LibGuides: PSY646: Module 2

Module 2 Required Resources

Textbook

Touching the Relational Edge by Asaf Rolef Ben-Shahar
ISBN: 9781782200949

Publication Date: 2014-03-07

Ben-Shahar, A. R. (2014). Chapter 3: A roadmap to body psychotherapy modalities. In Touching the Relational Edge: Body Psychotherapy. Taylor & Francis. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nu/detail.action?docID=1637612

This chapter gives an overview of many somatic integrated psychotherapies. Please read and take a trip through the history of body-oriented psychotherapy.

Chapter 3 and Chapter 9 are recommended.

Articles

Power of touch: Working with survivors of sexual abuse within dance/movement therapy.
Cristobal, K. A. (2018). Power of touch: Working with survivors of sexual abuse within dance/movement therapy. American Journal of Dance Therapy, 40(1), 68–86. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10465-018-9275-7

Touch is the first language humans learn; one learns to touch in the womb long before they develop an ability to communicate in other forms. This article speaks to the importance of touch in working with a survivor of sexual abuse. Dance/movement therapy (DMT) understands the importance of integrating the body into psychotherapy. Dance/movement therapist’s abilities to meet the individual where they are at somatically support their work with survivors in a touch model. This article, by reviewing existing literature and research in the field of the application of touch in the psychotherapeutic relationship, in combination with the research that states essential goals for survivors of sexual abuse within therapy, attempts to suggest ways in which DMT can enhance and support the use of touch in working with survivors. This article also suggests that touch is a healing component in psychotherapy, particularly in regards to working with survivors to reclaim and relearn their relationship to their bodies.
Gendlin and Ecopsychology: Focusing in nature
Harris, A. (2013). Gendlin and Ecopsychology: Focusing in nature. Person-Centered & Experiential Psychotherapies, 12(4), 330–343. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/14779757.2013.855135

Gendlin’s focus emerged from person-centered research and is widely used within person-centered and experiential therapy. An increasing number of people are now practicing focusing on the natural environment. In this paper, I develop key aspects of my doctoral research to investigate the significance of this practice. My research suggests that focusing on nature is not only a powerful tool for personal development but that it can also significantly deepen our sense of connection to the natural world. The phenomenological experience of focusing provides a challenge to the idea that every individual is a separate self, a belief that is common amongst adherents of classical person-centered theory. By challenging this notion, focusing on nature adds support to the more relational models of the self found in person-centered and experiential theory and beyond.

Clinical Ecopsychology: The mental health impacts and underlying pathways of the climate and environmental crisis
Thoma, M. V., Rohleder, N., & Rohner, S. L. (2021a). Clinical Ecopsychology: The mental health impacts and underlying pathways of the climate and environmental crisis. Frontiers in Psychiatry, 12. https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpsyt.2021.675936

Humankind is confronted with progressing climate change, pollution, environmental degradation, and/or destruction of the air, soil, water, and ecosystems. The climate and environmental crisis is probably one of the greatest challenges in the history of humankind. It not only poses a serious current and continuing threat to physical health, but is also an existing and growing hazard to the mental health of millions of people worldwide. This synergy of literature provides a current summary of the adverse mental health impacts of the climate and environmental crisis from the perspective of Clinical Psychology. Furthermore, it presents potential underlying processes, including biological, emotional, cognitive, behavioral, and social pathways. The existing data suggest that the climate and environmental crisis not only acts as a direct stressor but can also exert a detrimental impact on the various pathways, with the potential to amplify an individual’s biopsychosocial vulnerability to develop mental ill-health. This is a call for an increased investigation into this emerging research field of Clinical Ecopsychology by clinical psychologists and other researchers.

4 Fast Facts about the Gut-Brain Connection
4 fast facts about the gut-brain connection. (n.d.). NCCIH. https://www.nccih.nih.gov/news/events/4-fast-facts-about-the-gutbrain-connection

This article discusses the communication between the brain and the gut within the body.

The Hakomi principles
The Hakomi principles. (2022, February 3). Hakomi Institute. https://hakomiinstitute.com/about/hakomi-mindful-somatic-psychotherapy/the-hakomi-principles

Authentic Movement
Razorfrog Web Design. (2020, March 28). Authentic movement. Tina Stromsted, Ph.D. https://authenticmovement-bodysoul.com/authentic-movement-body-soul-center/authentic-movement/

Somatic therapy
Somatic therapy. (2017, May 8). Psychology Today. https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/therapy-types/somatic-therapy

Ecological Amnesia
Davis, W. (2018). ECOLOGICAL AMNESIA (P. TORTELL, M. TURIN, & M. YOUNG, Eds.). JSTOR; Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies. https://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctvbtzpfm.5?socuuid=a7e7d1ef-5cc1-4e02-a42b-5c58ca00faab ‌

This resource is referenced in Module 2 Lesson 3.

