PSY-3305: Introduction to Statistics in Psychology

Foster, G. C., Lane, D., Scott, D., Hebl, M., Guerra, R., Osherson, D., & Zimmer, H. (2018). Chapter 8: Introduction to t-tests. An introduction to psychological statistics (pp. 148–160). Open Educational Resources Collection.
Read chapter 8. This chapter provides a broad overview of t-tests, along with 10 questions for you to practice your knowledge! Please know that you will see a lot of formulas in this chapter, but you are not required to memorize them. They are here for you to review and to understand how a t-test works. SPSS will do all this heavy math for you!

Xu, M., Fralick, D., Zheng, J. Z., Wang, B., Tu, X. M., & Feng, C. (2017). The differences and similarities between two-sample t-test and paired t-test. Shanghai Archives of Psychiatry, 29(3), 184–188.
This brief reading discusses the similarities and differences between two common types of t-tests: the two-sample t-test (or independent samples) and the paired t-test. Please note that you will be conducting an independent samples t-test for this week’s assignment.

Knapp, H. (2017). An introduction to the paired t-test [Video]. SAGE Publications Ltd.
This brief video provides an overview of a paired samples t-test.

Knapp, H. (2017). An introduction to the t-test [Video]. SAGE Publications Ltd.
This brief video provides an overview of an independent samples t-test.

Foster, G. C., Lane, D., Scott, D., Hebl, M., Guerra, R., Osherson, D., & Zimmer, H. (2018). Chapter 10: Independent samples. An introduction to psychological statistics (pp. 174–192). Open Educational Resources Collection.
Read chapter 10. This chapter goes into depth about the specific type of t-test you will be conducting for your Week 6 Assignment: an independent samples t-test! There are also 10 questions for you to practice your knowledge!

Abbott, M. L. (2016). Chapter 8: Independent sample t-test. Using statistics in the social and health sciences with SPSS and Excel (pp. 230–245). Wiley Online Library.
Read chapter 8. For this reading, please start at the “The Assumptions for the Independent t-Test” section. This section will show you how to assess each assumption needed for the independent t-test, along with how to conduct the actual t-test using SPSS. Please ignore any information related to Excel in this reading, as you are not using Excel in this course, but are using SPSS.

NCU Academic Success Center. Levels of Measurement [Video, with corresponding content]
This video and brief information page provides an overview of the different levels of measurement. This resource will be helpful for assessing an assumption of the t-test.

Plummer, K. (2014). Reporting an independent sample t-test.
SlideShare.
This brief presentation shows you how to write up the results of your independent samples t-test. This resource will be very helpful for your Week 6 Assignment.

Abbott, M. L. (2016). Chapter 8: Independent sample t-test. Using statistics in the social and health sciences with SPSS and Excel (pp. 255–257). ProQuest Ebook Central.
You will only need to read the first two pages of this chapter. This reading provides a brief overview of the ANOVA statistical test.