Skip to Main Content

School of Law Resource Center Home

School of Law Resource Center Home

Attending Legal Writing Sessions

Scheduling a Session

ATTN: You must be a registered user to schedule an appointment.

Register for coaching using the Academic Success Center Coaching Scheduler (WCOnline).WCOnline Login page

Individual Sessions:

If you would like to schedule an individual session with a legal writing coach, please use ASC Chat at the hours listed in ASC Contact Information to make that request.

 

Group Writing Sessions and Orientation:

Please use the Academic Success Center Coaching Scheduler to self-schedule any of the available group sessions.

Reserving Your Session

Please use the Academic Success Center Coaching Scheduler to reserve your seat to attend any of the available group sessions. 

Review the Register tab of the Learn the ASC page for assistance with registering for scheduled coaching.

*All session times are scheduled in Pacific Time (PT).

Orientation

Exploring the Academic Success Center and Law Library Orientation ion

January 29 at 2:00 pm - February 13 at 3:00 pm - February 26 at 2:00 pm - March 8 at 3:00 pm -  April 9 at 3:00 pm

Join us for a tour of the Academic Success Center (ASC) and Law Library, where you will learn what services are available to assist you with developing skills in legal writing and research.  The ASC and Library Law Resources Orientation is for law students who want to understand where to access resources for legal citations, writing, and research to provide you with the support you need to achieve your academic goals. 

Issue Spotting 101 - Group Session

Issue Spotting Icon books on a table

 

Friday 10:00 am & Sunday 6:00 a.m. 

The “I” in IRAC, the ever-elusive “issue” is the necessary component in assessing facts to determine the rule of law. This session will break down legal fact patterns to identify relevant information used to formulate the issue.

Analyzing the Issue with the Rule

Books and Gavel on table

 

Friday 11:00 a.m. & Sunday 7:00 a.m. 

Now that you’ve conquered spotting the issue, it’s time to analyze for legal sufficiency! Analyzing the Issue with the Rule merges potential issues with the learned rule of law to formulate a clear and concise legal analysis. 

Case Law Briefing Exercises

Case Law Briefing

Sunday 8:00 a.m.

 

Case briefing is the foundation upon which all legal theories and laws are formulated.  It is a must for all successful law students and can be very confusing at first.  This session is designed to help you tackle those long cases and reduce them to a brief that is easy to understand and useful for long-term study.

Mock Legal Essay Exam

Mock Legal Essay Exam Books and a pen

 

Wednesday 5:00 p.m. 

This one-hour session is dedicated solely to taking a mock legal essay exam. Students will be given a fact pattern and will have the entire session to draft a responsive essay. The session will be timed. A review of the essay will be offered in the Mock Legal Essay Exam Review session.

Legal Writing Power Hours and Workshops


Trial Advocacy Workshop

Monday at 8:00 p.m. PT

This session complements the LAW 310: Trial Advocacy course. This session is an open forum designed for students to address topics discussed during class.  


Legal Research & Writing Workshop

 Tuesday at 8:00 p.m. PT

This session complements the LAW 127: Legal Research & Writing course. This session is an open forum designed for students to address topics discussed during class.  


JFK Weekly Wrap-up

Monday at 2-3:00 pm PT and Friday at 12-1:00 pm PT

It’s not your imagination, law school is REALLY hard.  Come spend an hour in this safe space where we will spend the hour going over assignments from the week!  Students are encouraged to bring assignments that they are currently working on or past assignments for group analysis.

Join legal writing coach Gehrrie Bellamy during this hour-long session to review your weekly assignment. 


Exploring Past Law School and Bar Exams

Sunday 9:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m.

Did you know that your law professor has their past exams available to see and review?  The same goes for the California bar exam!  During this session, we will review old exams from your professor and the California bar to see how to best tackle the test and be successful!


Legal Methods (A) Weekly Workshop - Gehrrie

Monday at 3:00-5:00 p.m. PT

This session complements the JFK Law117 Legal Methods course. This session is an open forum for students enrolled in the Legal Methods course to address various Legal Methods topics discussed during class. Students will engage in a “think tank” environment with the Coach and peers to hone the tools and skills necessary for a successful semester.

Join our live legal writing power hours session for support, guidance, and accountability! This is an open Zoom session where you can come and complete your coursework without interruption with an accountability buddy, or two!

Monday - Join legal writing coach, Gehrrie Bellamy any time within the 2-hour block. The session begins at 3 pm Pacific / 4 pm Mountain / 5 pm Central / 6 pm Eastern.


Legal Methods (A) Weekly Workshop - Ray

Friday at 6:00 p.m. PT

This session complements the JFK Law117 Legal Methods course. This session is an open forum for students enrolled in the Legal Methods course to address various Legal Methods topics discussed during class. Students will engage in a “think tank” environment with the Coach and peers to hone the tools and skills necessary for a successful semester.

Join our live legal writing workshop for support, guidance, and accountability! This is an open Zoom session where you can come and complete your coursework without interruption with an accountability buddy, or two!

Friday- Join legal writing coach Ray Chao any time within the 1-hour block. The session begins at 6 pm Pacific / 7 pm Mountain / 8 pm Central / 9 pm Eastern.


Legal Methods (B) Weekly Workshop - Ray

Friday 7:00 p.m. PT

This session complements the JFK 1L Legal Methods B course. This session is an open forum designed for students to address various Legal Methods topics discussed during class

Friday- Join legal writing coach Ray Chao any time within the 1-hour block. The session begins at 7 pm Pacific / 8 pm Mountain / 9 pm Central / 10 pm Eastern.