HSE620

Centers for Disease Control (2023) CDC Global Rapid Response Team. Retrieved from https://www.cdc.gov/globalhealth/healthprotection/errb/global-rrt.htm
The CDC Global Rapid Response Team (GRRT) is a unique resource that rapidly responds to global public health concerns, both within the U.S. and abroad. Since its inception in 2015, GRRT staff have spent over 99,819 person-days deployed in more than 2,447 total mobilizations. The GRRT addresses emergencies such as cholera, COVID-19, dengue, Ebola, hepatitis A, measles, polio, yellow fever, Zika, famine, mass gatherings, and natural disasters. It comprises a readily deployable team of public health experts coordinated from CDC Headquarters in Atlanta, Georgia, with dedicated full-time (core) staff. GRRT’s mission includes stopping health threats before they reach U.S. shores, providing long-term staffing for international emergency responses, and supporting partner countries in achieving core global health security capabilities

Cheatham, A., Roy, D., & Labrador, R. (2023, Oct 24). History of US disaster response engagement internationally. Council on Foreign Relations. Retried from https://www.cfr.org/backgrounder/us-disaster-relief-home-and-abroad
The U.S. government responds to dozens of disasters every year, both at home and abroad. The president declares either a major disaster or emergency, unlocking federal resources for state and local governments. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) coordinates Washington’s response on U.S. soil. Abroad, the U.S. government funds relief efforts by sending emergency responders and supplies, often transported by the U.S. military. USAID also deploys experts and contractors to help countries craft relief and recovery plans. The growing frequency and intensity of disasters pose new challenges for U.S. preparedness and relief efforts.

Congressional Research Service (2017) International Crises and Disasters: U.S. Humanitarian Assistance Response Mechanisms, CRS Report No. RL33769. https://fas.org/sgp/crs/row/RL33769.pdf
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) report titled “International Crises and Disasters: U.S. Humanitarian Assistance Response Mechanisms” examines U.S. humanitarian aid in international crises and disaster situations. It covers the sources and types of U.S. government assistance, response mechanisms of key agencies, and potential issues for Congress, including competing aid priorities and budget trends.

Department of Defense (2021, June 30) Department of Defense Support to Foreign Disaster Relief Handbook for Responding Forces. Retrieved from https://www.cfe-dmha.org/Publications/DOD-Support-to-Foreign-Disaster-Relief
The Department of Defense Support to Foreign Disaster Relief Handbook for Responding Forces” is a quick reference guide for U.S. military members participating in Foreign Disaster Relief (FDR) missions in permissive environments where the country still has a functioning government. It covers logistics, sealift and airlift, material handling, engineer assessments, search and rescue, and medical support. The handbook reviews past operations and highlights the evolving U.S. and international systems for disaster response. It’s intended for operational-level commands like Joint Task Forces and tactical organizations executing FDR missions

Department of Defense (2023, Sept 28) FY 2024 Comprehensive Oversight Plan for Overseas Contingency Operations Retrieved from https://www.dodig.mil/Reports/Lead-Inspector-General-Reports/Article/3541006/fy-2024-comprehensive-oversight-plan-for-overseas-contingency-operations/
The FY 2024 Comprehensive Oversight Plan for Overseas Contingency Operations outlines oversight activities for two key missions: Operation Inherent Resolve (OIR) and Operation Enduring Sentinel (OES). OIR focuses on advising, assisting, and enabling partner forces to defeat ISIS in Iraq and designated areas of Syria. OES involves over-the-horizon counterterrorism operations against threats from Afghanistan and engagement with regional partners. The plan includes 97 ongoing and planned oversight projects for FY 2024, enhancing transparency and effectiveness in these operations.

Defense Security Cooperation Agency (2021) Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief. Retrieved from https://www.dsca.mil/50th-anniversary/humanitarian-assistance-and-disaster-relief
The Defense Security Cooperation Agency (DSCA) oversees and manages the Department of Defense (DoD) Humanitarian Assistance (HA) activities. These efforts aim to alleviate human suffering, combat disease, and address hunger. In Fiscal Year 2021, the DoD executed $2.21 billion in worldwide HA programs, funded through the Overseas Humanitarian, Disaster, and Civic Aid (OHDACA) appropriation. The OHDACA supports partner nations in providing essential humanitarian services and reducing reliance on international disaster relief assistance.

