ISE440

Alexander, P. A. (2018). Past as prologue: Educational psychology’s legacy and progeny. ournal of Educational Psychology, 110(2), 147-162.
The legacies and progenies of the discipline of educational psychology are explored.

Mayer, R. E. (2018). Educational psychology’s past and future contributions to the science of learning, science of instruction, and science of assessment. Journal of Educational Psychology, 110(2), 174–179.
A thought-provoking analysis of the past and future of educational psychology.

This website includes the state’s revised plan from the Department of Education in California that ensures equitable access to great teachers for all learners.

Reform Support Network. (2015, February). State plans to ensure equitable access to excellent educators: Guidance and examples for states [PDF file].
This publication features information from public and private organizations and links to additional information created by those organizations. Inclusion of this information does not constitute an endorsement by the U.S. Department of Education of any products or services offered or views expressed, nor does the Department of Education control its accuracy, relevance, timeliness or completeness.

Ed.gov. (2024). Department of education equity action plan. US Department of Education.
Browse this webpage to learn more about the US Department of Ed's education equity action plan. Use links on the page to explore the most recent action plan and how the Department of Education plans to advance these efforts.

APA. (2024). Educational psychology promotes teaching and learning. American Psychological Association.
This website defines Educational Psychology and introduces different theorists and theories.

Cherry, K. (2023, November 8). What is educational psychology? Verywell Mind.
This website defines Educational Psychology and introduces different theorists and theories.

Schwarzenthal, M., Schachner, M. K., van de Vijver, F. R., & Juang, L. P. (2018). Equal but different: Effects of equality/inclusion and cultural pluralism on intergroup outcomes in multiethnic classrooms. Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology, 24(2), 260-271.
This article provided information regarding diversified classrooms.

Mcleod, S. (2024, January 24). Vygotsky's theory of cognitive development. SimplyPsychology.
This website provides an overview of Vygotsky's theory of cognitive development.

Mcleod, S. (2024, January 24). Piaget's theory and stages of cognitive development. SimplyPsychology.
This website provides an overview of Piaget's theory of cognitive development and compares his work with Vygotsky's theories.

Fletcher, P., & O'Toole, C. (2016). Language Development And Language Impairment: A Problem-based Introduction. Chichester, England: Wiley Blackwell.
Read Chapters 1, 2, and 3. It is recommended to also review Chapters 4, 5, and 6.

Newcombe, N. S. (2017). Cognitive Development In Comparative Perspective: Exploring The Role Of Language Acquisition In Spatial, Quantitative, And Memory Development. In J. Call, G. M. Burghardt, I. M. Pepperberg, C. T. Snowdon, T. Zentall, J. Call, ... T. Zentall (Eds.), APA handbook of comparative psychology: Basic concepts, methods, neural substrate, and behavior (pp. 403-425). Washington, DC, US: American Psychological Association. doi:10.1037/0000011-020
This source provides in-depth information pertaining to cognitive development.

Zobairi, N. P., & Piotrowski, N. P. (2013). Cognitive development. Salem Press Encyclopedia Of Science.
This source provides in-depth information pertaining to cognitive development.

Encyclopedia of Children’s Health. (2018). Cognitive development.
This website defines cognitive development along with providing a full description and discussion on Piaget’s theory.

Lemetyinen, H. (2023, September 7). Language acquisition theory. SimplyPsychology.
This website reviews some of the prevailing theories on language acquisition.