ESN441

Browder, D. M., Wood, L., Thompson, J., & Ribuffo, C. (2014). Evidence-based practices for students with severe disabilities (Document No. IC-3). University of Florida, Collaboration for Effective Educator, Development, Accountability, and Reform Center (pp. 5-20).
https://ceedar.education.ufl.edu/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/IC-3_FINAL_03-03-15.pdf
This resource provides an overview of evidence-based practices for students with extensive support needs. You will use this resource for Discussion 1.

Steinbrenner, J. R., Hume, K., Odom, S. L., Morin, K. L., Nowell, S. W., Tomaszewski, B., Szendrey, S., McIntyre, N. S., Yücesoy-Özkan, S., & Savage, M. N. (2020). Evidence-based practices for children, youth, and young adults with autism. The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute, National Clearinghouse on Autism Evidence and Practice Review Team.
https://ncaep.fpg.unc.edu/sites/ncaep.fpg.unc.edu/files/imce/documents/EBP%20Report%202020.pdf
This report provides a comprehensive analysis of evidence-based practices for students with autism. Pay particular attention to Chapters 3 and 4 for the overview of the identified evidence-based practices. You will use this resource for Discussion 1.

Sam, A.M., Cox, A.W., Savage, M.N., Waters, V., & Odom, S.L. (2019) Disseminating information on evidence-based practices for children and youth with Autism Spectrum Disorder: AFIRM. Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10803-019-03945 https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/viewer/pdf/bbpmwwq7zv
This resource links the findings from the NCAEP report to practical teaching modules on the 27 EBPs. You will use this resource for Discussion 1.

AFIRM Team. (2019). Components of the Autism Focused Intervention Resources & Modules (AFIRM). National Professional Development Center on Autism Spectrum Disorder, Frank Porter Graham Child Development Center, University of North Carolina. https://afirm.fpg.unc.edu/afirm-modules https://afirm.fpg.unc.edu/sites/afirm.fpg.unc.edu/files/imce/documents/Components%20of%20the%20Autism%20Focused.pdf.
This resource provides a summary of the AFIRM website and how it can be used by educators.

Center on PBIS. (2024, May). Supporting and responding to student’s social, emotional, and behavioral needs: Evidence-based practices for educators (Version 2). Center on PBIS, University of Oregon. www.pbis.org.
https://cdn.prod.website-files.com/5d3725188825e071f1670246/664cdc2b5d9a7dc86b343a68_Supporting%20and%20Responding%20to%20Students%E2%80%99%20Social%2C%20Emotional%2C%20and%20Behavioral%20Needs.pdf
This report provides an overview of evidence-based practices for students’ social, emotional, and behavioral needs. You will use this resource for Discussion 1.

Nelson, G., Cook, S. C., Zarate, K., Powell, S. R., Maggin, D. M., Drake, K. R., Kiss, A. J., Ford, J. W., Sun, L., & Espinas, D. R. (2022). A systematic review of meta-analyses in special education: Exploring the evidence base for high-leverage practices. Remedial and Special Education, 43(5), 344-358. https://doi.org/10.1177/07419325211063491
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fjournals.sagepub.com%2Fdoi%2Fpdf%2F10.1177%2F07419325211063491
This research article provides an overview of the evidence base for high leverage practices.

California Autism Professional Training and Information Network. (2020, February). Evidence-based practices for children, youth, and young adults with autism national clearinghouse on autism evidence and practice review 2020. [PDF]. https://www.captain.ca.gov/documents/EBP%20MATRIX%20DEFINITIONS%202020%20REV%20FEB%202022.pdf
Refer to this EBP Matrix with definitions, which describes each EBP identified in the NCAEP report, for your assignment this week.

Autism Focused Intervention Resources and Modules. Domain matrix. [PDF]. https://afirm.fpg.unc.edu/sites/afirm.fpg.unc.edu/files/imce/documents/NCAEP%20Domain%20Matrix%20%28Steinbrenner%202020%29.pdf
EBP Matrix with domain and age information. This resource identifies which EBPs have been shown to be effective by age and domain area.

California Autism Professional Training and Information Network (CAPTAIN). (n.d.). CAPTAIN vision statement. https://www.captain.ca.gov/
This is a statewide training and technical assistance network focused on promoting acceptance, support, and quality of life for individuals on the autism spectrum. It is inclusive of partner agencies who will work collaboratively so that individuals on the autism spectrum and their families can benefit from effective services, supports, and resources.

The National Clearinghouse on Autism Evidence and Practice (NCAEP). (n.d.). https://ncaep.fpg.unc.edu/
The National Clearinghouse on Autism Evidence and Practice (NCAEP) is a research initiative that systematically reviews and identifies evidence-based practices (EBPs) for individuals with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) across different age groups and developmental domains.

National Professional Development Center on Autism Spectrum Disorder (NPDC). (n.d.) https://autismpdc.fpg.unc.edu/
This website identifies 27 evidence-based practices (EBPs) for autism intervention.

Autism Focused Intervention Resources and Modules (AFIRM). (n.d.). https://afirm.fpg.unc.edu/
This website offers free online learning modules on EBPs for students with autism.

National Autism Center at May Institute. National standards project. (2025). https://nationalautismcenter.org/national-standards/
This website provides research-based guidelines on best practices for autism interventions.

TIES Center (Increasing Inclusive Practices for Students with Significant Disabilities). (2025). Welcome to TIES center. https://tiescenter.org
This center supports inclusive education for students with significant disabilities.

The Center on Secondary Education for Students with Autism Spectrum Disorder (CSESA). (n.d.). https://csesa.fpg.unc.edu/
This website focuses on supporting adolescents with autism in secondary schools.

Technical Assistance Center on Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS). (n.d.). https://www.pbis.org/
PBIS provides behavior support strategies, including individualized behavior interventions.

SIP (Supporting Inclusive Practices). (n.d.). https://www.sipinclusion.org/
SIP (Supporting Inclusive Practices) provides unparalleled statewide technical assistance to educational communities in their pursuit of inclusive and equitable systems.