LibGuides: CMP-9701DS v3: Lesson 6 Resources

Lesson 6 Required Resources

Search Engines

NIH
Scientific data sharing. (n.d.). NIH. https://sharing.nih.gov/

NIH hosts some of the world’s largest biomedical data repositories. Learn what datasets are available, how to access them, and how to use them responsibly.
Open Data Commons
Open Data Commons. (n.d.). Open Knowledge. https://opendatacommons.org/licenses/

Creative Commons is an international nonprofit organization that empowers people to grow and sustain the thriving commons of shared knowledge and culture we need to address the world's most pressing challenges and create a brighter future for all.

Lesson 6 Optional Resources

Please Review and Bookmark those resources as they will be proven valuable to your entire journey in research and completing your Dissertation.

Articles and Search Engines

Data
The home of the U.S. government's open data. (n.d.). Data. https://data.gov/

On May 21, 2009, Data.gov launched 47 datasets. After the landmark 2013 Open Data Policy required agencies to create comprehensive data inventories and public data listings, the site grew to 115,000+ datasets from 88 organizations by 2015. These requirements were enacted into the Open Government Data Act in 2019. Today, Data.gov is nearing 300,000 datasets and dataset collections in the catalog, harvested from over 100 organizations, and counts over a million monthly pageviews from people like you, looking to discover that information.
Data Access and Licensing
Data Access and Licensing. (n.d.). World Bank Group. https://datacatalog.worldbank.org/public-licenses
EUR-Lex
Eur-Lex. (n.d.). European Union. https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/reg/2016/679/oj

General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). (2016). Regulation (EU) 2016/679 of the European Parliament and of the Council. Very important resource if you will be working with data from Europe.

This Regulation is intended to contribute to the accomplishment of an area of freedom, security, and justice and of an economic union, to economic and social progress, to the strengthening and the convergence of the economies within the internal market, and to the well-being of natural persons.
European Data
European data. (n.d.). European Union. https://data.europa.eu/en

The Publications Office of the European Union is the official publishing services provider to all EU institutions, bodies, and agencies. As such, it is a central access point to EU law, publications, open data, research results, procurement notices and other official information.
Open Data Policy (M-13-13)
Open data policy (M-13-13). (n.d.). Digital. https://digital.gov/resources/open-data-policy-m-13-13/
Open Definition
Open definition. (n.d.). Open Knowledge. https://opendefinition.org/

The World Bank Group makes data publicly available according to open data standards and licenses datasets under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license (CC-BY 4.0). Many datasets are available under other licenses. They are labeled accordingly, and when users access them, they agree to comply with all terms of the respective licenses, as explained within.
Open Government Data Act
Public Law 115-435. (2019). U.S. Government. https://www.congress.gov/115/plaws/publ435/PLAW-115publ435.pdf

Lesson 6 Optional Resources

Data Resources

Academic Torrents
Academic Torrents. (n.d.). https://academictorrents.com/

A distributed system for sharing enormous datasets, fostering collaboration, and facilitating access to academic data and research materials.
BMIC Home
BMIC home. (n.d.). NIH. https://www.nlm.nih.gov/NIHbmic/index.html

A collection of repositories supported by NIH, aimed at promoting data sharing and advancing biomedical research.
Data Asset eXchange
Data asset eXchange. (n.d.). IBM Developer. https://developer.ibm.com/exchanges/data/

A platform providing access to curated datasets designed to help developers and data scientists build AI models and applications.
Data Excellence. Research Impact.
Data excellence. Research impact. (n.d.). ICPSR. https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/web/pages/

Provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, supporting data preservation and sharing.
Datasets
Datasets. (n.d.). Hugging Face. https://huggingface.co/datasets

A collection of ready-to-use datasets for machine learning and data science, covering a wide range of applications.
Dataset Search
Dataset search. (n.d.). Google. https://datasetsearch.research.google.com/

A tool that enables users to find datasets stored across the web, making data discovery easy and comprehensive.
DBpedia
Dpedia. (n.d.). https://www.dbpedia.org/

A crowd-sourced community effort to extract structured content from the information created in various Wikimedia projects.
Dryad
Dryad. (n.d.). https://datadryad.org/stash

