LibGuides: CMP-9701DS v3: Lesson 5 Resources

Lesson 5 Required Resources

Templates

Dissertation Proposal and Dissertation Manuscript and Template and Guide
Use the SOTE-Data Science Prospectus Template as your guide to success. Throughout this course. It not only provides the formatting and layout, but it is also full of hints and tips to help you improve your work. Most importantly, it also helps you build your work to create a much better Prospectus at the end of the course. Another document is the blank document, “Prospectus,” to add your content for your Prospectus. Use it from Lesson 1 to Lesson 8.
Prospectus Template
This is the document with the formatting needed for your assignments in this course. Use it for every lesson assignment, building your Prospectus in Lessons 1 through 8. Another document, the SOTE-Data Science Prospectus Template, is your guide to success. Throughout this course, it provides the formatting and layout; it is also full of hints and tips to help you improve your work. Most importantly, it also helps you build your work to create a much better Prospectus at the end of the course.

Article

Research Methodology and Design
Research methodology and design. (n.d.). National Univeristy. https://resources.nu.edu/friendly.php?s=methods

The support areas of NU have good material, although you might want to consider Creswell and other sources from your research courses.

Videos

Data Science + Design Thinking: A Perfect Blend To Achieve the Best User Experience
Radwin, M. (2020). Data science + design thinking: A perfect blend to achieve the best user experience [Video]. O'Reilly Online Learning. https://go.oreilly.com/nationaluniversity/https://learning.oreilly.com/videos/data-science/0636920370871/0636920370871-video329150/?sso_link=yes&sso_link_from=nationaluniversity
Quantitative Research: Methods in the Social Sciences
Hummel-Rossi, B., Mcllwain, C., & Mattis, J. (Academics). (2006). Quantitative research: Methods in the social sciences [Video]. Sage Research Methods. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmethods.sagepub.com%2Fvideo%2Fquantitative-research-methods-in-the-social-sciences

This video works through a social sciences view of quantitative research.

Lesson 5 Recommended Resources

Please Review and Bookmark those resources as they will be proven valuable to your entire journey in research and completing your Dissertation.

Casual-Comparative Design
Brewer, E.W., & Kubn, J. (2010). Casual-comparative design. In Encyclopedia of Research Design, 0 125-131. SAGE Publications, Inc. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmethods.sagepub.com%2FReference%2Fencyc-of-research-design%2Fn42.xml
Correlation
Sheskin, D.J. (2010). Correlation. In Encyclopedia of Research Design, 0, 265-267. SAGE Publications, Inc. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmethods.sagepub.com%2Freference%2Fencyc-of-research-design%2Fn82.xml%3Fterm%3Dcorrelations
The SAGE Handbook of Digital Technology Research
Price, S., Jewitt, C., & Brown, B. (2013). The SAGE handbook of digital technology research. SAGE Research Methods.
While this book responds to many areas, it also includes constructive research details. Constructive research details will require you to search within the book (see the search box).
Sage Research Methods
Sage Research Methods. (n.d.). Sage. https://resources.nu.edu/sagerm

Use this resource to find answers to research methods and designs, including advanced topics and foundations. It also includes all the entries in the Research Methods Encyclopedia, a three-volume work released in 2010 with Niel Salkind as editor; all these separate entries are respected.

Lesson 5 Optional Resources

Articles

Building Consistency Between Title, Problem Statement, Purpose, & Research Questions To Improve the Quality of Research Plans and Reports
Covrig, D.M. (2013). Building consistency between title, problem statement, purpose, & research questions to improve the quality of research plans and reports. Wiley Online Library. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdoi.org%2F10.1002%2Fnha.20009

This article provides tips for building consistency between the title, problem statement, purpose, and research questions.
Design Research: Observing Critical Design
Swan, L., & Boehner, K. (2013). Design research: observing critical design. The SAGE Handbook of Digital Technology Research, 286-302. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmethods.sagepub.com%2Fbook%2Fthe-sage-handbook-of-digital-technology-research%2Fn20.xml

Design research is a vast area encompassing research into topics as diverse as design process, the cultural impacts of design and the use of design as a form of enquiry and intervention. In this chapter, we will look at how one provocative, inspirational, and at times contested, body of design research has emerged and what its potential lessons for digital technology and research practice might be.
Developing a Researchable Question
Developing a researchable question. (2017). Sage. https://methods.sagepub.com/project-planner/developing-a-researchable-question
Ethics in Research
Clark, K.R. (2019). Ethics in research. Radiologic Technology, 90(4), 394-397. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=ccm&AN=134820187&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
Introduction to Data Science: Types of Studies
Shedden, K. (n.d.). Intorduction to Data Science: Types of studies. University of Michigan. https://dept.stat.lsa.umich.edu/~kshedden/introds/topics/types_of_studies/
Introduction to Quantitative Research Methods
Bacon-Shone, J. (2022). Introduction to quantitive research methods. ResearchGate. https://www.researchgate.net/publication/265793712_Introduction_to_Quantitative_Research_Methods
Learner Modelled Environments
Porayska-Pomesta, K., & Ber nardini, S. (2013). Learner modelled environments. The SAGE Handbook of Digital Technology Research, 443-458. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmethods.sagepub.com%2Fbook%2Fthe-sage-handbook-of-digital-technology-research%2Fn30.xml
Online and Internet-Based Technologies: Social Networking
Young, K. (2013). Online and internet-based technologies: Social networking. The SAGE Handbook of Digital Technology Research, 427-442. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmethods.sagepub.com%2Fbook%2Fthe-sage-handbook-of-digital-technology-research%2Fn29.xml

This chapter examines the rise of second-generation Internet platforms, which enable social engagement via the Internet and specifically the ways in which online content created through social media provides insights into the lives of individuals and the transformation of communities and society, both locally and globally.
Projection, Place, and Point-of-View in Research Through Design
Dow, S., Ju, W., & Mackay, W. (2013). Projection, place, and point-of-view in research through design. The SAGE Handbook of Digital Technology Research, 266-285. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fmethods.sagepub.com%2Fbook%2Fthe-sage-handbook-of-digital-technology-research%2Fn19.xml
The Tech Industry Hijacking of the AI Ethics Research Agenda and Why We Should Reclaim It
Gerdes, A. (2022). The tech industry hijacking of the AI research agenda and why we should reclaim it. Disco Artif Intell, 2(25). https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Flink.springer.com%2Farticle%2F10.1007%2Fs44163-022-00043-3
Ten Research Challenge Areas in Data Science
Wing, J.M. (2020). Ten Research Challenge Areas in Data Science. HDSR. https://hdsr.mitpress.mit.edu/pub/d9j96ne4/release/3

Video

An Introduction to Quantitative Research
Dyce, J.A., & Williams, U. (producers). (2014). An introduction to quantitative research [Video]. Alexander Street. https://video.alexanderstreet.com/p/A6XpD7j47