Sridharan, M. (2020, February 4). Cornell method - A method to take great notes. Think Insights. Retrieved January 4, 2023, from https://thinkinsights.net/consulting/cornell-method-great-notes/
Read prior to reading the book chapters. In this course, you will be required to take notes on the book chapters you read. Please use the Cornell Method for taking notes. You will be required to submit the notes prior to taking the weekly knowledge check assessment.
Sadoski, M. (2004). Conceptual foundations of teaching reading. The Gilford Press.
Read the following chapters in the Sadoski text:
Chapter 4: What? The Fundamental Competencies of Reading
This chapter includes information about the foundational reading competencies, highlighting the necessary skills needed for individuals to become skilled readers.
Chapter 5: How? Part I: Basic Teaching and Learning Approaches
This chapter provides information about the basic techniques and learning approaches related to the fundamental reading competencies explored in Chapter 4. The focus of this chapter is on instructional strategies and processes for teaching learners how to read.
Mather, N., & Wendling, B. J. (2012). Essentials of dyslexia assessment and intervention. Wiley.
Read the following chapters in the Mather & Wending text:
Chapter 1: Understanding Dyslexia
This chapter provides an overview of what dyslexia is and information needed to assist in understanding the differences between general reading problems and dyslexia. Both the characteristics and prevalence of dyslexia are introduced and explored.
Chapter 2: A Brief History of Dyslexia
Expect to gain insight into the historical process of dyslexia and the timeline of the contributions toward dyslexia. Several of the early doctors who identified dyslexia are introduced in this chapter, and their contributions are highlighted.
Chapter 3: The Brain and Dyslexia
This chapter includes an exploration of brain function and the neural systems for reading. Brain structure is investigated and the abnormalities that are implicated with dyslexia are identified.
Chapter 4: Genetics and the Environment
In this chapter, you will examine the role that genetics plays in dyslexia. Comorbid conditions that are more likely connected with dyslexia are discussed. Environmental factors related to dyslexia are explored.
Ramus, F., Rosen, S., Dakin, S. C., Day, B. L., Castellote, J. M., White, S., & Frith, U. (2003). Theories of developmental dyslexia: Insights from a multiple case study of dyslexic adults. Brain, 126(4), 841-865.
Vukovic, R. K., & Siegel, L. S. (2006). The double-deficit hypothesis: A comprehensive analysis of the evidence. Journal of Learning Disabilities, 39(1), 25–47. https://doi.org/10.1177/00222194060390010401
Moats, L., & Tolman, C (2009). The development of phonological skills. Reading Rockets. https://www.readingrockets.org/article/development-phonological-skills
Videos
Why the Dyslexic Brain is Misunderstood (7:18)
Vox. (2023, March 21). Why the dyslexia brain is misunderstood [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yH5Ds4_0lO8
The video below includes a quick overview of dyslexia and explains the way a brain with dyslexia is developed. This video will explore the strengths and limitations that those with dyslexia have. The information gained in this video will build the foundation and understanding of dyslexia and how it impacts the learning of those who have dyslexia.
Surface Dyslexia (9:14)
Garforth Education. (2021, March 23). Surface dyslexia [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MUramtjxF7M
This video includes highlights of one type of dyslexia (surface dyslexia). Please note, this type of dyslexia also can be referred to as visual dyslexia, orthographic dyslexia, or dyseidetic dyslexia. This short video provides an understanding of surface dyslexia. In this field, you will be tasked with assessing students for dyslexia and understanding the differences between the different types of dyslexia.
Phonological Dyslexia (3:03)
Garforth Education. (2021, March 23). Phonological dyslexia [Video] YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M6FTexXAgLo
In this video, expect to gain insight into Phonological Dyslexia from leading experts in the fields of Cognitive Science and Educational Psychology.
6 Types of Dyslexia (7:29)
Learning Success. (2022, January 4). 6 types of dyslexia [Video ]. YouTube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ilELQlUBWto
This video includes an overview of several types of dyslexia and the different ways each type of dyslexia is referred to. This video is unique in that it includes several ways to consider dyslexia. In this course, you will focus on four types of dyslexia (surface, dysphonetic, rapid naming dyslexia, and double deficit dyslexia/mixed type) and less time devoted to exploring attentional dyslexia, and developmental neglect dyslexia.
Galles, E. (2023, May 19). Elementary School in Hutchinson sees success by embracing the ‘science of reading’ [Video]. ABC KSTP-TV. https://kstp.com/kstp-news/top-news/elementary-school-in-hutchinson-sees-success-by-embracing-the-science-of-reading/?utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook_KSTP-TV&fbclid=IwAR0F5dZ4vTnGlXcGMJLOQYBmA_iJP7-4sCoPIY-K_edvv1gBwfy6YxJCmYU_aem_th_AeFUjNTfftMODzenTcTYL4CZlDGbjkPa82Vs_L3vkubGpw_Rpb1dT66vgJicRbOx5xY&mibextid=Zxz2cZ
Watch this video to gain insight into a scientifically-based teaching method, the Science of Reading, comprised of research from the following fields: education, psychology, and neuroscience.
