This is a space for the teal alert bar.
This is a space for the yellow alert bar.
This is a space for the teal alert bar.
This is a space for the yellow alert bar.
Best Bet Databases
EBSCO and ProQuest provide access to online journals, magazines, newspapers, and e-books. They each have bundles of education and psychology databases you can use here to find academic articles.
Database Search Help
Access video tutorials, how-to guides, and other user aids developed by our database providers.
Why use Articles?
Articles provide highly specific information on a topic and are often the first place where new research is discussed. Use discipline databases to find news, trade, professional, and academic articles. The articles published in scholarly, academic journals are often peer-reviewed.
What is Peer Review?
Peer-reviewed (refereed) articles are certified by experts in the field before they are accepted for publication.
Primary Research
Primary research articles are original reports of new research findings. The best way to find an original (primary) research article is to use a library database. Here you will find materials not freely available on the web. Most databases let you limit your searches to articles from peer-reviewed journals published within a certain date range. You will still need to review each article to determine if the author(s) conducted an original study.
Smart Search
This tool great for searching across the Library for articles, books, videos, and journals quickly. You can limit your searches to peer-reviewed articles, but our education databases offer more search options and better coverage of education topics.
Document Delivery Services for Articles
Google Scholar
This web search engine can quickly lead you to scholarly literature. But keep in mind, results are not screened for quality and full text is not available for every result. To have Google Scholar search National University Library databases, you'll need to link your Google account to the library.
Follow the instructions below or watch this quick video to search the Library through Google Scholar!
1. In Google Scholar, go to the Settings.
2. Click "Library Links" on the left side.
3. Search for "NULS".
4. Check the box next to "National University - Get it@NULS" and click "Save".
5. Search results will now include links to materials in National University Library.
Accessing Library Materials Through Google Scholar
Learn how to setup Google Scholar to search the Web and the National University Library at the same time. (2:14)
Using Citations to Find Books and Articles
Have a citation and need to locate the full text? Find out how you can search for it. (3:33)
