LibGuides: CIS631: Module 3

Module 3 Required Resources

Textbook

Database Systems: Design, Implementation, and Management by Carlos Coronel; Steven Morris
ISBN: 9780357673034
Publication Date: 2022-12-30
Database skills are among the most in-demand IT skills. With its practical, accessible approach, this text equips you with a solid foundation in database design and implementation for today's market.
Coronel, C., & Morris, S. (2023). Database Systems: Design, Implementation and Management. Cengage.

Read:
- Chapter 10: Transaction Management and Concurrency Control
  - This chapter provides a detailed description of how data needs that require transactions are supported in a domain.
- Chapter 11: Database Performance Tuning and Query Optimization
  - This chapter is assigned to illustrate how the domain's data needs are ensured by tuning and query optimization.
- Chapter 12: Distributed Database Management Systems
  - This chapter provides how the data needs of a domain can be achieved using distributed databases.

Your course textbook can be accessed via the DART eBook link in the Getting Started module.

Harvard Business Review Case Study

To complete Assignment 6: Complete a Case Study (Implementing a Disciplined Database System for Efficient Tracking), you must purchase the case study from the Harvard Business Review website.

Foxcore Retail (A): Designing a Database Case Study
Neufeld, D., Corrigan, L., & Gencarelli, M. (2018, December 21). Foxcore Retail (A): Designing a Database. Harvard Business Review. https://store.hbr.org/product/foxcore-retail-a-designing-a-database/W18796