Skip to Main Content

ITI662: Linguistics: Academic Language: Journal Articles

Find Articles

Why use Articles?

Articles provide highly specific information on a topic and are often the first place where new research is discussed. Use discipline databases to find news, trade, professional, and academic articles. The articles published in scholarly, academic journals are often peer-reviewed.

What is Peer Review?

Peer-reviewed (refereed) articles are certified by experts in the field before they are accepted for publication.

Brief Glossary:

  •    Academic:  Refers to the audience of a publication
  •    Scholarly:   Refers to the audience of a publication
  •    Refereed:   Articles are monitored before publication
  •    Peer-Review:  "Blind review" by scholars and experts

  Check out these discipline-specific databases. Limiting to specific disciplines can often help narrow search results.

Link to video tutorials, how-to guides, and other user aids developed by our database providers.

  These multidisciplinary databases will find articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, magazines, trade journals, newspapers, etc.

  Related Databases

Here are some more specialized databases that you may be interested in:

Here are all education-related databases:

  Check out our helpful document delivery services for articles.

Constructing an Effective Search

  1. Begin with the BIG IDEA
  2. Focus on major subtopic 
  3. Narrow focus to problem: issues OR problems OR challenges OR barriers 

Use the following sample searches as a basis for developing your own customized searches.

To focus on your own research questions, modify by:

  • Population characteristic: second language, gifted, learning disabled, gender, cultural group, etc.
  • Subject area: science, mathematics, reading, etc.
  • Grade level: kindergarten, elementary, middle school, or high school
  • Possible outcomes: student attitudes, student motivation, achievement or rubrics

ejournal iconNeed an article from a specific journal? Use the box below to see if our library has the journal you're interested in.

Find e-journals by title or ISSN


Browse e-journals by title

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Browse e-journals by subject

Search Terms Synonyms

Teaching Methods

  • pedagog*
  • teaching methods
  • instructional strategies
  • learning strategies
  • study & teaching
  • learning modalities
  • instructional design

 

For more strategies, see the glossary by Kelly Jo Rowan: Glossary

Learning Disabilities

  • learning disab*
  • children with disabilities
  • behavior problems
  • dyslexi*
  • ADHD
  • slow learning children
  • auditory processing disorder
  • language processing disorder
  • executive functioning

Second Language

  • English Language Learners (ELL)
  • English Language Development (ELD)
  • English as a second language (ESL)
  • language acquisition
  • language instruction
  • English proficient
  • second language
  • limited English
  • bilingual education
  • bilinguals
  • multilingual
  • dual language
  • second language acquisition
  • foreign speakers
  • non-native speakers

Inclusion

  • inclusive education
  • mainstreaming
  • mainstream classroom
  • least restrictive environment
  • mixed ability grouping

Age, Gender, & Ethnicity

The following examples are terms that could be used to describe group identity, cultural identity, or reference group.

  • early childhood or preschool or young children
  • kindergarten students
  • elementary or primary school students
  • middle school or junior high or intermediate students
  • secondary or high school students
  • teen* or adolesc* or youth
  • boys or girls
  • LGBT students
  • Arab
  • African American or Black
  • Asian
  • Hispanic or Latino or Latina
  • Jewish

Research
Adding research terms to a search can help you find research-based articles and certain kinds of studies. Below are a few examples.

  • methods
  • methodology
  • research study
  • action research
  • case study
  • correlation
  • empirical
  • qualitative
  • quantitative
  • single subject

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to help you create a search string using Boolean search operators. Input your search terms, click the button, and then copy and paste the results into a database search box (e.g., SmartSearch).

  Concept 1 and Concept 2 and Concept 3
Name your concepts here    
Search terms Search terms Search terms
List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License.