Department of Homeland Security. (2024) International Partnerships. Retrieved from https://www.dhs.gov/science-and-technology/st-icpo
This reference highlights that the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) actively engages in international partnerships to strengthen global health security. Over the past three years, they have doubled their direct collaboration with 50 countries, enhancing their ability to prevent, detect, and control outbreaks. Additionally, they are supporting an additional 50 countries to save lives and minimize economic losses. These efforts emphasize capacity-building and containment at the source, ultimately protecting people worldwide.

FEMA (2024) FEMA International Affairs Division. Retrieved from https://www.fema.gov/about/offices/policy-program/international-affairs
This reference highlights the FEMA International Affairs Division (IAD) defines and manages international partnerships to enhance the Agency’s disaster readiness, strengthen regional, hemispheric, and global emergency management capabilities, and support U.S. Government homeland security priorities.

FEMA (2020, July) International Assistance System Concept of Operations. Retrieved from https://www.fema.gov/sites/default/files/documents/fema_ias-conops-2022.pdf
The International Assistance System Concept of Operations (IAS CONOPS) was developed by a multi-agency work group led by FEMA and the Department of State. Approved by the Homeland Security Council, it outlines procedures for handling inbound international aid during domestic disasters. The IAS CONOPS ensures effective coordination, communication, and acceptance of international assistance offers, addressing gaps identified after Hurricane Katrina in 2005.

FEMA (2024) Disaster Declaration Process. Retrieved from https://www.fema.gov/pdf/media/factsheets/dad_disaster_declaration.pdf
This reference highlights the disaster declaration process begins with a state or tribal request, triggered when a disaster exceeds their capacity to respond. It culminates with the President declaring an emergency or major disaster, which allows federal agencies to allocate personnel and funding to impacted communities. This process is codified in the Stafford Act.

Health and Human Services (2022, July 22) HHS Strengthens Country’s Preparedness for Health Emergencies, Announces Administration for Strategic Preparedness and Response (ASPR). Retrieved from https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2022/07/22/hhs-strengthens-countrys-preparedness-health-emergencies-announces-administration-for-strategic-preparedness-response.html
On July 22, 2022, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) elevated the existing Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) to an operating division. It now operates under the new name of the Administration for Strategic Preparedness and Response (ASPR). This change strengthens the country’s preparedness for health emergencies by allowing ASPR to mobilize a coordinated national response more effectively during future disasters and emergencies. While the transition will be phased in over the next one to two years, it positions ASPR alongside other HHS agencies, enhancing its administrative capabilities.

Hess, Ann-Jinette (2023, Dec 1) USAID AND USCG PARTNERSHIP: HUMANITARIAN RESPONSE AND AID. Retrieved from https://borgenproject.org/usaid-and-uscg-partnership/
On November 8, 2023, the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) announced a new partnership with the United States Coast Guard (USCG). This collaboration aims to support humanitarian response and aid to countries affected by natural disasters. By leveraging USCG’s unique capabilities, including search and rescue, this partnership enhances the U.S. government’s ability to provide critical, life-saving assistance to vulnerable populations worldwide.

International Crises and Disasters: U.S. Humanitarian Assistance Response Mechanisms, CRS Report No. RL33769 (Washington, DC: Congressional Research Service, 2015), https://fas.org/sgp/crs/row/RL33769.pdf
This Congressional Research Service (CRS) report examines U.S. humanitarian aid in international crises and disaster situations. It covers the sources and types of U.S. government assistance, response mechanisms of key agencies, and potential issues for Congress, including competing aid priorities and budget trends.