The principles of ecopsychology
#. (n.d.). The principles of Ecopsychology, by Theodore Roszak. IES. https://ies.bio/ecopsychology/what-is-ecopsychology/principles-of-ecopsychology/‌

This resource is referenced in Module 2 Lesson 3.

The concept of ecological unconsciousness
Kieszkowska, S. (2022, August 4). The concept of ecological unconsciousness. Naturally Balanced. https://naturallybalanced.org/en/the-concept-of-ecological-unconsciousness/

This resource is referenced in Module 2 Lesson 3.

‌

Animal-Assisted Therapy
Psychology Today. (2019). Animal-Assisted Therapy | Psychology Today. Psychology Today. https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/therapy-types/animal-assisted-therapy‌

This resource is referenced in Module 2 Lesson 3.

Body Politics
Body Politics | Encyclopedia.com. (2019). Encyclopedia.com. https://www.encyclopedia.com/social-sciences/encyclopedias-almanacs-transcripts-and-maps/body-politics‌

Encyclopedia.com
Body Politics | Encyclopedia.com. (2019). Encyclopedia.com. https://www.encyclopedia.com/social-sciences/encyclopedias-almanacs-transcripts-and-maps/body-politics

Ecopsychology: A Systems Psychology in Service of All Life
Royal Roads University. (2021, February 3). Ecopsychology: A Systems Psychology in Service of All Life [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iWNe3xrH1E

The video explains how ecopsychology views the human mind as an integral part of the natural systems, and how it emphasizes the importance of reconnecting with nature for mental and emotional well-being.

Lyford, C., & Wartski, S. (2022). Taking play therapy seriously.Psychotherapy Networker Magazine, 46(3), 32–52

Beck, D. E., Hebo, L. T., Solonin, S., Viljoen, R., Johns, T. Q., & Johns, T. Q. (2018). Spiral dynamics in action : Humanity's master code.

Henderson, R. S. (2009). Depth healing. Jung Journal, 3(4), 153–161

Fleischer, K. (2020). The symbol in the body: The un-doing of a dissociation through Embodied Active Imagination in Jungian analysis. Journal of Analytical Psychology, 65(3), 558–583

Bowers, V. L. (2020). Transpersonal psychology and mature happiness in the context of counseling. Counselling Psychology Quarterly, 33(4), 572–582

Videos

The body keeps score: Integration of mind, brain, and body in the treatment of trauma
The body keeps score: Integration of mind, brain, and body in the treatment of trauma. (2013). The Milton H. Erickson Foundation. https://video-alexanderstreet-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/p/oZAOr0npN

We will examine how neuroscience research has elucidated how, in the course of development, children learn to regulate their arousal systems and to focus on what is most relevant. We then will examine how trauma, abuse and neglect derail these processes and affect brain development. Since traumatic imprints are stored in subcortical brain areas and are largely divorced from verbal recall, a central focus needs to be to the somatic experiencing of trauma-related sensations and affects. These deep imprints are the engines for continuing maladaptive behaviors. Fixation on the trauma and learned helplessness require interventions aimed at restoring active mastery and the capacity to attend to the here-and-now. With the aid of videotaped demonstrations and experiential demonstrations of affect regulation techniques, we will examine the role of body-oriented therapies, neurofeedback, yoga, theater, IFS, and EMDR in resolving the traumatic past and discuss the integration of these approaches during different stages of treatment.

Resolving trauma in psychotherapy: A somatic approach
Resolving trauma in psychotherapy: A somatic approach. (2010). Psychotherapy.net. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https://www.psychotherapy.net/stream/national/video?vid=123

Watch a true master, Dr. Peter A. Levine, demonstrate a course of body-oriented trauma therapy in this extremely compelling and in-depth video with an Iraq Veteran diagnosed with severe PTSD.

