LibGuides: MTH204 v1: Module 4

Module 4 Required Resources

Textbook

Elementary and Intermediate Algebra for College Students by Allen Angel; Dennis Runde
ISBN: 9780134758947

Publication Date: 2018-02-12

Angel, A.R., & Runde, D.C. (2018). Elementary and intermediate algebra for college students. Pearson.

Read the following chapter sections: 13.1, 13.2, 13.3, 13.4, 13.5, 13.6, and 13.7.

Videos

07 - What is an Exponential Function? (Exponential Growth, Decay and Graphing).
Math and Science. (2020, February 19). 07 - What is an exponential function? (Exponential growth, decay and graphing). [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/_rKZHpfrAuY

In this video, you will learn about the exponential function and its applications in math, science, and engineering.
Common Logs and Natural Logs
ThinkwellVids. (2014, February 26). Common logs and natural logs [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/IYaF1JgAzLs

This video is about common logs and natural logs.
Composite Functions
The Organic Chemistry Tutor. (2018, February 2). Compsite functions [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/ZFPkQkURSxk

This algebra video tutorial provides a basic introduction to composite functions. It explains how to evaluate composite functions. This video contains a few examples and practice problems.
How To Use Reference Angles to Evaluate Trigonometric Functions
The Organic Chemistry Tutor. (2017, October 14). How To use reference angles to evaluate trigonometric functions [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/V8LEHEzdU2U

This video explains how to use reference angles to evaluate trigonometric functions such as sine, cosine, tangent, secant, cosecant, and cotangent with positive and negative angles in radians and degrees.
Introduction to Inverse Functions
The Organic Chemistry Tutor. (2018, February 2). Introduction to inverse functions [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/TN4ybFiuV3k

This video provides a basic introduction to inverse functions. It explains how to find the inverse function by switching the x and y variables.
An Introduction to Logarithmic Functions
ThinkwellVids. (2014, February 26). An introduction to logarithmic functions [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/EvQCLCaiq2U

This video provides an introduction to logarithmic functions.
Logarithms Explained Rules and Properties, Condense, Expand, Graphing and Solving Equations Introduction
The Organic Chemistry Tutor. (2016, August 18). Logarithms explained rules and properties, condense, expand, graphing and solving equations introduction [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/LRbi_pMX1DM

This introductory math video tutorial explains the rules and properties of logarithms. It contains plenty of examples and practice problems for you to work on.
Solving Exponential Equations - Some Basic Examples
patrickJMT. (2010, September 12). Solving exponential equations - Some basic examples [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/M6f6dANVyxA

This video discusses some basic examples of how to solve exponential equations.
Solving Logarithmic Equations
The Organic Chemistry Tutor. (2018, February 1). Solving logarithmic equations [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/fnhFneOz6n8

You will learn in this algebra video how to solve logarithmic equations with logs on both sides. The video explains how to convert from logarithmic form to exponential form using basic properties of logarithms.
Trigonometric Functions: Sine, Cosine, Tangent, Cosecant, Secant, and Cotangent
Professor Dave Explains. (2017, December 28). Trigonometric functions: Sine, cosine, tangent, cosecant, secant, and cotangent [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/cqIZue-plBI

This video helps you to understand Trigonometric Functions: Sine, Cosine, Tangent, Cosecant, Secant, and Cotangent.
Trigonometry For Beginners!
The Organic Chemistry Tutor. (2017, July 25). Trigonometry for beginners! [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/PUB0TaZ7bhA

This video provides a basic introduction to trigonometry. It covers trigonometric ratios such as sine, cosine, and tangent. It explains how to evaluate it using right triangle trigonometry and SOHCAHTOA.
Unit Circle Trigonometry - Sin Cos Tan - Radians and Degrees
The Organic Chemistry Tutor. (2016, July 29). Unit circle trigonometry - Sin cos tan - Radians and degrees [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/V5ArB_GFGYQ

This trigonometry video tutorial review explains the unit circle and the basics of how to memorize it. It provides the angles in radians and degrees and shows you how to evaluate sin cos and tan. It contains plenty of examples and practice problems.

Module 4 Optional Resources

Just Math Tutorials
Patrick. (n.d.). Just math tutorials. Patrick. http://patrickjmt.com/

This website hosts mini-lectures on topics discussed in this course.
Khan Academy: Math
Khan Academy. (n.d.). Math. Khan Academy. https://www.khanacademy.org/math

This website hosts mini-lectures on topics discussed in this course.
Wolfram MathWorld
WolframAlpha. (n.d.). Wolfram mathworld. Wolfram MathWorld. https://mathworld.wolfram.com/

This website hosts mini-lectures on topics discussed in this course.