COH601

The New Humanitarian. (2023, January 3). Trends driving humanitarian crises in 2023 (and what to do about them). https://www.thenewhumanitarian.org/analysis/2023/01/03/ten-humanitarian-crises-trends-to-watch
This article provides a comprehensive overview of the various factors contributing to global health crises in 2023. It highlights the interconnectedness of geopolitical events, economic conditions, and environmental changes, all of which have a profound impact on health outcomes.

United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). (2022). Global Humanitarian Overview 2023. https://reliefweb.int/report/world/global-humanitarian-overview-2023-enaresfr
The Global Humanitarian Overview 2023 provides comprehensive insights into the current state of global health crises, including the number of people in need, targeted, and the required resources. This information is crucial for understanding the scale and scope of health-related humanitarian needs worldwide.

Sphere Association. (2018). Sphere Handbook: Humanitarian Charter and Minimum Standards in Humanitarian Response. Sphere Association. https://www.spherestandards.org/wp-content/uploads/Sphere-Handbook-2018-EN.pdf
The Sphere Handbook provides a comprehensive guide to the minimum standards in humanitarian response, including healthcare. It emphasizes the importance of a health systems approach, the need for coordination and collaboration, and the protection of the right to healthcare, all of which are critical considerations in the study of global health.

Read the Health chapter (pages 292-360).

The New Humanitarian. (2023, January 13). Why these 10 humanitarian crises demand your attention now. https://www.thenewhumanitarian.org/analysis/2023/01/13/10-humanitarian-crises-demand-attention
This article provides an analysis of ten major humanitarian crises around the world, and highlights the urgent need for global health interventions in areas affected by conflict, displacement, food insecurity, and other humanitarian emergencies.

World Health Organization. (2020). Health Cluster Guide: A practical handbook (2nd ed.). https://healthcluster.who.int/publications/i/item/9789240004726
This guide is a significant resource in the field of global health as it provides practical advice on coordination and joint efforts among health and other sector actors, aiming to increase the effectiveness and efficiency of health interventions and promote better health outcomes in humanitarian crises.

Khorram-Manesh, A., & Burkle Jr., F. M. (2020). Disasters and Public Health Emergencies—Current Perspectives in Preparedness and Response. In Harvard Humanitarian Initiative (Ed.), Emergencies and Public Health Crisis Management: Current Perspectives on Risks and Multiagency Collaboration (p. 8561). Retrieved from https://hhi.harvard.edu/sites/hwpi.harvard.edu/files/humanitarianinitiative/files/emergencies_and_public_health_crisis_management_current_perspectives_on_risks_and_multiagency_collaboration.pdf?m=1619710940
This report chapter provides a comprehensive understanding of disaster management and public health emergencies, emphasizing the importance of multiagency collaboration, preparedness, and flexible surge capacity, which are critical aspects in managing global health crises.