EL-7007 v3

Levinson, L. (2017). Adapting fair use to reflect social media norms: A joint proposal. UCLA Law Review, 64(4), 1038–1079.
This is an important resource about social media websites and copyright infringement action.

Huffman, S., Shaw, E., & Loyless, S. (2019). Ensuring ethics and equity: Policy, planning, and digital citizenship. Education, 2, 87.
This article is about updated standards from the ISTE regarding the fundamental information about ethics and quality in online education including policies, planning, and digital citizenship.

Thunman, E., & Persson, M. (2018). Ethical dilemmas on social media: Swedish secondary teachers’ boundary management on Facebook. Teacher Development, 22(2), 175–190.
This is a study about teachers’ experiences with ethical issues using Facebook social media.

Omaggio, N. F., Baker, M. J., & Conway, L. J. (2018). Have you ever googled a patient or been friended by a patient? Social Media Intersects the Practice of Genetic Counseling. Journal of Genetic Counseling, 27(2), 481–492.
This resource provides information about a survey to gain information on students and counselors connected with patients through social media sites.

Aufderheide, P., Sinnreich, A., & Silvernail, C. (2019). Norms-shifting for digital and online arts practice: Copyright and fair use in the visual arts community. Visual Arts Research, 45(2), 91.
This article provides information on how professionals built codes of best practices to help developers, instructors, instructional designers, copyright holders, and others to interpret the copyright doctrine of fair use.

Kilis, S., & Yildirim, Z. (2019). Posting patterns of students’ social presence, cognitive presence, and teaching presence in online learning. Online Learning Journal (OLJ), 2, 179.
This journal article provides specific information about social media posting patterns of students in the online environment and developing a community of inquiry.

Asp, E. M. (2018). Section 512 of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act: User Experience and User Frustration. Iowa Law Review, 103(2), 751–783.
The objective of the DMCA (Digital Millennium Copyright Act) is to set standards and provide important information about copyright and copyright protection. Section 512 is important as it discusses the limitation of liabilities to services providers in the event a user was infringing on a copyright. This is important as educational institutions need to have an awareness of these liabilities.

Adobe Spark. (2010). The 7 top social media sites you need to care about in 2020.
This site provides current information on social media sites and the most used sites world-wide.

Carpenter, J. P., & Harvey, S. (2019). “There’s no referee on social media”: Challenges in educator professional social media use. Teaching and Teacher Education, 86.
This journal article provides in-depth information on how social media affects educators and the challenges that were experienced by participants in the study including intrapersonal, interpersonal, school community, and online educator community. Additional information is provided on the implications of the results for this study.

Llorente, R. (2018). The first social network. Linux Magazine, 217.
This article provides insight into the historical background and use of social media.

Eakman, A. (2015). The future of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act: how automation and crowdsourcing can protect fair use. Indiana Law Review, 2, 631.
This resource provides important information about the DMCA and the disputes that occur related to copyright infringement and how automation has affected this.

Akcaoglu, M., & Lee, E. (2018). Using Facebook groups to support social presence in online learning. Distance Education, 39(3), 334.
This journal article provides best practices and challenges for using Facebook groups for teaching and learning in the online environment.