LibGuides: Chapter 4: Chapter 4: Home

Chapter 4 presents the study findings. It is an overview of the purpose of the research study. This chapter conveys the trustworthiness/validity and reliability of data. It includes the factors impacting the interpretation of data collection or analysis. Students conducting qualitative studies can use NVivo software to analyze data, and SPSS is used for quantitative studies. The Chair will guide students who may need alternative software for their data analysis software.

Quick Guides

Qualitative Data Analysis Tips and Strategies
Students can use this short guide to get started in analyzing qualitative data.
Quantitative Data Analysis Tips and Strategies
Students can use this short guide to get started in analyzing quantitative data.

IRB Data Collection Closure

Data Collection Verification Form
The IRB Study Closure will be submitted in the Doctoral Record after approval from the student’s doctoral committee.
Data Collection Verification Form Example
The sample Data Collection Verification Form can help guide students on how to complete the form before submitting.

Data Collection and Analysis Software

Example Instruments and Tools for Data Collection
Students can use this quick list of instruments and tools when considering how to collect and analyze data.
NVivo Access Instructions for NCUOne Users
Students and faculty in NCUOne - Use this job aid to guide you in accessing your free copy of NVivo for qualitative data analysis.
NVivo FAQs
Refer to the NVivo FAQs while installing the software
SPSS Access Instructions
NCUOne students - Use this job aid to guide you in accessing your free copy of SPSS for quantitative data analysis.
SPSS License Renewal
Step-by-step instructions for NCUOne students to renew their license for SPSS.
SPSS Version Upgrade Instructions
Step-by-step instructions for NCUOne students to update to Version 29, the latest version that is now available.

Note: Doctoral students taking courses in NU Brightspace can find directions on how to download NVivo and SPSS in the NU Library Connection. Find the NU Library Connection in your course list and then navigate to the Data Analysis Software for Doctoral Students sub-module within the Research Help module.

Chapter 4

Jump to DSE Guide

Need help? Ask Us!

Quick Guides

IRB Data Collection Closure

Data Collection and Analysis Software

Chapter 4 Webinars