LibGuides: ECE210: Module 4 Resources

Module 4 Required Resources

Book Chapters

Child, Family, and Community
Laff, R., & Ruiz, W. (2024). Child, family and community. https://socialsci.libretexts.org/Bookshelves/Early_Childhood_Education/Child_Family_and_Community_(Laff_and_Ruiz). CC BY 4.0.

Please read the following chapters:

Chapter 3: What is Culture and Why is it Important?
Chapter 5: What is Family?
Chapter 6: A Closer Look at Parenting

Articles

Culturally Appropriate Positive Guidance with Young Children
NAEYC. Culturally appropriate positive guidance with young children. (n.d.-b). NAEYC. https://www.naeyc.org/resources/pubs/yc/mar2017/culturally-appropriate-positive-guidance
This article from NAEYC provides teacher support for understanding families.
The Social-Cultural Context of Child Development and Learning
NAEYC. The social-cultural context of child development and learning. (n.d.). NAEYC. https://www.naeyc.org/resources/position-statements/equity/social-cultural-context
This is NAEYC’s position statement about supporting all children, accepting the cultural implications and context in which it is evident.
Valuing Diversity: Developing a Deeper Understanding of All Young
NAEYC. Valuing diversity: Developing a deeper understanding of all young (n.d.). NAEYC. https://www.naeyc.org/resources/pubs/tyc/dec2019/valuing-diversity-developing-understanding-behavior
This article helps teachers examine children’s behavior with cultural considerations in mind.

Videos

How Does Family Environment Affect Child?
Nicholeen Peck - Teaching Self Government. (2020, August 13). How does family environment affect child? [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDK2OFLxwEk
This video discusses the family environment and how it impacts child development.
5 Parenting Styles and Their Effects on Life
Sprouts. (2021, April 30). 5 Parenting styles and their effects on life [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyO8pvpnTdE
This video discusses parenting styles, including a newer, 5th style.

Assignment 4 Article Suggestions

Below are a few curated articles you may wish to use for your Week 4 Assignment. You are not required to use these; they are provided as options. It is recommended that you utilize the library to search for articles, which you can access via the “library” link located in the navigation bar at the top of your course homepage.

Stereotypes

Stereotype
Dziak, M. (2024). Stereotype. Salem Press Encyclopedia. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/viewer/html/npj3kskkxr
Maladaptive But Malleable: Gender‐Science Stereotypes Emerge Early But Are Modifiable by Language
Wang, M. M., Cardarelli, A., Brenner, J., Leslie, S., & Rhodes, M. (2025). Maladaptive but malleable: Gender‐science stereotypes emerge early but are modifiable by language. Child Development, 96(2), 865–880. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fsrcd.onlinelibrary.wiley.com%2Fdoi%2Ffull%2F10.1111%2Fcdev.14213

Age

Ageism
Evans, C. H., & Montvilo, R. K. (2025). Ageism. In Salem press encyclopedia of health. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/viewer/html/hvw3opowun

Gender

Gender
Greene, J. M. (2025). Gender. In Salem press encyclopedia. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/viewer/html/bao3kmc2av
Welcoming Gender Diversity in the Early Years: Interpreting Professional Guiding Documents for Gender-Expansive Practice
Timmons, K., & Airton, L. (2023). Welcoming gender diversity in the early years: Interpreting professional guiding documents for gender-expansive practice. Contemporary Issues in Early Childhood, 24(1), 32–45. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fjournals.sagepub.com%2Fdoi%2Fpdf%2F10.1177%2F1463949120978526

Ability

Abilities
Abilities. (2015). Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/abilities/

Language

Language: Research Starters Topics
Research Starter Topics. (2021). Language: Research Starters Topics. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/viewer/html/cg5yv4wzyn
A Data Profile of Young Dual Language Learners in the United States and Implications for Early Childhood Programs
Habben, H., Kim, V., & Migration Policy Institute, M. N. C. on I. I. P. (2025). A data profile of young dual language learners in the United States and implications for early childhood programs [Fact Sheet]. In Migration policy institute. https://www.migrationpolicy.org/sites/default/files/publications/mpi-nciip-dll-fact-sheet-us-2025_final.pdf

