CMP-9601PA

National University Library. (2025). Library orientation. NU library webinars – Upcoming events.
Orientation is offered on many days and times of the week. Sign up for one to take advantage of this helpful information.

National University Library. (n.d.). NU Library webinars-Upcoming events. National University.

National University Library. (n.d.). Schedule a consultation. School of Public Service research consultations. National University.

National University Library. (n.d.). Tutorials and training Tools. Research tips. National University.

National University Dissertation Center. (n.d.). Chapter 1: narrowing your topic. National University.

National University Library. (n.d.). Library basic training: Resources for doctoral success. National University.

Ellis, T. J., & Levy, Y. (2008). Framework of problem-based research: a guide for novice researchers on the development of a research-worthy problem. Informing Science: The International Journal of an Emerging Transdiscipline, 11, 17.
The Ellis and Levy article provides a thoughtful technique for conceptualizing a research topic and related research problem.

National University Library (formerly NCU). (2019, October 23). Beginning the research process [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UfkKnwDLU9o
This 46-minute video provides information to get you started on searching diverse types of literature. The video includes techniques for evaluating credibility of the information that you have discovered.

National University Academic Success Center. (n.d.). Analyzing research articles. National University.

National University Library (formerly NCU). (2022, September 2). Reading a Scientific Article. National University Library (formerly NCU).
This section of your university Library provides insight into the different sections of a scholarly research article and how to abstract relevant and meaningful content.

Orphanides, A. (2009, July 13). Anatomy of a scholarly article. North Carolina State University Library.
This interactive site provides information on what to look for within different sections of a generic scholarly article.

Quinton, S., & Smallbone, T. (2006). Developing a critical approach. In S. Quinton, & T. Smallbone, Developing a critical approach (pp. 15-27). SAGE Publications, Ltd.
This chapter focuses on the development of critical reading skills and a critical approach to exploring your research project. It also includes recommendations for developing a note-taking system.

Byrne, D. (2017). Introduction.Project planner. 10.4135/9781526408518.
Read Reviewing the Literature section of this planner for tips on developing a literature search strategy and information note-taking. The information provided in this section also supports information you gleaned from the University’s Library sections and webinars.

Aunkst, B. (2024, January 24). What is a problem? [Online forum post].
This post outlines how to develop a problem statement.

Ellis, T. J., & Levy, Y. (2008). Framework of problem-based research: a guide for novice researchers on the development of a research-worthy problem. Informing Science: The International Journal of an Emerging Transdiscipline, 11, 17.
This article reviews the importance of the problem statement and outlines how to develop it.

National University Dissertation Center. (n.d.). Problem Statement Overview. https://resources.nu.edu/c.php?g=1006886&p=7294692#s-lg-box-23146067
This resource provides an overview of the components of a problem statement.

National University (2024, November 14). Dissertation Center: What is the gap in the literature?
This resource provides information on how students can identify the gaps in the literature.

Wentz, E. (2014). Problem statement. In E. Wentz, Problem statement (pp. 129-148). SAGE Publications, Ltd.
Read pages 129 through the top of page 132 for insightful information on identifying and developing a problem statement for your dissertation research study. Feel free to read the remainder of the chapter that extends into research purpose and research questions as well!