LibGuides: CMP-9601CJ v4: Module 1 Resources

Lesson 1 Required Resources

Readings and Videos

Framework of Problem-Based Research: A Guide for Novice Researchers on the Development of a Research-Worthy Problem
Ellis, T. J., & Levy, Y. (2008). Framework of problem-based research: A guide for novice researchers on the development of a research-worthy problem. Informing Science: The International Journal of an Emerging Transdiscipline, 11, 17.
This article provides a thoughtful technique for conceptualizing a research topic and related research problem.

Beginning the Research Process

National University Library. (2019, October 23). Beginning the research process [Video]. YouTube.

This video provides information to get you started on searching diverse types of literature. The video includes techniques for evaluating credibility of the information that you have discovered.

Reading a Scientific Article
National University Library. (2024, November 14). Reading a Scientific Article. National University Library.
This section of your university Library provides insight into the different sections of a scholarly research article and how to abstract relevant and meaningful content.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Orphanides, A. (2009, July 13). Anatomy of a scholarly article. North Carolina State University Library.
This interactive site provides information on what to look for within different sections of a generic scholarly article.
Developing a Critical Approach
Quinton, S., & Smallbone, T. (2006). Developing a critical approach. In Postgraduate Research in Business (pp. 15-27). SAGE Publications, Ltd,
This chapter focuses on the development of critical reading skills and a critical approach to exploring your research topic. It also includes recommendations for developing a note-taking system.
Reviewing the Literature
Sage Research Methods (2017). Reviewing the literature. Project Planner. 10.4135/9781526408518.
This article discusses the importance of the literature review and outlines the literature review process.
Chapter 1: Narrowing Your Topic

Opportunities for Working Ahead

Explore reference management systems you can use to maintain a list of references you can use during your dissertation journey. RefWorks, EndNote, and Zotero are some of the more popular ones. Look for one that will support in the way you work, write, study, and read. When you have made your selection, download the application and begin storing your sources and articles for future use.

Library Resources

Prospectus Template

Lesson 2 Required Resources

Readings and Videos

What is a Problem?
Aunkst, B. (2024, January 24). What is a problem? [Online forum post].
This post outlines how to develop a problem statement.
Framework of Problem-Based Research: A Guide for Novice Researchers on the Development of a Research-Worthy Problem
Ellis, T. J., & Levy, Y. (2008). Framework of problem-based research: a guide for novice researchers on the development of a research-worthy problem. Informing Science: The International Journal of an Emerging Transdiscipline, 11, 17+.
This article reviews the importance of the problem statement and outlines how to develop it.
Formulating Research Problems
Jupp, V. (2000). Formulating research problems. In Doing Criminological Research (Vol. 0, pp. 13-28). SAGE Publications, Ltd,
Read pages 14-18. This article outlines how to develop the problem statement.
Problem Statement Overview
National University (2024, October 30). Dissertation Center: Problem Statement Overview.
This resource provides an overview of the problem statement.
What is the Gap in the Literature?
National University (2024, November 14). Dissertation Center: What is the gap in the literature?
This resource provides information on how students can identify the gaps in the literature.
How to Design, Write, and Present a Successful Dissertation Proposal
Wentz, E. (2014). Problem statement. In E. Wentz, How to Design, Write, and Present a Successful Dissertation Proposal. SAGE Publications, Ltd.
Read pages 129 through the top of page 132.