PSY-5401 v1

American Psychological Association (2022). Industrial and organizational psychology.
This web-based resource provides a description of some of the topics commonly studied in the field of I/O psychology. This is also a helpful resource to explore to help students identify a topic for their Week 3 Assignment.

National University. (n.d.). Explore background information.
This NU resource describes the research process and provides tips for how to gather background information on a research topic. This is a helpful resource for the Week 3 Assignment.

National University. (n.d.). Explore books.
This NU resource explains how to use books in the research process and where to locate books in the NU library. This is a helpful resource for the Week 3 Assignment.

National University. (n.d.). Explore scholarly articles.
This NU resource explains the role of scholarly articles in the research process and how to locate scholarly articles via the NU library. This is a helpful resource for the Week 3 Assignment.

National University. (n.d.). Industrial/organizational psychology.
This NU library guide contains lists of I/O psychology resources (e.g., journals, books, specialized databases) available in the NU Library. This is a helpful resource for the Week 3 Assignment.

National University. (n.d.). Information literacy.
This NU resource describes the concept of information literacy and its importance in graduate education.

National University. (n.d.). Preparing to search.
Review the content in this section for tips on how to search for scholarly literature related to a research topic. Check out the Searching 101 and 102 Workshops for additional information.

National University. (n.d.). Scholarly and peer-review journals.
This NU resource explains the difference between scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles.

Rudolph, C. W., Allan, B., Clark, M., Hertel, G., Hirschi, A., Kunze, F., Shockley, K., Shoss, M., Sonnentag, S., & Zacher, H. (2021). Pandemics: Implications for research and practice in industrial and organizational psychology. Industrial and Organizational Psychology: Perspectives on Science and Practice, 14(1–2), 1–35.
Many of the historical accounts of I/O psychology available today were written pre-pandemic. This scholarly article describes the impact of pandemics on research and practice in I/O psychology. Review of this article is crucial to stay current with the organizational landscape within which I/O professionals work.

Bryan, L. (2017). History of industrial and organizational psychology in North America. In The SAGE Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, 2nd edition (Vol. 4, pp. 637-642). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc.
This encyclopedia entry shares a brief discussion of the history of I/O psychology in North America. It is important to review because it provides a description of how the field of I/O psychology has evolved and provides insight into where the field is going. This is also a helpful resource to explore to help students identify a topic for their Week 3 Assignment.

Leka, S., & Houdmont, J. (2010). Occupational health psychology [Electronic resource]. Wiley-Blackwell.
Students in the MS OHP specialization should review Chapter 1: An Introduction to Occupational Health Psychology for more information about the field of OHP.