TIM-6735: Cybersecurity Threats and Vulnerabilities in Healthcare

Ayala, L. (2016). Cybersecurity for hospitals and healthcare facilities: A guide to detection and prevention [eBook edition]. Apress.
NOTE* If it is your first time accessing O’Reilly, it may prompt you to choose an institution. If so, select "Not Listed? Click Here" from the Institution List and sign in for access using your NU school email address.
Reading: Chapter 2
This chapter provides information on how hackers penetrate networks and access discoverable network devices in a healthcare network environment.

Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC). (n.d.). Security 101: Contingency planning [Video]. HealthIT.
The Security 101: Contingency Planning video provides information on the importance of creating a contingency plan to implement when a security emergency occurs.

Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC). (n.d.). SRA tool Version 2.0 tutorial [Video]. HealthIT.
The SRA Tool Version 2.0 Tutorial video provides information on how to use the Security Risk Assessment tool.

Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC). (n.d.). Security risk assessment tool. HealthIT.
This website provides information on the downloadable Security Risk Assessment (SRA) Tool recommended by the HHS Office for Civil Rights (OCR). The tool is designed to help healthcare providers conduct a security risk assessment as required by the HIPAA Security Rule and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Service (CMS) Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Program.

Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC). (n.d.). Security risk assessment tool user guide. HealthIT.gov
This guide explains how to use the Security Risk Assessment (SRA) Tool to create an assessment of a healthcare organization and export the results as a report.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (2020, September 30). Enforcement highlights. Health information privacy.
This website contains information about HIPAA rules, regulatory initiatives, security, breach notification, and compliance.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (2020, September 30). Guidance on risk analysis. HealthIT.
This document contains the important elements of a risk analysis and provides definitions of key terms used in the process of conducting a risk assessment in healthcare.

Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC). (n.d.). Your mobile device and health information privacy and security. HealthIT.
This web page provides important information on managing e-PHI when using smartphones, laptops, and tablets in the healthcare environment.

Center for Internet Security (n.d.). CIS center for internet security.
This website provides general resource information on the current cybersecurity threat level, best practices, the latest tools used in the field, and details on CIS controls. The most relevant area to review is the Information Hub What’s New Section at the bottom of the page. This website is a valuable tool to have as a reference.

Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency of the Department of Homeland Security. (n.d.). Homepage. CISA.
The Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency of the Department of Homeland Security provides up-to-date knowledge on the latest threats and vulnerabilities using bulletins, alerts, and analysis reports. The most relevant area to review is the latest healthcare-related cybersecurity threats listed under the Current Activity section of the page. This website is a valuable tool to have as a reference.

Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP). (n.d.). Threat modeling
This webpage provides valuable information on threat modeling and best practices for improving security by identifying and assessing application threats and vulnerabilities. The relevant areas of the website are Overview, Objectives of Threat Modeling, Threat Modeling Across the Lifecycle, Threat Modeling – Generic Steps, and Benefits. This website is a valuable tool to have as a reference.