LibGuides: MSW-5000 v2: Week 1 Resources

Week 1 Required Resources

Cox, L., Tice, C., and Lond, D. (2021). Introduction to social work: An advocacy-based profession (3rd ed.). Sage Publishing.

Read Chapter 1

This text will be used throughout the course. The first chapter provides a starting point and an overview of the social work profession. Pay attention to Chapters 5-17 as they correlate with the Grand Challenges you will read about during the first week. Be sure to use the textbook chapter that corresponds to your selected challenge as a resource for your Signature Assignment.

Access your Redshelf book by clicking on the Getting Started module in your course, or click on the Bookshelf link at the top of your course.

MSW Studdent Handbook and Acknowledgement Form
Let us introduce you to the MSW Student Handbook! This Handbook will help you as you begin and progress through your studies. It provides information about the profession of social work and social work at NU. It is a central repository for student information on departmental policies and procedures. Please review the handbook at MSW Student Handbook.

After reviewing the Handbook, please complete the acknowledgement at https://form.jotform.com/SBSNU/MSW-student-acknowledgement-form. We wish you the best and look forward to your participation in and contribution to the MSW Program at NU.

Identifying and Tackling Grand Challenges for Social Work
American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare (2014). Identifying and tackling grand challenges for social work.

The Grand Challenges for Social Work are designed to focus a world of thought and action on the most compelling and critical social issues of our day (American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare, 2014). Each grand challenge is a broad but discrete concept where social work expertise and leadership can be The Grand Challenges for Social Work include the following: 1. Maximize productive and meaningful activity throughout life 2. Ensure all youth get a good and healthy start 3. Reduce isolation and loneliness 4. Stop family violence 5. End homelessness 6. Create greater healthy equity 7. Safely reduce our incarcerated population 8. Strengthen financial security 9. End racial injustice 10. Strengthen social responses to environmental changes 11. Reverse extreme inequality 12. Harness digital technology for social good (American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare, 2014).
The Appealability of the Social Work Profession in the United States: Possible Explanations
Joseph, R., & Shon, H. (2020). The appealability of the social work profession in the United States: Possible explanations. In Global Social Work-Cutting Edge Issues and Critical Reflections. IntechOpen.
This chapter presents an overview of the social work profession in the United States, highlights the uniqueness of this discipline, and explains the rise in enrollment in the twenty-first century (Joseph & Shon, 2020). It is hypothesized that the appealability of social work is associated with (a) a quest for social justice, (b) a pragmatic path toward direct practice, (c) a commitment for social services delivery, and (d) a passion for empowerment (Joseph & Shon, 2020). Understanding the rationale behind the appealability of the profession is crucial for social work educators to meet the needs of their student body in a world deeply ravaged by contemporary social problems (Joseph & Shon, 2020).
Understanding the 13 Grand Challenges for Social Work
Arieti, A. (n.d.). Understanding the 13 grand challenges for social Work. University of Nevada, Reno.
What is Social Work?
Council on Social Work Education. (2025). What is social work? cswe.org.
This is the website of the accrediting body in social work education. This site has a lot of important information about social work practice. Read the brief entry titled ‘What is Social Work’ along with the one titled ‘What do Social Workers Do?’ There you will find some surprising options for social work practice that you may not have heard about.
Social Workers as Superheroes
Scheyett, A. (2015, April 10). Social workers as superheroes [Video]. TedTalk.
This is a brief presentation by Dr. Ann Sheyett, a social work professor and former Dean at the University of Georgia School of Social Work. She provides a great visualization of our profession.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. (2025, April 18). Social workers. In Occupational Outlook Handbook.
This website provides important information about the occupation outlook for social work, as of April, 2025. Navigate around the website to learn about the outlook for our profession, including median pay, job growth potential, and areas of practice.