LibGuides: CJA460: Module 4

Module 4 Required Resources

Readings

Emerging Technologies in Forensic DNA Analysis
Alketbi SK. Emerging Technologies in Forensic DNA Analysis. Perspectives in Legal and Forensic Sciences. 2024; 1(1):10007. https://doi.org/10.70322/plfs.2024.10007
Emerging technologies in forensic DNA analysis
Technology in Forensic Sciences: Innovation and Precision
Chango, X., Flor-Unda, O., Gil-Jiménez, P., & Gómez-Moreno, H. (2024). Technology in Forensic Sciences: Innovation and Precision. Technologies, 12(8), 120. Evidence – Challenges and advancements in forensics
Handbook of Forensic Services
Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI). (2019). Handbook of Forensic Services.
The handbook provides guidance and procedures, safe and efficient methods for the collection, preserving of evidence
What We Investigate, Cybercrimes
FBI. What We Investigate, Cybercrimes. Defining cybercrimes and examples.
What We Investigate, Environmental Crimes
FBI. What We Investigate, Environmental Crimes.
Environmental crimes description and examples.
What We Investigate, Human Trafficking
FBI. What We Investigate, Human Trafficking.
Human trafficking description
What We Investigate, White Collar Crimes
FBI. What We Investigate, White Collar Crimes. White-collar crimes description and examples.
Forensic Toxicology
Forensic Toxicology Copyright © 2022 by Dr. Sanela Martic is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.
Module 2 Chapter 1: Sample Collection and Storage
Interactive Presentation – Forensic Toxicology: From Crime Scene to Virtual Lab Interactive presentation for sample collection and storage of evidence: timelines, storage, degradation: Slides 1 to 22
A Simplified Guide to Crime Scene Investigation
Global Forensic and Justice Center (GFJC). (September 2013). A Simplified Guide to Crime Scene Investigation.
Crime scene investigations, techniques and processes to collect evidence, including responsibilities of investigators
The Importance of Forensic Evidence for Decisions on Criminal Guilt
Ling, S., Kaplan, J., & Berryessa, C. M. (2021). The importance of forensic evidence for decisions on criminal guilt. Science & justice, 61(2), 142-149.
The role of forensic evidence in jury’s decision to render guilty verdicts in criminal cases
The Future of Forensic Science
Martell, D. A. (Ed.). (2019). The future of forensic science. John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated.
E-book discusses forensic evidence, technology, instrumentation and challenges
Assignment:
Chapter 2 Some thoughts on the future challenges to criminalistics
2.1 Introduction
2.2 Technological advances
2.2.1 Computers, software, and databases
2.2.2 DNA
2.2.3 Impression evidence
2.2.4 Instrumentation
2.3 Quality issues
Wrongful Convictions and Claims of False or Misleading Forensic Evidence
Morgan J. Wrongful convictions and claims of false or misleading forensic evidence. J Forensic Sci. 2023; 68: 908–961.
Study of wrongful convictions because of faulty or misleading forensic evidence
Assignment: Reach background/introduction of study, results, conclusions and recommendations
The Eyes Have It! Functional Field of View Differences Between Visual Search Behavior and Body-Worn Camera During a Use of Force Response in Active-Duty Police Officers
Murray, N. P., Lewinski, W., Allen, C., Sandri Heidner, G., Albin, M. W., & Horn, R. (2024). The eyes have it! Functional field of view differences between visual search behavior and body-worn camera during a use of force response in active-duty police officers. Police Practice and Research, 25(4), 490–497. https://doi.org/10.1080/15614263.2024.2328664
The study discusses Body Worn Cameras (BWCs) limitations. Assignment: Read pp. 490-491, 495
Fact or Fiction? The Myth and Reality of the CSI Effect
Smith, S. M., Stinson, V., & Patry, M. W. (2024). Fact or Fiction? The Myth and Reality of the CSI Effect. Court Review, 60(4), 169–172.
Review of CSI effect and studies
Benefits of Enhanced Skip Tracing
Thomas Reuters. (2025, Mar. 7). Benefits of enhanced skip tracing.
Discussion of skip tracing in developing leads
Fraud Investigation: An Overview
Thomas Reuters. (2024, Mar. 26). Fraud investigation: An overview.
Explaining fraud and investigative process.
Crime Scene Investigation: A Guide for Law Enforcement
U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ). (2013, Sept.). Crime Scene Investigation: A Guide for Law Enforcement.
DOJ’s guide provides law enforcement agencies with best practices for conducting crime scene investigations.
Assignment: Read the steps in crime scene investigations for collection of evidence
Death Investigation: A Guide for the Scene Investigator
US Department of Justice. (2024, Jul.). Death Investigation: A Guide for the Scene Investigator.
DOJ’s guide provides law enforcement agencies with best practices for conducting death investigation and the crime scene investigation.
Assignment: Review investigative techniques/crime scene investigations/colleciton of evidence
Georgia Bureau of Investigation
Georgia Bureau of Investigation. Trace Evidence. Trace evidence in forensic evidence
Police Accountability and Technology
Walker, S., & Archbold, C. (2020). Police accountability and technology. In 9 Police accountability and technology (Vol. 0, pp. 274-292). SAGE Publications, Inc., https://doi.org/10.4135/9781544339214
Assignment: Chapter Police Accountability and Technology

