MSW-6101 v1

Brown, A. D., Ellis, B. H., & Saxe, G. N. (2016). Trauma systems therapy for children and teens. Child & Family Behavior Therapy, 38(3), 253-262.

Child Welfare Information Gateway. (2019, April). What is child abuse and neglect? Recognizing the signs and symptoms. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Children's Bureau [PDF document].
This detailed article provides information on how child abuse and neglect are defined by Federal law, highlight the major types of child abuse and neglect, and includes information on recognizing the signs and symptoms of abuse and neglect and when to report.

Child Welfare Information Gateway. (2019, April). Long-term consequences of child abuse and neglect. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Children's Bureau.
This factsheet provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services includes information about the physical, psychological, behavioral, and societal consequences of child abuse and neglect. Additional information includes research on adverse childhood experiences and preventing and reducing the long-term consequences of child maltreatment.

The National Child Traumatic Stress Network. (2023, August). Complex trauma.
This site provides information on complex trauma, the effects, screening and assessment, and effective interventions designed to address complex trauma.

The National Child Traumatic Stress Network. (2023, August). Families and trauma.
This site provides information on how trauma impacts family systems and their relationships, how providers can support families, and the various factors that influence recovery from trauma. NCTSN resources are also included.

National Association of Social Workers. (2023, August). Self-care for social workers.
This site contains numerous resources, articles, podcasts, and even some informational videos on how social workers can care for themselves in the face of their challenging work.
Listening to the YouTube Playlist: Self-Care for Social Workers – NASW Social Work talks is one of the resources that is highly recommended.

Child Welfare Information Gateway. (n.d.). State statutes search. U. S. Department of Health & Human Services.
This site allows you to review the statutes and reporting requirements specific to any state. It is an essential resource for learning about the requirements in your state.

Centers for Disease Control. (2023, August). Child abuse and neglect.
Contains facts, prevention strategies, risk and protective factors, and statistics from the CDC about Child Abuse & Neglect.

The National Child Traumatic Stress Network. (2023, August). Physical abuse.
This site provides information on physical abuse, the effects, interventions used to the NCTSN to address physical abuse, and resources on physical abuse.

Armes, S. E., Lee, J., & Bride, B., & Sponski, D. M. (2020). Secondary trauma and impairment in clinical social workers. Child Abuse & Neglect, 110(Pt. 3), 1-15.
A study on how secondary traumatic stress can impact clinical social workers and impair their ability to work.

The National Child Traumatic Stress Network. (2023, August). Secondary traumatic stress.
An overview of secondary traumatic stress, strategies for prevention and intervention, and NCTSN resources for addressing this issue are provided.

USA Facts. (2023, August). Child social services.
Contains statistics from reliable sources such as the Department of Health and Human Services. Specifically, statistics around Child & Social Services.

National University. (2023) Graduate studies support center: NCUOne. National.
This link provides resources on NCU One and can be helpful for your assignments.