Culture

Culture
Campbell, J. (2023). Culture. In Salem press encyclopedia. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/viewer/html/2ktb6ffvzv
Designing Culturally Responsive Education Strategies to Cultivate Young Children’s Cultural Identities: A Case Study of the Development of a Preschool Local Culture Curriculum
Yi-Huang Shih. (2022). Designing culturally responsive education strategies to cultivate young children’s cultural identities: A case study of the development of a preschool local culture curriculum. Children, 9(12), 1789. https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9777010/

Media and Technology

Media: Research Starters Topic
Research Starters Topic. (2021). Media: Research Starters Topic. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/viewer/html/35a5e2xubb
Technology Education in Early Childhood Education: A Systematic Review
Jiahong Su, Yuchun Zhong, & Xinyu Chen. (2024). Technology education in early childhood education: A systematic review. Interactive Learning Environments, 32(6), 2848–2861. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.tandfonline.com%2Fdoi%2Ffull%2F10.1080%2F10494820.2022.2160470

Racial Identity

Race and Ethnicity: Research Starters Topic
Research Starters Topic. (2021). Race and Ethnicity: Research Starters Topic. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/viewer/html/q2ywqfyzqr
Fostering Children’s Racialized Identities in Early Childhood Education
Davidson, K., & Fouts, H. N. (2024). Fostering children’s racialized identities in early childhood education. Early Years: Journal of International Research & Development, 44(2), 251–266. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.tandfonline.com%2Fdoi%2Fpdf%2F10.1080%2F09575146.2022.2126964
To be Young, Gifted and Innocent
Pate, A. (2020). To be young, gifted and innocent. Educational Leadership, 78(3), 34–39. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/viewer/pdf/lokfu3kern

Political Context  

Politics and Education
Foerstel, K. (2023). Politics and education. In CQ Researcher. CQ Press. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fcqpress.sagepub.com%2Fcqresearcher%2Freport%2Fpoliticization-and-education-cqresrre20231117
Political Polarization of Educational Politics and its Implications for Democratic Education
Brezicha, K. F., Arnzen, C. J., LoBue, A., Childs, J., Germain, E., Jenkins, D. A., & Douglass, S. (2023). Political polarization of educational politics and its implications for democratic education. Peabody Journal of Education (0161956X), 98(5), 467–471. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu

Public Policy 

Public Policy 
Hoffman-Miller, P. M. (2025). Public policy. In Salem press encyclopedia. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/viewer/html/wtks5ypiu5
The Changing Landscape of Early Childhood Education: Implications for Policy and Practice
Haslip, M.J., Gullo, D.F. The Changing Landscape of Early Childhood Education: Implications for Policy and Practice. Early Childhood Educ J 46, 249–264 (2018). https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s10643-017-0865-7

Ethnicity  

Ethnicity  
García, J. E. (2024). Ethnicity. In Salem press encyclopedia. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/viewer/html/ri3rdfml65
Strategies to Foster Integration in Early Childhood Education
Plasencia, S., Melnick, H., & Learning Policy Institute. (2024). Strategies to foster integration in early childhood education. In Learning Policy Institute. https://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED658939

Socio-Economic Status 

Socioeconomic Status and Education
American Psychological Association. (2017). Socioeconomic status and education. https://www.apa.org/pi/ses/resources/publications/education
Explaining Achievement Gaps: The Role of Socioeconomic Factors
Hu, E. H., Morgan, P. L., & Thomas B. Fordham Institute. (2024). Explaining achievement gaps: The role of socioeconomic factors. In Thomas B. Fordham Institute. https://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED663637

Module 4 Optional Resources

Videos

Childhood and Socialization - Part 1: Situating Childhood
AnthroDorphins. (2023, November 28). Childhood and socialization - Part 1: Situating childhood [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZRMdD-6dYk
This video discusses cultural impacts.
How Culture Influences Parenting
NCTSN. (2020, November 23). How culture influences parenting [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c04NKjtRLig
This video discusses supporting families of refugee and immigrant families.
How Does Cultural and Familial Ideology Affect Children?
TEDx Talks. (2025, March 11). How does cultural and familial ideology affect children? | Hannah Park | TEDxKelowna Youth [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtpJQ43f270
This video discusses cultural and family influences.