Please note, your primary textbook for this course can be purchased directly from the author/publisher via their website. This book is also available for purchase from retailers such as Amazon and eBay.
Assessment of Children Cognitive Foundations and Applications
ISBN: 978-0986149993
Sattler, J. M., (2024). Assessment of children cognitive foundations and applications (7th ed.) Sattler Publisher, Inc.
In this course, you will be required to take notes on the book chapters you read. Please use the Cornell Method for taking notes. You will be required to submit the notes prior to taking the weekly knowledge check assessment.
In the Sattler text read chapters:
Chapter 1: Challenges in Assessing Children: The Process (pp. 1-24)
Chapter 2: Challenges in Assessing Children: The Context (pp. 25-66)
Chapter 3: Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Children (pp. 67-111)
Chapter 1 includes information related to the foundational aspects of assessing children. This chapter includes information about the four pillars of assessment, guidelines around the assessment process, and the processes of multimethod assessment.
Chapter 2 includes strategies and considerations related to “labeling” children, variables one should consider when assessing children, the theories of multimethod assessment, and scoring and interpretation of computer-based administer assessments. This chapter also includes strategies to assist in becoming an effective assessor. This chapter can assist the reader in developing a more comprehensive understanding of the assessment process.
Chapter 3 includes a variety of aspects to consider when assessing culturally, linguistically, and diverse children. The process of assessing children who are bilingual includes considerations to ensure the data obtained measure cognitive skills and not English language acquisition. These considerations along with culturally-related aspects are explored in this chapter.
Assessment of Children Cognitive Foundations and Applications
ISBN: 978-0986149993
Sattler, J. M., (2024). Assessment of children cognitive foundations and applications (7th ed.) Sattler Publisher, Inc.
In this course, you will be required to take notes on the book chapters you read. Please use the Cornell Method for taking notes. You will be required to submit the notes prior to taking the weekly knowledge check assessment.
In the Sattler text read chapters:
Chapter 4: Role of the Evaluator in the Assessment Process (pp. 113-151)
Chapter 5: Historical Survey and Theories of Intelligence (pp. 153-186)
Chapter 7: Wechsler Preschool and Primary Scale of Intelligence-Fourth Edition (WPPSI-IV): Description (pp. 219-273)
Chapter 8: WISC-V Subtests (pp. 275-337)
Chapter 4 includes information related to the role of the assessor in the assessment process. This information will provide you with an understanding of what to expect during the assessment process, how to establish rapport with young people, and how to observe students. You will read about considerations for assessing children with special needs. Since assessment is a critical aspect of the role a school psychologist will play, this information will guide your practice and prepare you for assessing children, which you will do in this course.
Chapter 5 includes several theories related to intelligence and includes an overview of the field of school psychology from the 19th century to the current day. Understanding the history of the field and the theories of intelligence will equip you with the knowledge of what intelligence is, how we measure it, what it means, and to better be able to measure it.
Chapter 7 includes an overview of the first intelligence test we will explore, the Weschler Intelligence Scale for Children-Fifth Edition (WISC-V). You will learn about the standardization of this tool, and to intercorrelations from subtest scores to index scores.
Chapter 8 includes detailed descriptions of each subtest that makes up the intelligence test. You will explore the subtest descriptions in the text while exploring the WISC-V assessment instrument as you were provided access to this test kit on the first Saturday on-campus. You will learn how to administer each subtest and the factor analytic findings of each subtest and how it aligns with the CHC Theory (which you learned about in Chapter 5).
© Copyright 2025 National University. All Rights Reserved.