LibGuides: COM300: Week 1 Resources

Week 1 Required Resources

Textbook

Interpersonal Communication

Read Chapters 1, 3, 4.

Floyd, K. (2021). Interpersonal communication (4th edition). McGraw Hill.

Your course textbook can be accessed via the DART eBook link in the Getting Started module.

Articles, Videos, and Websites

Interpersonal Communication Dynamics

Communication Skills
Skillsyouneed (n.d.). Communication skills. Skillsyouneed.com
This comprehensive resource on communication skills offers essential insights and practical techniques for effective verbal, non-verbal, and written communication. It provides useful information about how we can enhance our interpersonal communication abilities and succeed in various personal and professional contexts.
How Miscommunication Happens (and how to avoid it)
Ted-Ed. (2016, February 22). How miscommunication happens (and how to avoid it) [Video]. YouTube.
This video explores the complexities of human communication, emphasizes the transactional model, and offers practical communication skills. The concepts it covers are essential to better navigate miscommunication, understand the dynamics of communication exchanges, and improve our interpersonal relationships.
Communication Channels
Communication Coach Alexander Lyon. (2018, October 31). Communication channels [Video]. YouTube.
This video discusses a range of communication channels, from face-to-face interactions to text-based communication, and provides insights into their respective strengths/limitations. This information can help us select the most appropriate channel for our communication needs.
The Profound Impact of Self-disclosure on Social Relationships
Kendra Cherry, Mse. (2023, September 5). The profound impact of self-disclosure on social relationships. Verywell Mind.
This resource discusses the concept of self-disclosure and its impact on relationships, highlighting how sharing personal details fosters emotional bonds, trust, and social support. It discusses factors influencing self-disclosure, benefits such as stronger emotional connections and a sense of belonging, and risks including potential oversharing in social events or on social media. It provides insights into the dynamics of self-disclosure, enhancing their interpersonal skills and relationship-building abilities in various contexts.
Politeness Theory (and Face)
Communication Coach Alexander Lyon. (2018, March 4). Politeness theory (and Face) [Video]. YouTube.
This video covers two interrelated concepts, politeness theory and face, which are valuable for navigating difficult conversations in professional settings. It includes practical examples to illustrate how positive and negative face strategies can be applied to communicate effectively and address challenging issues while minimizing face-threatening acts.
Social Penetration Theory
Communication Theory. (n.d.). Social penetration theory-bringing people closer together.
This resource discusses Social Penetration Theory and delineates its four stages of relationship development: orientation, exploratory affective exchange, affective exchange, and stable exchange, each characterized by varying levels of disclosure and intimacy. Applications of the theory span diverse contexts such as dating, friendships, and workplace relationships, and it has been influential in research on relationship development and information management.

Interpersonal Perception

Mind the Gap Between Perception and Reality
TEDx Talks. (2016, February 18). Mind the gap between perception and reality [Video]. YouTube.
In this TEDx talk, Communication scholar Sean Tiffee examines the gap between perception and interpretation, highlighting how individuals receive information differently. He cautions against assuming one's perception as reality and advocates for embracing the complexity of individual perspectives to cultivate empathy. Awareness of these concepts can foster a deeper understanding of human cognition and promote empathy in interpersonal interactions.

Optional Resources

Self-Disclosure on Social Media.
Communication Theory. (n.d.). Self-disclosure on social media.
This resource explores the factors influencing self-disclosure and its applications in various contexts, focusing most especially on social media. It provides insights into communication dynamics and covers skills to navigate social interactions and build meaningful connections.

<< Previous: Home

Next: Week 2 Resources >>