Podcast

Inside the FBI: Fighting Fraud
FBI. (2024, Aug. 16). Inside the FBI: Fighting Fraud [Audio podcast].
Define fraud, explain why and how the FBI investigates it, share tips for protecting yourself from scammers, and teach you how to report suspected frauds and scams to the Bureau

Videos

The New Detectives. (2019, Oct. 30). Role of DNA in Criminal Investigations. YouTube. DNA and its use to convict or exonerate wrongfully convicted, identify victims and suspects

Spencer, J. (2020, Aug. 20). Inside the FBI’s digital forensic laboratory [Video]. YouTube. Report - Inside the FBI’s digital laboratory

THV11. (2021, Mar. 20). How criminal investigations have evolved along with technology [Video]. YouTube. News report on how the criminal investigations have evolved with technology

Optional Resources

Body-Worn Camera, Frequently Asked Questions.
BJA. (2015). Body-Worn Camera, Frequently Asked Questions.
BWC frequently asked questions
Crime Scene Investigation Guides
Crime scene investigation guides
FBI. (2000, Apr). Crime Scene Investigations: A Guide for Law Enforcement
The National Institute of Justice’s guide provides law enforcement agencies with best practices for conducting crime scene investigations.
Crime Scene Investigation
Department of Justice (DOJ). (2013, Sept.). Crime Scene Investigation:
A Guide for Law Enforcement.

Misrepresented Forensic Evidence

The dangers of misinterpreted forensic evidence – Ruth Morgan

Forensic science is not as infallible as it is assumed to be. In this fascinating talk, Ruth Morgan, the director of the Centre for Forensic Sciences at University College London, delves into the way forensic evidence can be misread or misinterpreted -- and the consequences it can have in criminal cases. TEDArchive presents previously unpublished talks from TED conferences. Enjoy this unedited talk by Ruth Morgan. Filmed at TEDNYC Idea Search 2018.

Root Cause Analysis for Microscopic Hair Comparison Analysis Completed
FBI News Release
August 14, 2019
Root Cause Analysis for Microscopic Hair Comparison Analysis Completed
FBI Testimony on Microscopic Hair Analysis Contained Errors in at Least 90 Percent of Cases in Ongoing Review
FBI News Release
April 20, 2015
FBI Testimony on Microscopic Hair Analysis Contained Errors in at Least 90 Percent of Cases in Ongoing Review
FBI/DOJ Microscopic Hair Comparison Analysis Review
FBI
n/d
FBI/DOJ Microscopic Hair Comparison Analysis Review
FBI Admits Flaws in Hair Analysis Over Decades
The Washington Post
April 18, 2015
FBI admits flaws in hair analysis over decades
Justice Department
The Washington Post
July 10, 2012
The “CSI Effect” and Its Potential Impact on Juror Decisions”
Study on the CSI and how it impacts jurors’ expectations of forensic evidence for guilty verdicts
Assignment: Read background, results, conclusions