ID-8940 v1

Slattery, D.M. (2024). Strategies for designing equitable, accessible, and effective blended and fully online education. In L. Kyei-Blankson, J. Keengwe, & E. Ntuli (Eds.), Designing equitable and accessible online learning environments (pp. 31-49). Information Science Reference.

• Read Chapter 2 to gain broad insights into a systematic approach to designing, delivering, and evaluating blended and fully online courses for learners from diverse backgrounds, abilities, ages, races, and cultures.

Lewis, T. T. (2022). Americans with Disabilities Act. Salem Press Encyclopedia.

• This research starter provides an overview of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Pay close attention to the resources that are cited within the overview for more about this important piece of legislation.

Government Equalities Office (2011, Jun 22). Easy read: The Equality Act - making equality real.

• This United Kingdom’s government web page provides an easy-to-read presentation of the UK Equality Act of 2010 with an accessible format option for those who use assistive technology.

Baskin, A. (2023). Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). Salem Press Encyclopedia.

• This research starter provides an overview of the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). Pay close attention to the resources that are cited within the overview for more about this important piece of legislation.

U.S. Department of Education - Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). (2021, Aug 25).

• The website provides an overview of FERPA.

Harmon, A. (2022). Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Salem Press Encyclopedia.

• This research starter provides an overview of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Pay close attention to the resources that are cited within the overview for more about this important piece of legislation.

Caffrey, C. (2023). Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act. Salem Press Encyclopedia.

• This research starter provides an overview of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act. Pay close attention to the resources that are cited within the overview for more about this important piece of legislation.

U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division. (2024). Title IX Of The Education Amendments Of 1972.

• This webpage provides access to the content of Title IX of The Education Amendments of 1972. Title IX is a federal law that prohibits sex discrimination in education programs or activities receiving federal financial assistance.

GSA Section 508.gov (2017). Watch the video! New requirements: Section 508 refresh. U.S. General Services Administration (GSA), Office of Government-wide Policy (OGP).

• Section 508 was recently refreshed, and the Revised 508 Standards become effective for federal agencies on January 18, 2018. Review this webpage for the latest updates.

World Wide Web Consortium (W3C®). (2024). Accessibility fundamentals overview.

• This web page provides several helpful videos and resources to introduce and illustrate the concept, principles, and essential components of accessibility. NOTE: The videos are linked on the page.

Brusca-Vega, R., & Trekles, A. (2019).
Access to the curriculum for students with disabilities: Moving closer to the promise of UDL in inclusive US classrooms. In L. Gronseth, & E.M. Dalton (Eds.), Universal access through inclusive instructional design: International perspectives on UDL (pp. 85-94). Taylor & Francis Group.

• Read this chapter to learn about a simple model that can be used to ensure that needed supports and adaptations can be properly accommodated and integrated into learning environments.

ADA National Network. (2024, Jul 27). ADA anniversary toolkit.

• For a list of resources related to ADA.

ADA National Network. (2024, Jul 27).

• For information, guidance, and training on the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Association of Assistive Technology Act Programs (2024). Assistive Technology Act information.

• This webpage of the Association of Assistive Technology Act Programs provides an overview of the Assistive Technology Act (AT Act) which authorizes Section 4 State and Territory Assistive Technology Act Programs.

U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division. (2024, March 8). Fact sheet: New rule on the accessibility of web content and mobile apps provided by state and local governments. ADA.gov.

• This website provides a fact sheet about the new rule on the Accessibility of Web Content and Mobile Apps provided by state and local governments.

Cheng, S., Hwang, G., & Chen, C. (2019). From reflective observation to active learning: A mobile experiential learning approach for environmental science education. British Journal of Educational Technology, 50 (5), 2251–2270. https://doi.org/10.1111/bjet.12845

• This article is referenced in the Week 2 learning activity.

PBS & WGBH Educational Foundation (2024). History of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) | Move to Include [Video]. PBS.

• The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) was passed in 1990. The ADA has made a great impact in the lives of people with disabilities. The accommodations have increased inclusion and accessibility in the community and help everyone. At the Museum of disAbility History in Buffalo, New York we meet staff members Israel Cruz & Doug Platt to discuss the outcomes.

Rowland, C. (2023). History of the known: Digital accessibility as an issue of social justice in U.S. education. In R. Mancilla, & B.A. Frey(Eds.), Guide to digital accessibility: Policies, practices, and professional development (1st ed.) (pp. 3-16). Routledge.

