EDR-8201 v7

Boone, E. L. (2018). Analysis of variance. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 87-89). SAGE.
When comparing differences between three groups or more, one of the most common analyses is the analysis of variance (ANOVA). This resource provides a thorough explanation of this parametric technique.

Chen, Y. H., Wang, Y., & Kromrey, J. (2018). Levene’s homogeneity of variance test. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 970-972). SAGE.
Levene’s test is a test to examine the assumption of homogeneity of variance. This assumption is used in the independent samples t-test analysis and the ANOVA.

Coleman, J. S. (2018). Hypothesis testing. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 803-804). SAGE.
Hypothesis testing is the main method used in statistics to examine statistical inference. The researcher set a hypothesis (supposition) about a population parameter. In statistics, the hypothesis that is always tested is the null hypothesis.

Fritz, C. O., & Morris, P. E. (2018). Effect size. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 577-578). SAGE.
This section describes the different measures of effect size used in statistics. These effect sizes are important in terms of the size and the possibility of being observed in further studies where the sample is obtained from the same population.

Fritz, C. O., & Morris, P. E. (2018). Eta squared. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 607). SAGE.
Eta squared is a measure of effect size estimate. It is very often used in the analysis of variance (ANOVA).

Fritz, C. O., & Morris, P. E. (2018). Interaction. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 849-853). SAGE.
This section explains how to interpret the effect of two or more independent variables in a dependent variable. Interaction is occurring when the effect of one variable change depending on the value of another variable.

Hannon, B. (2018). Type I error. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1741-1743). SAGE.
Type I error in hypothesis testing occurs when the null hypothesis is equivocally rejected. In other words, assuming that significant differences exist, when in fact they don’t exist.

Harlow, L. (2018). Significance. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1514-1516). SAGE.
The author of these pages presents the concept of significance in statistics. Significance indicates the probability of an event (e.g., the difference between two groups) happening by chance—or that true differences exist.

Kim, H. W. (2018). Alpha level. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 65-66). SAGE.
The alpha level is chosen by a researcher and is used to compare to the p-value. This chapter defines and discusses the concepts related to the alpha level.

Kim, H. W. (2018). p value. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1195-1198). SAGE.
The p-value is the probability value that is used in conjunction with the concept of significance. This chapter discusses the different uses of the p-value.

Korosteleva, O., & Song, B. (2018). t-tests. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1652-1654). SAGE.
The t-test is used with the t distribution to examine differences when the variances are not known. This section describes the three different t-tests and when each of them are used.

Laerd statistics. (2023). One-way MANOVA in SPSS statistics.
This webpage is a great tutorial on when to use MANOVA and how to conduct the analysis in SPSS.

Kulas, J., Roji, R. & Smith, A. Inferential Analysis (ANOVAS). In IBM SPSS Essentials: Managing and analyzing social sciences data. John Wiley & Sons.

Liu, X. S. (2018). Type II error. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1743-1745). SAGE.
Type II error in hypothesis testing occurs when the null hypothesis is equivocally not rejected—in other words, assuming that significant differences do not exist, when they do in fact exist.

Raunig, D. (2018). F distribution. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 659-662). SAGE. 10.4135/9781506326139
The F distribution is very important to understand when conductingan ANOVA. The F distribution is the most powerful analysis to compare two variances.

Seaman, M. (2018). Inferential statistics. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 819-820). SAGE.
This source discusses the importance of inferential statistics and how they are applied to the analysis of observed data from a sample. Furthermore, how the results of the observed data can be applied to make inferences to the general population.

Tipton, R., & Morgan, G. (2018). Post hoc analysis. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1271-1273). SAGE.
These analyses are conducted after the rejection of the null hypothesis. They are used to examine mean differences. This section provides an overview of these tests used in the ANOVA.

Zheng, C. (2018). Results section. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1432). SAGE.
This resource describes the research paper section that includes the results of the statistical analysis. The results section is very important in the research paper because provides the answer to the research questions.

Lloyd, C. (2021, July 25). Stats I Week 7 Part 1 of 3 [Video]. Kaltura

Lloyd, C. (2021, July 25). Stats I Week 7 Part 2 of 3 [Video]. Kaltura

Lloyd, C. (2021, July 25). Stats I Week 7 Part 3 of 3 [Video]. Kaltura
This collection of videos discusses the process of completing both t-test and an ANOVA, with a process tutorial.