SE-5002 v1

Information Brief: Least Restrictive Environment (LRE). (n.d.).

• This document provides an introduction to the concept of Least Restrictive Environment in special education.

Kaler, L., Markham, J., & Jones, N. D. (2024). Service delivery models and outcomes for students with disabilities. Remedial & Special Education, 1. https://doi.org/10.1177/07419325241268747

• This article provides a systematic literature review of empirical studies examining the effectiveness of service delivery models for special education students.

Vembye, M. H., Weiss, F., & Hamilton Bhat, B. (2024). The effects of co-teaching and related collaborative models of instruction on student achievement: A systematic review and meta-Analysis. Review of Educational Research, 94 (3), 376–422. https://doi.org/10.3102/00346543231186588

• This article provides the results of a study examining the effective of collaborative models of instruction on student achievement.

Council for Exceptional Children. (2019, February 1). Common co-teaching challenges [Video]. YouTube.

• This resource describes some of the challenges of co-teaching and how to address them.

Maryland Coalition for Inclusive Education. (2021, September 8). Co-teaching explained [Video]. YouTube.

• This resource offers a brief explanation of Co-Teaching and provides an overview of five different models.

Education Strategies. (2016, January 28). Co-teaching at Revere High School [Video]. YouTube.

• In this resource, two high school teachers discuss how they use co-teaching to support students with disabilities.

UH Manoa Special Education. (2021, April 27). Resource and pullout SPEDucator [Video]. YouTube.

• This resource provides the perspectives of special education teachers from Hawaii as they explain how they deliver special education services to students.

Fletcher, J. M., Lyon, G. R., Fuchs, L. S., & Barnes, M. A. (2018). Learning disabilities: From identification to intervention. Guilford Publications.

• Read Chapter 5—Effective Instruction of Students with Learning Disabilities: A Multi-Tiered System of Support. This chapter describes how to deliver instruction to students identified with specific learning disabilities using MTSS

Hensley, K., & Huddle, S. (January/February 2023). UDL in special education. Principal Magazine.

• This article explains the application of UDL in educational settings with special education students.

Posey, A. (n.d.). Universal Design for Learning (UDL): A teacher’s guide.

• This document provides information on the application of Universal Design for Learning in classroom settings.

Craig, S. L., Smith, S. J., & Frey, B B. (2024). Universal Design for Learning: Connecting teacher implementation to student outcomes. International Journal of Inclusive Education, 28 (11), 2458–2474. https://doi.org/10.1080/13603116.2022.2113459

• This article presents the results of a study examining the relationship between teachers’ implementation of Universal Design for Learning and student performance on state-wide standardized tests.

Thomas, E. R., Lembke, E. S., & Gandhi, A. G. (2023). Universal Design for Learning within an integrated multitiered system of support. Learning Disabilities Research & Practice (Wiley-Blackwell), 38 (1), 57–69. https://doi.org/10.1111/ldrp.12302

• This article describes a mixed methods study that examined the integration of MTSS and UDL practices to support students.

Barrett, C. A., & Newman, D. S. (2018). Examining MTSS implementation across systems for SLD identification: A case study. School Psychology Forum, 12 (1), 30–43.

• This article provides a case study of how MTSS was used to identify SLD in a one school district.

The Goal of UDL: Learner Agency. (n.d.).

• This resource describes how Universal Design for Learning facilitates learner agency.

Brownell, M. T., Ciullo, S., & Kennedy, M. J. (2021). High-Leverage Practices: Teaching students with disabilities--and all students who need a learning boost. American Educator, 44 (4), 12–19.

• This resource identifies the 22 high-leverage practices that improve instruction for all students in general and students with specific disabilities in particular.

McLeskey, J., Billingsley, B., Brownell, M. T., Maheady, L., & Lewis, T. J. (2019). What are high-leverage practices for special education teachers and why are they important? Remedial and Special Education, 40 (6), 331–337. https://doi.org/10.1177/0741932518773477

• This resource describes the high-leverage practices identified by the Council for Education children that identify core instructional support for students with disabilities.

Evidence-Based Practice Summaries. IRIS Center. (n.d.).

• This resource provides a compilation of evidence-based practice summaries for students with disabilities, along with the research on effectiveness.

High-Leverage Practices. IRIS Center. (n.d.).

• This resource provides a concise explanation and visual of the 22 high-leverage practices identified by the Council for Exceptional Children and CEEDAR Center.

Successful Strategies for Teaching Students with Learning Disabilities. Learning Disabilities Association of America. (n.d.).

• This resources provides a brief summary of the most effective intervention practices for students with learning disabilities.

What Works Clearinghouse. Institute for Education Sciences National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance. (n.d.).

• This resource provides a database of research-based interventions for students with a variety of educational needs.

Lemons, C. J., Vaughn, S., Wexler, J., Kearns, D. M., & Sinclair, A. C. (2018). Envisioning an improved continuum of special education services for students with learning disabilities: Considering intervention Intensity. Learning Disabilities Research & Practice (Wiley-Blackwell), 33 (3), 131–143. https://doi.org/10.1111/ldrp.12173

• This resource provides a discussion of how a continuum of special education service models can better aligned to meet the needs of students with more individualized, data-driven, and intensive interventions.

Cook, B., & Farley, C. (2019). The research-to-practice gap in special education. In D. F. Bateman, & M. L. Yell (Eds.), Current trends and legal issues in special education (pp. 110-125). Corwin.

• This resource identifies some of the barriers in implementing research-based practices for special education students in school settings.

Council for Exceptional Children and CEEDAR Center (2024). High leverage practices for students with disabilities. 2nd Ed. Virginia.

• This text provides a comprehensive review of high-leverage instructional practices for students with disabilities.

High-Leverage Practices for Students with Disabilities. (n.d.).

• This resource provides a concise overview of high-leverage practices for students with disabilities.

The Goal of UDL: Learner Agency. (n.d.).

• This resource describes how Universal Design for Learning facilitates learner agency.