Key Methodologies, Findings and Research Gaps in Ecopsychology | Dr. Katilyn Mascatelli
Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens. (2020, April 17). Key Methodologies, Findings and Research Gaps in Ecopsychology | Dr. Katilyn Mascatelli [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bl8fCa8z4Uc&t=9s

Integral Theory in Action by Sean Esbjörn-Hargens; Roger Walsh (Foreword by); Ken Wilber (Afterword by)
ISBN: 9781438433851
Publication Date: 2010-08-01

The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Transpersonal Psychology by Harris L. Friedman (Editor); Glenn Hartelius (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118591277
Publication Date: 2013-08-12

Module 2 Optional Resources

Videos

Trauma & the body: Sensorimotor psychotherapy
Trauma & the body: Sensorimotor psychotherapy. (2016). PESI. https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/trauma-the-body-sensorimotor-psychotherapy

In surviving trauma, individuals are left with a host of easily re-activated somatic responses and an inadequate memory record. Uncertain about what happened, trauma survivors interpret the somatic activation as data about “me:” “I am still not safe,” “I am worthless and unlovable.” Through the lens of these procedurally-learned, body-based responses, the traumatized individual makes meaning of all subsequent experience. In this recording with international trauma expert and author Janina Fisher, PhD, you will learn how to assess and make sense of trauma-based symptoms and how to apply neuro-biologically-informed treatment techniques drawn from Sensorimotor Psychotherapy, a body-oriented talking therapy. Sensorimotor Psychotherapy addresses trauma-related challenges such as Dysregulated autonomic arousal, Overwhelming effects and sensations, Intrusive images and memories, Impulsivity and acting out, Numbing, and disconnection, Sensorimotor Psychotherapy offers simple body-oriented techniques for addressing somatic responses and can be seamlessly integrated into traditional talking therapies.

Textbook

Touching the relational edge : Body psychotherapy
Rolef, B. A. (2014).Touching the relational edge : Body psychotherapy. Taylor & Francis Group. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nu/reader.action?docID=1637612&ppg=66

This is a comprehensive textbook that is available to you online in Somatic Psychotherapy. Please use this if there is a topic covered in the lesson that you would like to learn more about.

Article

10 Somatic Interventions Explained
10 Somatic Interventions Explained — Integrative Psychotherapy Mental Health Blog. (n.d.). Integrative Psychotherapy & Trauma Treatment. https://integrativepsych.co/new-blog/somatic-therapy-explained-methods‌

The enchanting forest and the healing sand: Nature therapy with people coping with psychiatric difficulties
Berger, R., & Tiry, M. (2012). The enchanting forest and the healing sand: Nature therapy with people coping with psychiatric difficulties. The Arts in Psychotherapy,39(5),412–416. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0197455612000330

This article will introduce ways in which the connection with nature, and non-verbal and creative work in nature, can empower adults coping with emotional and psychiatric difficulties. Relating to two sessions from a short-term Nature Therapy intervention group program in Israel, it will present Nature Therapy’s key elements and highlight possible connections with Drama and Art Therapy. The article will focus on creative and non-verbal processes and highlight their potential to support therapeutic processes originating in the right hemisphere – imagination, emotions and body.

The history and philosophy of ecological psychology
Lobo, L., Heras-Escribano, M., & Travieso, D. (2018). The history and philosophy of ecological psychology. Frontiers in Psychology, 9. https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpsyg.2018.02228

Ecological Psychology is an embodied, situated, and non-representational approach pioneered by J. J. Gibson and E. J. Gibson. This theory aims to offer a third way beyond cognitivism and behaviorism for understanding cognition. The theory started with the rejection of the premise of the poverty of the stimulus, the physicalist conception of the stimulus, and the passive character of the perceiver of mainstream theories of perception. On the contrary, the main principles of ecological psychology are the continuity of perception and action, the organism-environment system as unit of analysis, the study of affordances as the objects of perception, combined with an emphasis on perceptual learning and development. In this paper, first, we analyze the philosophical and psychological influences of ecological psychology: pragmatism, behaviorism, phenomenology, and Gestalt psychology. Second, we summarize the main concepts of the approach and their historical development following the academic biographies of the proponents. Finally, we highlight the most significant developments of this psychological tradition. We conclude that ecological psychology is one of the most innovative approaches in the psychological field, as it is reflected in its current influence in the contemporary embodied and situated cognitive sciences, where the notion of affordance and the work of E. J. Gibson and J. J. Gibson is considered as a historical antecedent.

A multicultural approach to ecopsychology
Anthony, & Soule, R. (1998). A Multicultural Approach to Ecopsychology. The Humanistic Psychologist, 26(1-3), 155–161. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/search/details/rv2wbmqmm5

<< Previous: Module 1

Next: Module 3 >>