LibGuides: CMP-9701E v3: Week 4 Resources

Week 4 Resources

Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation
Bloomberg, L. D., & Volpe, M. (2019). Completing your qualitative dissertation: A road map from beginning to end (4th ed.). SAGE.
Read Chapter 3 (“Choosing a Qualitative Research Approach”). Also review the companion website associated with this book for additional related materials. This chapter includes an overview of the defining features and characteristics of a qualitative research design, as well as a description of the current qualitative methodologies (also referred to as traditions or genres). The companion website for this book includes a multitude of useful and appropriate examples, templates, and resources that can be incorporated in qualitative research studies.
Then read Chapter 5 (“Achieving Alignment Throughout Your Dissertation”). Also review the companion website associated with this book for additional related materials. This chapter provides clarity around the importance of methodological integrity and congruence that is essential for any research study. The companion website for this book includes a multitude of useful and appropriate examples, templates, and resources that can be incorporated in qualitative research studies.
Access the Redshelf book from your course, in the Getting Started module or from the Bookshelf link, on the top navigation bar.
The effect of difficulty orientation and self-efficacy on performance in STEM: A quantitative correlational study
Cassibba, J. (2021). The effect of difficulty orientation and self-efficacy on performance in STEM: A quantitative correlational study (Order No. 28720200). Available from Dissertations & Theses @ Northcentral University. (2585939494).
Review dissertation examples from NCU alumni. Specifically look at the methodology and research design that is discussed in Chapter 3, and the reasons or justification offered for this selection. Here is an example.
Introduction to Educational Research
Mertler, C. A. (2019). Introduction to educational research (2nd ed.). SAGE.
Read Chapter 6 (“Qualitative Research Methods”). This chapter provides an overview of the characteristics of a qualitative research design, and how to recognize and address these characteristics.
Then read Chapter 7 (“Quantitative Research Methods”). This chapter provides an overview of the characteristics of a quantitative research design, and how to recognize and address these characteristics.
Access the Redshelf book from your course, in the Getting Started module or from the Bookshelf link, on the top navigation bar.
Research Methods & Design
Northcentral University Library. (2021). Library how-to guides: Research methods & design.
The information in this LibGuide will help you to distinguish and select appropriate designs and methods.
SAGE Research Methods
The SAGE Research Methods database may be used to locate information about research design and methodology. It includes over 175,000 pages of content from the following sources: encyclopedias, dictionaries, books, journal articles, videos, and major works--resources that bring together the seminal articles about that particular methodology. For a complete list of titles in SAGE Research Methods, see the link above. In the left navigation bar of this LibGuide, click on Quantitative Research Methods or Qualitative Research Methods to see selected background information for a list of general quantitative and qualitative research guides.
Types of qualitative research
Creswell, J. (Academic). (2015). Types of qualitative research [Video file]. SAGE Research Methods.
This video (10:22) offers an overview of various qualitative designs. What design do you most identify with? Why? How might you use this design to formulate a doctoral project or dissertation-in-practice?