ID-8940 v1

Amato, L. M. (2023). Quality matters as the gold standard for accessibility, diversity, and inclusion in online learning. In J. Keengwe (Ed.), Handbook of Research on Innovative Frameworks and Inclusive Models for Online Learning (pp. 89-108). IGI Global. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-6684-9072-3.ch005

• The COVID-19 pandemic highlighted the inadequacies of online courses in addressing accessibility, diversity, and inclusion. This chapter introduces the Quality Matters (QM) process as the gold standard for online course assessment, emphasizing its theoretical grounding and practical use of rubrics modeled on Universal Design for Learning (UDL) to enhance course quality and meet student demands for inclusivity.

Gamrat, C., Tiwari, S., & Bekiroglu, S.O. (2022, March 10). Inclusive ADDIE: Initial Considerations for DEI Pedagogy. EDUCAUSE Review.

• This article introduces the Inclusive ADDIE model created to extend the popularity of the ADDIE model and support faculty and instructional designers as they focus on the needs of an increasingly diverse student body. Also included in this article is a series of design considerations intended to support DEI in higher education courses. The suggestions are intended to be broad and useful to a variety of disciplines of study.

Visser, C., Illyas, H., & Sohal, A. (2024). Web content accessibility guidelines.

• This is a complete guide to the WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) in 2024.

University of Cambridge (2017). Inclusive design toolkit.

• You are encouraged to familiarize yourself with and mark this resource for future access in Weeks 7 and 8.

Holmes, K. (2017, May 3). #13, PREVIEW 1 – What is inclusive design? [Video]. YouTube.

• Kat Holmes was most recently Microsoft's Principal Director for Inclusive Design. In this preview, she explains what inclusive design is and how we can apply its principles to our work every day.

CAST. (2024a). About Universal Design for Learning.

• You are encouraged to familiarize yourself with and mark this resource for future access in Weeks 7 and 8.

Adobe. (2024). Accessibility Checkers in Adobe and Microsoft.

• You are encouraged to familiarize yourself with and mark this resource for future access in Weeks 7 and 8.

Edmonds, G. S., Branch, R. C., & Mukherjee, P. (1994). A Conceptual Framework for Comparing Instructional Design Models. Educational Technology Research and Development, 42 (4), 55–72. http://www.jstor.org/stable/30220096

• Instructional design (ID) professionals often use models to guide their practice, but selecting a specific model for a given situation can be unclear. As instructional design has expanded into new contexts with a variety of approaches, a new framework is needed to evaluate the potential success of different models, providing a tool to match the most appropriate one to the learning scenario.

Dodd, B. (2015, Oct 1). Creating learning environment models. [Video] YouTube.

• You are encouraged to familiarize yourself with and mark this resource for future access in Weeks 7 and 8.

Dodd, B. (2015, Oct 1). Creating learning environment models – example. [Video] YouTube.

• You are encouraged to familiarize yourself with and mark this resource for future access in Weeks 7 and 8.

Lydia Kyei-Blankson, Jared Keengwe, & Esther Ntuli. (2024). Designing equitable and accessible online learning environments. Information Science Reference.

• Chapters 9 and 10 in this resource offer insights about and evidence-based strategies for promoting equity and inclusivity in instructional design.

Verywell Health. (n.d.). Designing for those who are color blind.

• You are encouraged to familiarize yourself with and mark this resource for future access in Weeks 7 and 8.

WIDA Consortium (2013). Developing a culturally and linguistically responsive approach to response to instruction & intervention (RtI²) for english language learners. Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System.

• The Culturally Responsive Teaching Checklist by WIDA focuses on whether materials are culturally inclusive and relevant to multilingual learners. It provides practical prompts to ensure that cultural references, imagery, language, and examples are inclusive and appropriate.

Guo, C. & Mahat, M. (2023). Digital technology affordances in hybrid learning environments. In P. Escudeiro, N. Escudeiro, & O. Bernardes (Eds.), Handbook of Research on Implementing Inclusive Educational Models and Technologies for Equity and Diversity (pp. 273-296). IGI Global. https://doi.org/10.4018/979-8-3693-0453-2.ch014

• This chapter discusses the role of digital technology as a key factor in designing hybrid learning environments in higher education, while acknowledging that the potential of these technologies is not fully understood by educators and learners. It introduces a conceptual framework linking educational digital technology, its affordances, and hybrid learning to explore these connections more effectively, concluding with implications for enhancing design practices and student outcomes.

Mancilla, R., & Frey, B. A. (2023). Guide to digital accessibility: Policies, practices, and professional development (1st ed.). Routledge.

• There are multiple chapters throughout this book to help inform understanding and awareness of tools and techniques for evaluating instructional designs for accessibility and inclusiveness.

Escudeiro, P., Escudeiro, N., & Bernardes, O. (Eds.). (2023). Handbook of Research on Implementing Inclusive Educational Models and Technologies for Equity and Diversity. IGI Global. https://doi.org/10.4018/979-8-3693-0453-2

• The book provides a comprehensive overview of academic work, empirical research, and relevant topics such as mobile and blended learning, instructional strategies, and the inclusion of ethical concerns like accessibility. By facilitating research and advancing the understanding of inclusion and equity in education, it contributes to developing strategies for creating inclusive educational environments that leverage digital technologies.

Keengwe, J. (Ed.). (2023). Handbook of Research on Innovative Frameworks and Inclusive Models for Online Learning. IGI Global. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-6684-9072-3

• The Handbook of Research on Innovative Frameworks and Inclusive Models for Online Learning, edited by Jared Keengwe, offers academic scholars diverse frameworks derived from empirical studies, literature reviews, and case studies focused on inclusive online learning models. Covering topics like pedagogical theories, adaptations to online teaching, and best practices in course design, it serves as a valuable resource for professionals involved in research, instructional design, and the development of effective online learning environments.

