OTL-7007

U.S. Department of Labor. (n.d.) Office of Disability Employment Policy. Accommodations.
This U.S. Department of Labor site provides information on reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities.

Rooksby, J. H. (2016). Copyright in higher education: A review of modern scholarship. Duquesne Law Review, 54(1), 197.
This is an article about the application of copyright in higher education and includes the Harper & Row Publishers v. National Enterprises case law.

Batanero, C., de-Marcos, L., Holvikivi, J., Hilera, J. R., & Oton, S. (2019). Effects of new supportive technologies for blind and deaf engineering students in online learning. IEEE Transactions on Education, Education, IEEE Transactions on, IEEE Trans. Educ, 62(4), 270–277.
This article provides evidence that an engineering course built using the Moodle online platform to accommodate students who are blind, deaf, and blind-deaf significantly improved student success.

Baule, S. M. (2020). Evaluating the accessibility of special education cooperative websites for individuals with disabilities. TechTrends: Linking Research and Practice to Improve Learning/ A Publication of the Association for Educational Communications & Technology, 64(1), 50.
This resource provides information on how to evaluate your website to be sure it meets ADA standards.

U.S. Department of Education. (n.d.). IDEA.
The IDEA Act (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act) provides access to resources for children and youths with disabilities.

Reid, B. E. (2020). Internet Architecture and Disability. Indiana Law Journal, 95(2), 592–647.
This resource provides information about the role of disability access and the law in areas including telecommunications.

Dragoo, K. E., Cole, J. P., & Library of Congress, C. R. S. (CRS). (2019). Laws affecting students with disabilities: Preschool through postsecondary education. CRS Report R45595, Version 5. Congressional Research Service.
This article is about laws that were enacted to provide federal funding for students with disabilities that covers special funding for process and grants for students with disabilities.

Huss, J. A. (2019). Middle level education aims for equity and inclusion, but do our school websites meet ADA Compliance? Middle Grades Review, 5(1).
This resource includes some important questions and is a critical thinking exercise to understand whether schools are appropriately ADA compliant with their online content.

Cox, J. (2016). Reasonable accommodations and the ADA Amendments’ overlooked potential. George Mason Law Review, 24(1), 147–182.
This article provides information about the Americans with Disabilities Act for providing reasonable accommodations for disabled people.

Bryant, B. R., & Seay, P. C. (2020). Republication of the technology-related assistance to Individuals with Disabilities Act: Relevance to individuals with learning disabilities and their advocates. Journal of Learning Disabilities, 53(2), 80.
This journal article discusses the need to use Assistive Technology (AT) for people with learning disabilities. The Tech Act of 1988 and the reauthorization of the Act in 1994 has fostered several programs and services to help people with disabilities.

TrainingABC (Producer). (2017). The ADA made simple [Video/DVD]. TrainingABC.
This is a short video that provides key information about ADA.

Nepo, K. (2017). The use of technology to improve education. Child & Youth Care Forum, 46(2), 207–221.
This resource provides a discussion about the statute that mandates student access and services including technology and technology devices for digital information.

International guidelines developed by the World Wide Web Consortium

Espino, M. M. (2016). Website accessibility for persons with disabilities: The Why & How. Business Law Today, 1–4.
This resource is important as it gives information about why accessibility is important and how to obtain the accessibility measures to make the accommodation.

Blanck, P. (2019). Why America is better off because of the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. Touro Law Review, 35(1), 605.
This journal article provides an explanation of how both ADA and IDEA were enacted and have since evolved over the years. This article also includes challenges that Americans with disabilities have experienced in relationship to accessibility.