Irwin, J (2017). Connected by Calamity: The United States, the League of Red Cross Societies, and Transnational Disaster Assistance after the First World War,” Moving the Social: Journal of Social History and the History of Social Movements, 57 (2017), 57–76. Retrieved from https://moving-the-social.ub.rub.de/index.php/MTS/article/view/7436
In her article researcher Julia Irwin analyzes the development of organized relief for global natural disasters between 1919 and 1932. The article explores two concurrent humanitarian narratives: the emergence of the United States as a key figure in global disaster relief, and the rise of the League of Red Cross Societies as a leading institution for voluntary transnational disaster assistance during the interwar years.

Olson, R. (2005) The Office of U.S. Foreign Disaster Assistance (OFDA) of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID): A Critical Juncture Analysis, 1964–2003. Retrieved from https://www.usaid.gov/sites/default/files/2022-05/OFDA_Fact_Sheet.pdf
Richard Stuart Olson’s analysis titled “The Office of U.S. Foreign Disaster Assistance (OFDA) of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID): A Critical Juncture Analysis, 1964-2003” examines the origins and evolution of OFDA. Founded in 1964, OFDA emerged from internal coordination challenges during disaster responses. Key junctures include congressional mandates, regional teams, and institutionalization. The report highlights OFDA’s role in U.S. foreign policy and its enduring impact on humanitarian assistance.

Thompson, E. (2024, Jan 12) Canadian customs officers could soon be based in the U.S. for the first time. Retrieved from https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/canada-u-s-border-preclearance-1.7081019
This article highlights Canadian customs officials working at U.S. border patrol stations. This marks a historic shift. A two-year pilot project began at the Covey Hill/Cannon Corners crossing between Quebec and New York State. Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) officers will collaborate with their U.S. counterparts at the American border post, about 200 meters from the Canadian side. This further highlights the global nature of homeland security operations.

USAID (2024) Integration with Response and Recovery. Retrieved from https://www.usaid.gov/working-crises-and-conflict/disaster-risk-reduction/integration-response-and-recovery
USAID integrates disaster risk reduction into humanitarian response, early recovery, and transition programs. By doing so, they strengthen the resilience of populations vulnerable to recurrent disasters. This approach not only meets immediate needs but also empowers people to cope during future crises. Addressing underlying causes, investing in capacities, and emphasizing prevention contribute to reducing disaster impact and cost over time.

https://www.news.uscg.mil/Press-Releases/Article/3584428/us-coast-guard-usaid-co-sign-memorandum-of-understanding/
On November 8, 2023, the U.S. Coast Guard and USAID signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU). This collaboration aims to enhance coordination and cooperation in disaster response and humanitarian assistance efforts. The MoU strengthens their joint capacity to provide critical aid during emergencies and crises.

Irwin, J. (2023) The origins of U.S Foreign Disaster Assistance. Organization of American Historians.
Researcher Julia Irwin traces the rise of U.S. disaster aid as a tool of foreign policy. She explores how and why the U.S. foreign policy establishment began contributing aid to survivors of international catastrophes. The U.S. government’s gradual entrance into international disaster aid closely paralleled its growth as a global economic, political, and military power. Irwin delves into the historical origins of U.S. involvement in disaster assistance, highlighting evolving diplomatic aims, economic calculations, and moral considerations.

U.S. Southern Command (2024) Foreign Disaster Relief Retrieved from https://www.southcom.mil/Commanders-Priorities/Strengthen-Partnerships/Foreign-Disaster-Relief/
This article highlights that U.S. Southern Command.plays a critical role in foreign disaster relief efforts. It coordinates military assistance, humanitarian aid, and disaster response in the Southern Hemisphere. Its mission includes providing relief during natural disasters, supporting partner nations, and enhancing regional resilience.

Atlantic Council (2021, June 8) Avoiding the next transatlantic security crisis: The looming clash over Passenger Name Record data. Video: https://www.atlanticcouncil.org/event/avoiding-the-next-transatlantic-security-crisis-the-looming-clash-over-passenger-name-record-data/
With transatlantic air travel poised to recover from the COVID-19 pandemic, a linchpin aviation security agreement between the United States and the European Union on passenger name record (PNR) data is under threat in Brussels and in need of senior-level attention from policy makers.

