LibGuides: BIL541AB: Module 4

Module 4 Required Resources

Textbook

For this module, read Chapter 3: Languages in Society. You may also find it helpful to review the following as you prepare for the Bilingual Teaching Resources assignment:

Glossary section (p. 571-585)
Critical Post-Structuralist Sociolinguistics (p. 98), especially the 11 principles of Critical Post-Structuralist Sociolinguistics
Chapter 9: Historical Introduction to Bilingual Education in the United States
Chapter 5: The Early Development of Bilingualism

Baker, C., & Wright, W. E. (2021). Foundations of Bilingual Education and Bilingualism. (7th ed.). Multilingual Matters. (https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nu/detail.action?docID=6940556)

Articles

Intercultural communication: Where we’ve been, where we’re going, issues we face
Croucher, S. M., Sommier, M., & Rahmani, D. (2015). Intercultural communication: Where we’ve been, where we’re going, issues we face. Communication Research and Practice, 1(1), 71–87. https://doi.org/10.1080/22041451.2015.1042422
This link provides a full description of how intercultural communication emerged from a type of communication between people from different cultural background and now it has emerged as a discipline field of study.

Additional Reading

Culturally sustaining pedagogy: An introduction
Chajed, A. (2020, February 12). Culturally sustaining pedagogy: An introduction. Center for the Professional Education of Teachers. http://cpet.tc.columbia.edu/8/post/2020/02/culturally-sustaining-pedagogy-an-introduction.html
This 6-minute read provides essential concepts of CSP (Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy). (Chajed, A. 2020). In addition to this information, check out the resources available in this blog!
Environments filled with safety and belonging
Learning Policy Institute. (2023). Environments filled with safety and belonging. https://k12.designprinciples.org/environments-filled-with-safety-and-belonging
This link provides Key Concepts of Environments filled with safety and belonging. The article includes key structures that foster safety and belonging such as brain base practices such as “consistent routines”; positive and asset base approaches for shared norms such as “dos” vs. “don’ts” based on punishments; restorative routines and settings to promote reflection and develop life skills fomenting explicit conflict resolution; inclusive settings promoting culturally affirming opportunities (The Forum for Youth Investmentet al., 2021)
Design principles for schools: Putting the science of learning and development into action
Darling-Hammond, L., Hernández, L. E., Schachner, A., Plasencia, S., Cantor, P., Theokas, C., & Tijerina, E. (2021). Design principles for schools: Putting the science of learning and development into action. Learning Policy Institute & Turnaround for Children. https://k12.designprinciples.org/sites/default/files/SoLD_Design_Principles_REPORT.pdf
Multilingual Parenting
Review: A Parents and Teachers Guide to Bilingualism. (n.d.). Multilingual Parenting. Retrieved September 12, 2023, from https://multilingualparenting.com/resources/book-reviews/review-parents-teachers-guide-bilingualism/
Anti-racist, trauma-informed teaching
Cordova-Cobo, D., & Cobo III, V. (2020, June). Anti-racist, trauma-informed teaching. https://sites.google.com/tc.columbia.edu/traumainformedteaching/home
This link will provide access to resources for teachers to better understand trauma-informed teaching through an anti-racist lens.
Latinos’ collectivism and self-disclosure in intercultural and intracultural friendships and acquaintanceships
Schwartz, A. L. (2009). Latinos’ collectivism and self-disclosure in intercultural and intracultural friendships and acquaintanceships [Utah State University]. https://digitalcommons.usu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1456&context=etd
Ethical and professional dilemmas for educators
Ethical and professional dilemmas for educators. (2021). Connecticut State Department of Education. https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/SDE/TEAM/Module_5_Scenarios_Facilitators_Guide_2021.pdf
This link provides a set of scenarios for educators to learn about the ethical dimensions of the teaching profession to avoid “public embarrassment and even license revocation, termination, criminal and civil liability. Highlights of these recourses include dealing justly and fairly with students, the importance of names, and recognizing and respecting the cultural backgrounds of all students: This will be a great resource for the signature assignment.
10 powerful community-building ideas
Minero, E. (2019, February 5). 10 powerful community-building ideas. Edutopia. https://www.edutopia.org/article/10-powerful-community-building-ideas/
This link will provide effective strategies to promote a linguistic inclusive community.
Creating linguistically inclusive classrooms
Jimenez, F. (2017, October 5). Creating linguistically inclusive classrooms. Inside Higher Ed. https://www.insidehighered.com/blogs/gradhacker/creating-linguistically-inclusive-classrooms
This link from Insider Higher Educator Blog provides evidence-based strategies for creating Linguistically Inclusive Classrooms.
Chapter 2: Language Acquisition Programs
Chapter 2: Language Acquisition Programs. (n.d.). Anaheim Elementary School District. Retrieved August 31, 2023, from https://anaheimelementary.org/emergent-bilingual-master-plan/chapter-2/
This link provides an example of a school district: Anaheim School District: Language Acquisition Programs. Take a look at the different programs offered at this district that exemplify best practices.

Videos

What’s the difference between Latino and Hispanic?
WonderWhy. (2015, September 30). What’s the difference between Latino and Hispanic? [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBt5rMD2aDc
This video examines the difference between the labels “Hispanic" and "Latino.”
Cross cultural communication
TEDx Talks (Director). (2014, October 21). Cross cultural communication | Pellegrino Riccardi | TEDxBergen [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMyofREc5Jk
This presentation by Pellegrino includes his insights into Crosscultural communication
Translanguaging as a theory of language by Prof Li Wei
ouhk ribilt. (2017, June 9). 2016/12/06 Translanguaging as a theory of language by Prof Li Wei [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnOx8GjPvj4
More on the pedagogical implications of translanguaging in everyday life.

Module 4 Optional Resources

Malleability, plasticity, and individuality: How children learn and develop in context
Cantor, P., Osher, D., Berg, J., Steyer, L., & Rose, T. (2019). Malleability, plasticity, and individuality: How children learn and develop in context. Applied Developmental Science, 23(4), 307–337. https://doi.org/10.1080/10888691.2017.1398649
Implications for educational practice of the science of learning and development
Darling-Hammond, L., Flook, L., Cook-Harvey, C., Barron, B., & Osher, D. (2020). Implications for educational practice of the science of learning and development. Applied Developmental Science, 24(2), 97–140.
Linguistically responsive teacher education: Preparing classroom teachers to teach English language learners
Lucas, T., Villegas, A. M., & Freedson-Gonzalez, M. (2008). Linguistically responsive teacher education: Preparing classroom teachers to teach English language learners. Journal of Teacher Education, 59(4), 361–373.
Drivers of human development: How relationships and context shape learning and development
Osher, D., Cantor, P., Berg, J., Steyer, L., & Rose, T. (2020). Drivers of human development: How relationships and context shape learning and development. Applied Developmental Science, 24(1), 6.
The enduring legacy: Structured inequality in America’s schools
Ryan, M. (2020). The enduring legacy: Structured inequality in America’s schools.
University of Michigan Press.
Top 5 benefits of bilingualism in the workplace
Spanish Academy TV. (2020, January 2). Top 5 benefits of bilingualism in the workplace [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SxogP-5_YMw
How travel opens your mind and your language defines who you are
How travel opens your mind and your language defines who you are [Video]. (n.d.). Big Think. Retrieved from https://bigthink.com/videos/yann-martel-breaking-down-language/