Microsoft. (n.d.). Improve Accessibility with the Accessibility Checker.

• You are encouraged to familiarize yourself with and mark this resource for future access in Weeks 7 and 8.

American Psychological Association (2024). Inclusive language guidelines from ADA Inclusive language guide. APA.

• You are encouraged to familiarize yourself with and mark this resource for future access in Weeks 7 and 8.

Young, P. A. (2009). Instructional design frameworks and intercultural models. IGI Global Education eBook Collection 2000-2013.

• This book offers ID practitioners and researchers frameworks for integrating culture into design along with practical applications for the construction of user interfaces, products, services, and other online environments useful in the development of culture-based designs.

Abuhassna, H., & Alnawajha, S. (2023). Instructional Design Made Easy! Instructional Design Models, Categories, Frameworks, Educational Context, and Recommendations for Future Work. European Journal of Investigation in Health, Psychology and Education (EJIHPE), 13 (4). https://doi.org/10.3390/ejihpe13040054

• Course designers often face challenges in integrating online settings effectively, and instructional design (ID) has been pivotal in facilitating the pedagogical transformation needed for this shift. However, many instructors find ID models complex, and further research is recommended to enhance ID frameworks by including a broader range of models, more educational contexts, and insights into the roles of instructors, designers, and students.

New York University (2024). The Metropolitan Center for Research on Equity and the Transformation of Schools Culturally Responsive Curriculum Scorecards.

• The Culturally Responsive Curriculum Scorecard by the Metropolitan Center for Research on Equity and the Transformation of Schools evaluates materials based on how they incorporate diverse perspectives, historical accuracy, and cultural inclusivity. It guides instructional designers to assess materials based on diversity, equity, inclusion, and culturally relevant pedagogy.

Xie, J., Ferguson, Y., A, G., Rice, M., & Nichols, M. (2024). Modification and evaluation of an open-source rubric guiding inclusive design. Distance Education, 1–23. https://doi.org/10.1080/01587919.2024.2383227

• This study aimed to enhance the OpenSUNY Course Quality Review (OSCQR) rubric by incorporating inclusive practices, guided by the Universal Design for Learning framework and the inclusive ADDIE model. Findings revealed a consensus between instructional designers and faculty on the revised rubric’s focus on diversity, equity, and inclusion, with implications for future course design research and practice.

Kourouma, Mathieu & Warren, Ratana & Jackson, Lynette & Atkins-Ball, Deidra & Dora, Raven & Lker, Aimar. (2022). Multimodal course design and implementation using LEML and LMS for instructional alignment. International Journal of Managing Information Technology. 14( 3). 1-21. 10.5121/ijmit.2022.14301.

• Using the Learning Environment Modeling Language (LEML), we investigate the design and implementation of courses for delivery in the following environments: face-to-face, online synchronous, asynchronous, hybrid, and hyflex. A good course design and implementation are key components of instructional alignment.

Dodd, B. (2015, May 20). Overview of learning environment modeling language (LEML). [Video] YouTube.

• Watch this video for a brief overview of Learning Environment Modeling Language (LEML).

Argyriadis, A., Paoullis, P., Samsari, E., & Argyriadi, A. (2023). Self-Assessment Inclusion Scale (SAIS): A tool for measuring inclusive competence and sensitivity. Perspectives in Education, 41 (4), 34–49. https://doi.org/10.38140/pie.v41i4.7294

• The research aimed to design and validate the Self-Assessment Inclusion Scale (SAIS) to evaluate inclusive competence among teachers in Greece and Cyprus. The study found that the SAIS scale is reliable and useful, with participants showing some awareness of their biases, although more effort is needed to create fully inclusive environments.

Blick, A. M., Brown, J. S., Nicandri, L., & Posthumus, L. (2023). Strategies for planning, developing, and implementing a heuristic for inclusive instructional design for higher education settings. In J. Keengwe (Ed.), Handbook of Research on Innovative Frameworks and Inclusive Models for Online Learning (pp. 147-171). IGI Global. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-6684-9072-3.ch008

• This chapter details the development of a framework designed to support inclusive course design through a heuristic for accessibility, equity, diversity, inclusion, and anti-racism. It describes the collaborative process behind creating the Western Washington University Teaching and Learning Cooperative Heuristic, offering instructional designers and faculty a tool for integrating inclusive practices in all teaching modalities.

Young, P. (2009). The Culture-Based Model Framework. IGI Global. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-60566-426-2.ch003

• The incorporation of culture in the design process is not a simple task. It is one with multiple layers of depth and complexity. But it is also not impossible. The chapter explains how CBM captures the nature of culture in design by providing designers with guidance in creating, replicating, modeling, planning, understanding, monitoring, researching, analyzing, integrating, enhancing, communicating, managing, and assessing culture in ICTs.

Thomas, M., Mitchell, M., & Joseph, R. (2002). The third dimension of ADDIE: A cultural embrace. TechTrends, 46 (2), 40–45. https://doi.org/10.1007/BF02772075

• The article explores the socio-cultural aspects of education, focusing on how researchers have defined culture and how instructional designers integrate it into the design process. It also contrasts systemic and systematic design, analyzing how the ADDIE instructional design model has incorporated considerations of culture in its various stages.

CAST. (2024b). UDL Guide.

• You are encouraged to familiarize yourself with and mark this resource for future access in Weeks 7 and 8.