An open-source repository for research data, providing a platform for researchers to publish and share datasets across various scientific disciplines.
European Data
European data. (n.d.). European Union. https://data.europa.eu/en

Provides access to a wide range of data from EU institutions and bodies, supporting transparency and enabling data reuse.
Figshare
Figshare. (n.d.). Figshare. https://figshare.com/

A repository where users can make all their research outputs available in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner.
A Global Clinical Research Data Sharing Platform
A global clinical research data sharing platform. (n.d.). Vivli. https://vivli.org/

An organization dedicated to sharing clinical research data globally, promoting transparency and collaboration in medical research.
The Global Health Observatory
The global health observatory. (n.d.). World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/data/gho

Provides access to health-related data, supporting global health research and policymaking.
Google Public Data Explorer
Google public data explorer. (n.d.). Google. https://www.google.com/publicdata/directory

Allows users to explore large public-interest datasets, visualize the data, and generate interactive charts and maps.
Harvard Dataverse
Dataverse. (n.d.). Harvard. https://dataverse.harvard.edu/

An open-source repository for sharing, citing, and preserving research data across all scientific disciplines.
IEEE Data Port
IEEE data port. (n.d.). IEEE. https://ieee-dataport.org/

A valuable resource for researchers, offering a repository for datasets in a variety of technical fields, enhancing data sharing and collaboration.
List of Datasets for Machine-Learning Research
List of datasets for machine-learning research. (n.d.). Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_datasets_for_machine-learning_research

This Wikipedia page provides a comprehensive list of datasets widely used in machine learning research, including descriptions and links to datasets across various domains such as computer vision, natural language processing, and more.
Nasdaq Data Link
Nasdaq data link. (n.d.). Nasdaq Data Link. https://data.nasdaq.com/institutional-investors

Provides financial and economic data, offering a comprehensive resource for market researchers and financial analysts.
NIH-Supported Data Sharing Resources: Domain Specific Repositories
NIH-Supported data sharing resources: Domain Specific Repositories. (n.d.). NIH. https://www.nlm.nih.gov/NIHbmic/domain_specific_repositories.html

Lists repositories specific to certain domains supported by NIH, facilitating data sharing and preservation within specialized fields.
NIH-Supported Data Sharing Resources: Generalist Repositories
NIH-Supported data sharing resources: Generalist repositories. (n.d.). NIH. https://www.nlm.nih.gov/NIHbmic/generalist_repositories.html

Provides a list of generalist repositories supported by NIH, designed for broad data sharing and accessibility across disciplines.
OSF
OSF. (n.d.). OSF Home. https://osf.io/

A platform to support researchers in managing their projects, sharing data, and collaborating openly with the global research community.
Our Data
Our data. (n.d.). Five Thirty Eight. https://data.fivethirtyeight.com/

Provides access to datasets used in FiveThirtyEight's data journalism articles, covering a wide range of topics including politics, sports, and science.
The Qualitative Data Repository
The qualitative data repository. (n.d.). Syracuse University. https://qdr.syr.edu/

Provides a repository for storing and sharing qualitative data, supporting researchers in the social sciences.
Recent Uploads
Recent uploads. (n.d.). Zenodo. https://zenodo.org/

An open-access repository developed by CERN, enabling researchers to share and preserve data and publications.
Registry of Open Data on AWS
Registry of open data on AWS. (n.d.). AWS. https://registry.opendata.aws/

Hosts a variety of public datasets, making it easier to find, access, and use open data in the AWS cloud.
Research Process: Datasets
Research process: Datasets. (n.d.). National University. https://resources.nu.edu/researchprocess/datasets

Provides a curated collection of datasets available through the National University Library, supporting research across various disciplines with access to high-quality, reliable data sources.
Share Your Research Data
Share your research data. (n.d.). Mendeley Data. https://data.mendeley.com/

An open-access data repository that enables researchers to make their data discoverable, shareable, and citable.
United States Census Bureau
United States Census Bureau. (n.d.). https://www.census.gov/data.html

The U.S. Census Bureau provides a vast array of demographic, economic, and social data about the United States, supporting research and policymaking across multiple sectors.