CJ-7010

Butler, J. M. (2020). Decades of developments in forensic science. Forensic Science Review, 32(2), 101-103.
This article follows up on the above article, adding a bit of context, commentary, and details.

Garrett, B. L., Gardner, B. O., Murphy, E., & Grimes, P. (2021). Judges and forensic science education: A national survey. Forensic Science International, 321, Article 110714.
This article presents unique findings related to education and training by judges. Judges’ awareness of the realities of forensic science is an important factor in their courtroom decisions. This article provides some of that context.

Cheng, C., Chan, L., & Chau, C. (2020). Individual differences in susceptibility to cybercrime victimization and its psychological aftermath. Computers in Human Behavior, 108, Article 106368.
This article provides some unique insight into how cybercrime impacts victims and some factors that increased the victims’ potential for exposure to the crime.

Chandra, A., & Snowe, M. J. (2020). A taxonomy of cybercrime: Theory and design. International Journal of Accounting Information Systems, 38, Article 100467.
This article discusses some of the key concepts of cybercrime from the accounting perspective. Considering the phenomenon from a multidisciplinary perspective often provides a different context from that which is typically found in the field of study.

Urbas, G. (2012). Cybercrime, jurisdiction, and extradition: The extended reach of cross-border law enforcement. Journal of Internet Law, 16(1), 1-17.
This article, although published in 2012, provides a critical backdrop explaining some of the complexities relative to cybercrime jurisdiction and how the crime traverses across so many jurisdictions. This is critical to understanding the challenges inherent in the investigation of cybercrime.

Rummel, J. A. (2011). When warrants uncover digital evidence: The Tenth Circuit’s ruling in United States v. Burke. Oklahoma City University Law Review, 36(3), 713–736.
This resource provides an important discussion on relevant case law that connects standard evidence collection procedures to the collection of evidence of cybercrime, with its unique considerations.

Finklea, K. M. (2012, July 20). Interplay of borders, turf, cyberspace, and jurisdiction: Issues confronting U.S. law enforcement. (CRS Report No. R41927). International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center.
This article focuses on how jurisdiction impacts cybercrime investigations. As you will see, jurisdiction is a significant challenge during cybersecurity investigations.

Bjelopera, J. P., & Finklea, K. (2014, June 3). Domestic federal law enforcement coordination: through the lens of the southwest border. (CRS Report No. R43583). International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center.
This article provides some context by applying the topic of law enforcement coordination to a federal law enforcement related example.

Trimble, D. (2018). Body-worn cameras: The implementation of both the police department’s rollout of cameras and the state’s attorney office’s processing of data for discovery. University of Baltimore Law Review, 47(3), 379-392.
The implementation of new technology across hundreds or thousands of employees certainly has logistical and training-related challenges. This article is important because it provides some administrative considerations related to the implementation of new technology in law enforcement.