• This chapter provides historical context for the legal landscape pertaining to digital accessibility.

accessiBe Team. (2024, May 30). How to design an ADA-compliant online course: The complete guide for 2024. accessiBe.

• The information presented within this guide is aimed at website owners seeking to learn the ropes of web accessibility. Technical elements are described in layman’s terms, and, as a rule, all topics pertaining to the legalities of web accessibility are presented in as simplified a manner as possible. This guide has no legal bearing and cannot be relied on in the case of litigation.

Generous, A. (2015, September 8). My inner life with Asperger's | Alix Generous | TED Talks [Video]. YouTube.

• Alix Generous is a young woman with a million and one ideas — she's done award-winning science, helped develop new technology and tells a darn good joke (you'll see). She has Asperger's, a form of autistic spectrum disorder that can impair the basic social skills required for communication, and she's worked hard for years to learn how to share her thoughts with the world. In this funny, personal talk, she shares her story — and her vision for tools to help more people communicate their big ideas.

Hricko, M. (2016). Section 508 compliance. In S.L. Danver (Ed.), The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education, Vol 3 (pp. 994-997). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781483318332

• This chapter provides an overview and a summary of Section 508’s compliance subparts.

U.S. Dept. Of Justice & The General Services Administration (2023, Jan). SECTION 508 REPORT TO CONGRESS AND THE PRESIDENT Accessibility of Federal Electronic and Information Technology.

• Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act requires federal agencies to ensure that their information and communication technology (ICT) is accessible to people with disabilities, unless certain exceptions apply. This report shows the results of the analysis of the reporting agencies’ ICT accessibility in the areas described above for the period February, 2021 through August, 2022.

Charmatz, M. (2022). Take steps to prevent adverse impact on students with disabilities. Campus Legal Advisor, 22 (12), 3–14. https://doi.org/10.1002/cala.40860

• This article explains differences between Section 504 and Title IX and Title VI, respectively.

Michigan Virtual (2018, Sep 14). The accessible classroom: Online learning and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 [Video]. YouTube.

• This 2:58 min. video offers important highlights of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) from the perspective of schools.

TrainingABC (Producer), & . (2017). The ADA Made Simple. [Video/DVD] TrainingABC.

• The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and the ADA Amendments Act of 2008 (ADAAA) make it illegal to discriminate against employees because of disabilities. 1 in 5 Americans...a total of 56 million people live with disabilities. Disabled Americans possess a massive amount of talent and skill and when given the opportunity, the benefits they bring to our businesses and our economy are immeasurable. Modeled after the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the ADA is the “equal opportunity” law for people with disabilities.

Kenny, N. (2014, Jul 30). The what? so what? and now what? of critical reflection.

• This article is referenced in the Week 2 learning activity.

U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division. (2023, Jun 6). Overview of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

• Title VI, 42 U.S.C. § 2000d et seq., was enacted as part of the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964. It prohibits discrimination based on race, color, and national origin in programs and activities receiving federal financial assistance.

World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) (2024). WCAG 2 overview.

• This webpage introduces the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) international standard, including WCAG 2.0, WCAG 2.1, and WCAG 2.2. WCAG documents explain how to make web content more accessible to people with disabilities.

Moran, L. (2023, Nov-Dec). WCAG 2.2 and you. Streaming Media, 20 (6), 7.

• The article discusses the importance of having clear and standardized guidelines for digital accessibility to ensure a level playing field for all users. It highlights the transition from fragmented local standards, like Illinois' IITAA, to widely adopted global standards such as the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG). The latest version, WCAG 2.2, introduced a few key changes, particularly in navigable website operation and input modalities, ensuring features like video captions are easily accessible and adjustable without requiring complex interactions like drag-and-drop.

Skilltide (2022, Apr 25). WCAG for beginners - What are the web content accessibility guidelines? - Web accessibility. [Video] YouTube.

• This 1:49 min. video offers a beginner’s overview of 'WCAG', the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines.

McCloud, S.D. (2022, Jul 14). What does the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) protect? [Video]. YouTube.

• This 1:58 min. video explains how the Americans with Disabilities Act (the ADA) protects people with disabilities from discrimination and unfair treatment in employment, communications, government programs, transportation, and more .