://doi.org/10.1037/pri0000102

This article provides specific strategies for counselors as they work with older adults to increase meaning.

---

Browning, F. C. (2008). Synchronizing loss with life over a life span: A dynamic perspective. ADULTSPAN Journal, 7(1), 26–31.

This resource is used to help you understand how loss is experienced and provide a unique perspective.

---

Capuzzi, D., & Stauffer, M. D. (Eds.). (2016). Human growth and development across the lifespan: Applications for counselors. John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated.

This textbook is one of the two primary resources used in this course, it provides a unique and specific application of human growth and development for the counseling profession.

Read chapter 19 for this lesson.

---

Machin, L. (Practitioners). (2015). Death and bereavement counseling [Video]. SAGE Knowledge. https://www.doi.org/10.4135/9781473930582

This video resource provides information about the process of death and bereavement counseling.

---

Machin, L. (Academic). (2015). Linda Machin, grief & bereavement counseling [Video]. SAGE Knowledge. https://www.doi.org/10.4135/9781473931190

---

M., C., M., F. (Speakers). (2015). When someone dies [Video]. SAGE Knowledge. https://www.doi.org/10.4135/9781473942455

This video resource provides a look at the unique experiences of individuals who have experienced loss.

Chapter 4: Stages of Grief: The Loss Curve

---

McClain, S. C. (2021). Elisabeth Kübler-Ross. Salem Press Biographical Encyclopedia.

This study guide looks at the life of Kubler-Ross and her contributions to our understanding of the grieving process.

---