service of OAPEN Foundation based at the National Library in The Hague. Database contains more than 5,000 academic, peer-reviewed books from 163 publishers.
Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
Created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine with more than 8,500 titles in PDF format.
Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
Founded in 2008 by a small group of academics at the University of Cambridge, Open Book Publishers publishes monographs and textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences. All books are available to read for free online.
Offers over 53,000 free ebooks, most of which are primary source texts: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Self-publishing and ebook distribution platform. All ebooks on this site are free to download and can be read on all the popular eReaders, along with both the PC and Mac notebook/desktop systems.
Discover all-new, rising authors. Independent writers offer both entertaining fiction/romance for your enjoyment and non-fiction to help you find info from self-help to biz growth.
Service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned. On Google Books, you can read books and magazines, download them for later, cite them and translate them.
HathiTrust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation’s great research libraries available for all. HathiTrust has partnerships with over 90 institutions providing more than a million open access.
Offers over 12,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
Website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all.
founded in 2008 by a small group of academics at the University of Cambridge, Open Book Publishers publishes monographs and textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences. All books are available to read for free online.
Open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published. Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive.
"Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks." The database contains millions of copyright free books and speeches, all available for free download.
Project of the U.S. Library of Congress and UNESCO. Makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
