EDR-8201 v7

Gordon, B. (2018). Chi-square test. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 269-271). SAGE.
This source discusses the instances where the chi-square test is appropriate. It also describes the basic principles and applications of the test.

Gordon, M., & Courtney, R. (2018). Pearson correlation coefficient. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1299-1233). SAGE.
The Pearson correlation is used to examine the linear relationship between two variables. It is a measure that is used when both variables are continuous.

Harlow, L. (2018). Significance. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1514-1516). SAGE.
The author of these pages presents the concept of significance in statistics. Significance indicates the probability of an event (e.g., the difference between two groups) happening by chance—or that true differences exist.

Kim, H. W. (2018). Alpha level. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 65-66). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE.
The alpha level is chosen a priori as a level used to reject or not reject the null hypothesis, this value is compared to p-value obtained from the statistical analysis. This chapter defines and discusses the concepts related to the alpha level.

Kim, H. W. (2018). p value. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1195-1198). SAGE.
The p-value is the probability value that is used in conjunction with the concept of significance. This chapter discusses the different uses of the p-value.

LeBeau, B. (2018). Scatterplots. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1456-1460). SAGE.
This source presents scatterplots. These are graphical representations that are used in statistics to examine the relationships between variables.

McHugh, M. (2018). Spearman correlation coefficient. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1555-1558). SAGE.
This correlation statistic is used to measure the strength of association between two variables measured at the ordinal level.

Kulas, J., Roji, R. & Smith, A. Nonparametric Analysis. In IBM SPSS Essentials: Managing and analyzing social sciences data. John Wiley & Sons.

Laerd statistics. (2023). Multiple regression analysis using SPSS statistics.
This webpage is a great resource for understanding when to use multiple regression analysis and how to conduct this analysis in SPSS.

Sims, J. (2018). Simple linear regression. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1517-1519). SAGE.
Simple linear regression is the simplest form of prediction. In this section, you will learn that the correlation analysis is related to a regression analysis. However, correlations are used to examine relationships, while regression analyses are used to for prediction.

Taraday, M., & Wieczorek-Taraday, A. (2018). R2. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1362-1363). SAGE.
This is the coefficient of determination used in a regression analysis. The R2 is used to represent the amount of variance in the dependent variable, which is predicted by the independent variable.

Tomek, S. (2018). Categorical data analysis. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 240-243). SAGE.
This chapter presents the statistical analyses that are used to explore categorical variables. Specifically, it will discuss the chi-square statistic.

Lean and Six Sigma. (2018). Correlation and regression analysis: Simplest way to learn with examples | Get complete clarity [Video file].

Booker-Zorigian, B. (2021, July 18). Stats I Week 6 Chi Square Part 1 of 1 [Video]. Kaltura.

Booker-Zorigian, B. (2021, July 18). Stats I Week 6 Regression Part 1 of 2 [Video]. Kaltura.

Booker-Zorigian, B. (2021, July 18). Stats I Week 6 Regression Part 2 of 2 [Video]. Kaltura.

Booker-Zorigian, B. (2021, July 18). Stats I Week 6 Correlation Part 1 of 2 [Video]. Kaltura.

Booker-Zorigian, B. (2021, July 18). Stats I Week 6 Correlation Part 2 of 2 [Video]. Kaltura.
Lots of videos! But – each of these will walk you through a different part of the weeks work, from Chi Square to regression and correlation.