An annotated bibliography is a summary and evaluation of a resource. Writing an annotated bibliography will help you gain an in-depth understanding of your topics and is useful for organizing and cataloging resources for use when developing an argument. An annotated bibliography begins with an APA formatted reference followed by one or two paragraphs of text that summarizes the study, evaluates the reliability of the information, and evaluates how the information relates to previous and future research.
This table provides a high-level outline of the structure of a research article and how each section relates to important information for developing an annotated bibliography.
Abstract: Reviewing this section allows the reader to develop a quick understanding of the "why" the study was conducted, the methodology that was used, the most important findings, and why the findings are important.
|Questions for Developing the Annotated Bibliography
(Provides the background and sets the stage for the study)
(The how-to manual of the study)
|Findings/Results: This section will include the results of the data analysis. This section often provides graphs, tables, and figures that correspond with the type of analysis conducted.
Discussion and Summary
(The researcher provides context and relates the findings to the research questions.)
Annotated Bibliography Sample Outline
Author, S. A. (date of publication). Title of the article. Title of Periodical, vol. (issue), page-page. https://doi.org/XXXXXX
Write one or two paragraphs that focus on the study and its findings.