LibGuides: PSY678: Week 3 Resources

Week 3 Required Resources

Textbook

Handbook of Clinical Psychopharmacology for Therapists
Preston, J. D., Moore, B. A., O’Neal, J. H., & Talaga, M. C. (2025). Handbook of clinical psychopharmacology for therapists. New Harbinger Publications.
Read Chapters 9, 11, 12, 19, and 20 for Week 3.

Articles

The Family Pharm
Murray, C. E., & Murray, T. L. (2007). The Family Pharm: An ethical consideration of psychopharmacology in couple and family counseling. The Family Journal: Counseling and Therapy for Couples and Families, 15, 65-71. https://doi.org/10.1177/1066480706294123.
The article provides a brief discussion related to the ethical components of integrating psychopharmacology with client systems. It also includes the case vignettes needed for the Week 3 assignment.

Videos

Speed Pharmacology. (2018). Pharmacology - BENZODIAZEPINES, BARBITURATES, HYPNOTICS (MADE EASY) [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ZHudeMho8g

The video provides an overview of the key concepts of benzodiazepines, barbiturates, and hypnotics. The video also provides a visual supplement to course content in psychopharmacology.

Speed Pharmacology. (2018). Pharmacology - ANTIPSYCHOTICS (MADE EASY) [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nKkIh1B2Js8

The video provides an overview of antipsychotics and their functioning within the brain and body. The video also provides a visual supplement to course content in psychopharmacology.

Handout

Week 3 Key Concepts