MTH-2010 v2

Knapp, H. (2017). An introduction to the t-test [Video]. SAGE Publications Ltd.
This brief, 2:56-minute video provides an overview of an independent samples t-test.

Jankowski, K. R., Flannelly, K. J., & Flannelly, L. T. (2018). The t-test: An influential inferential tool in chaplaincy and other healthcare research. Journal of Health Care Chaplaincy, 24(1), 30-39.
Read this article. This article provides an overview of t-tests. This will be helpful in further understanding what a t-test is and will help prepare you for this week’s assignment.

Patel, K. (2020). The independent samples t-test method and how it benefits organizations. Dataversity.
Read the webpage. Patel provides some examples of how the independent samples t-test can be used in organizations.

Coren, S. (2017). Do dogs or cats make you look more attractive? Psychology Today.
Read the webpage. This quick read provides an example of a t-test being used on a unique topic!

Poldrack, R. A. (2018). Chapter 17: Doing reproducible research. In Statistical thinking for the 21st century (pp. 283-296). Open Educational Resources Collection.
Read Chapter 17. This book chapter covers important steps researchers must take to ensure their data are valid and replicable. This chapter also highlights the importance of replication in research.

Excel Easy. (n.d.). Descriptive Statistics.
Read this webpage. This webpage provides instructions on how to generate descriptive statistics using Excel. This will help with this week’s assignment (Part A).

Excel Easy. (n.d.). t-test in Excel.
This website provides step-by-step instructions to conduct an independent samples t-test using Excel. Please follow these instructions to complete Part B of this week’s assignment.

The British Broadcasting Corporation (n.d.). Approximation.
Read the webpage. This webpage provides information on rounding. In this assignment and future assignments in this course, it will be important to round your final answers to two decimal places.

Excel Easy. (n.d.). Format cells.
This website provides step-by-step instructions to format cells. You will need to know how to format cells for Part B of this week’s assignment.