LibGuides: MFT-6105 v2: Week 7 Resources

Week 7 Resources

Treating Comorbid Sexual Dysfunctions Using the intersystem Sex Therapy Approach
Davies, B., Gibbons, I., & Hughes, A. (2021). Treating comorbid sexual dysfunctions Using the intersystem sex therapy approach. Contemporary Family Therapy: An International Journal, 43(1), 12–19. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10591-020-09552-8
A Psychobiosocial Approach to Sex Therapy
McCarthy, B., & Wald, L. M. (2017). A psychobiosocial approach to sex therapy. In Z. D. Peterson (Ed.). The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy (pp. 190-201). John Wiley & Sons.
This chapter presents the psychobiosocial approach, which combines the medical approach with the therapeutic approaches to sex therapy.
Erotic Mindfulness: A Core Educational and Therapeutic Strategy in Somatic Sexology Practices
Thouin-Savard, M. I. (2019). Erotic mindfulness: A core educational and therapeutic strategy in Somatic Sexology Practices. International Journal of Transpersonal Studies, 38(1), 203–219.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=edsgao&AN=edsgcl.607761312&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
This article introduces several different mindfulness approaches that can be integrated into therapy.
Sensate Focus in Sex Therapy: The Illustrated Manual
Weiner, L., & Avery-Clark, C. (2017). Sensate focus in sex therapy: The illustrated manual. Routledge.
This manual is a great resource for an in-depth understanding of sensate focus. Students need to read chapter 5 this week.

Kaltura User Guide
National University (2023). Kaltura User Guide. Graduate Studies Support Center.
This resource includes instructions for recording and uploading videos into courses using Kaltura.
MFT6105 Week 7 Sex Therapy Approach

Supplemental Resources

The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy
The following chapters from The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy may be helpful as you decide on which model to use for your assignment (or locate sources outside of these for the assignment).
Chapter 11
Chapter 11: Avery-Clark, C., & Weiner, L. (2017). A traditional Masters and Johnson behavioral approach to sex therapy. In Z. D. Peterson (Ed.), The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy (pp. 165-189). https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nu/reader.action?docID=4825473&ppg=185
Chapter 14
Chapter 14: Kleinplatz, P.J. (2017). An existential-experiential approach to sex therapy. In Z. D. Peterson (Ed.), The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy (pp. 218-230).
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nu/reader.action?docID=4825473&ppg=238
Chapter 15
Chapter 15: Findley, R. (2017). A narrative approach to sex therapy. In Z. D. Peterson (Ed.), The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy (pp. 231-249)
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nu/reader.action?docID=4825473&ppg=251
Chapter 16
Chapter 16: Johnson, S. (2017). An emotionally focused approach to sex therapy. In Z. D. Peterson (Ed.), The Wiley Handbook of Sex Therapy (pp. 250-266)
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nu/reader.action?docID=4825473&ppg=270