CBS News (2023, May15) What is Title 8, and what has changed along the U.S.-Mexico border after Title 42's expiration? Retrieved from https://www.cbsnews.com/news/what-is-title-8-immigration-law-vs-title-42-border-policy/
This article highlighted that The expiration of the Title 42 pandemic emergency rules along the U.S.-Mexico border on May 11 means that all migrants and asylum-seekers who reach American soil need to be processed under Title 8, a set of complex and decades-old immigration laws. Unlike Title 42, Title 8 allows for initial asylum interviews, but the Biden administration has made it more difficult for migrants to qualify for asylum and easier for the government to deport them.

Cooper, E. (2024, April 17) MRS '24 - Panel 5: Identifying Risk, Measuring Success in the "Gray Zone". Marinelink.com Retrieved from https://www.marinelink.com/news/mrs-panel-identifying-risk-measuring-513026
The 2024 Maritime Risk Symposium was held at the Naval Postgraduate School. Panel 5, of this event focused on understanding maritime risk amidst gray zone conflict. The panel investigated how to identify and categorize gray zone activities, considering their risk and impact. Participants discussed responses using national power and international cooperation. Homeland Security engagement is part of this issue.

Mayorkas, (2023, April 21 ) Secretary’s Remarks. Retrieved from https://www.dhs.gov/news/2023/04/21/2023-state-homeland-security-remarks-tackling-evolving-threat-landscape-homeland
On 21 April 2023, at an address at the Council on Foreign Relations, Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas highlighted the evolving threat landscape. He emphasized the shift from a counterterrorism focus to a complex environment that includes cyberattacks, domestic extremism, and the COVID-19 pandemic.

Government Accountability Office (2023, March 2) The Rising Threat of Domestic Terrorism in the U.S. and Federal Efforts to Combat It. Retrieved from https://www.gao.gov/blog/rising-threat-domestic-terrorism-u.s.-and-federal-efforts-combat-it
According to the G.A.O. domestic terrorism incidents in the U.S. have been increasing. Between 2010 and 2021, there were 231 incidents, with racially- or ethnically-motivated attacks being the most lethal. The FBI leads investigations and the Department of Homeland Security tracks incidents and shares intelligence to address the rising threat.

Hennigan, W. (2023, May 2). Biden Sending 1,500 Troops to Southern Border Ahead of Expected Migration Surge
Retrieved from https://time.com/6276438/biden-troops-border-title42/
This article highlighted The Biden Administration decision to send 1,500 troops to the southern border of the U.S. to support immigration authorities facing tens of thousands of migrants expected to surge into the country once COVID-19 restrictions are lifted. These troops assisted Customs and Border Patrol (CBP) by performing support duties, such as ground-based detection and monitoring, data entry, and warehouse support.

Tritten, T. (2023, May 2) Pentagon Sends 1,500 Active-Duty Troops to Border as Pandemic Immigration Restrictions End. Retrieved from https://www.military.com/daily-news/2023/05/02/1500-troops-head-southwest-border-us-braces-migrant-surge.html
The Pentagon deployed 1,500 active-duty troops to the U.S.-Mexico border as pandemic-era restrictions expire. These troops will assist with monitoring, data entry, and warehouse duties, but will not engage in law enforcement activities. The deployment addressed an expected surge in migrants and asylum seekers.

U.S. Code (2024) U.S. Code Title 8. Retrieved from https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/8
Title 8 of the U.S. Code covers aliens and nationality. It encompasses provisions related to immigration, civil rights, alien ownership of land, and more. The code defines terms and outlines regulations governing various aspects of immigration and citizenship.

Warrick, T. & Durkovich, C. (2020, Sept 9) Future of DHS Project: Full report. Atlantic Council. Retrieved from https://www.atlanticcouncil.org/content-series/future-of-dhs/future-of-dhs-project-final-report/
The Future of DHS Project report emphasizes the need for the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to refocus its mission. It must address major nonmilitary threats such as infectious diseases, cyber threats, election security, and climate change. The report calls for modernizing public-private partnerships and improving morale within DHS.