MTH-2010 v2

Poldrack, R. A. (2018). Chapter 13: Modeling continuous relationships. In Statistical thinking for the 21st century (pp. 215-225). Open Educational Resources Collection.
Read the pages listed above. This quick read provides an overview of correlations from a statistical and conceptual perspective.

Films Media Group. (2017). Killer hurricanes [Video]. Films On Demand.
This 6:35-minute video clip reveals how a correlation can be applied in the real-word.

NU Academic Success Center. All about correlations.
This webpage provides an overview of correlation, including research questions, hypotheses, visual representations of correlations, and how to identify the strength of a correlation. This will be very helpful for parts of this week’s assignment.

Spielman, R., Dumper, K., Jenkins, W., Lacombe, A., Lovett, M., & Perlmutter, M. (n.d.). Analyzing findings. Psychology. OER Commons.
This short read provides a conceptual overview of the correlation test, highlights how correlation does not imply causation and provides a short quiz for you to practice your knowledge!

NU Academic Success Center. Developing a research question. [Video]
This brief, 3:34-minute video provides an overview of what a research question is. This video will be helpful for this week’s assignment.

NU Academic Success Center. Writing hypotheses [Video].
This short, 6:18-minute video provides an overview of writing hypotheses. This video will be helpful for this week’s assignment.

Excel Easy. (n.d.). Descriptive Statistics.
Read this webpage. This webpage provides instructions on how to generate descriptive statistics using Excel. This will help with this week’s assignment.

Excel Easy. (n.d.). Correlation.
This website provides step-by-step instructions to conduct a correlation using Excel. This will be needed for this week’s assignment.