To comply with Federal regulations and best-practices, effective January 15, 2024, 1:1 doctoral students will no longer close their study with the IRB after data collection is complete. The IRB Study Closure will be submitted in the Doctoral Record after Chapter 4 or Section 3 is approved by the student’s doctoral committee. This change will help prevent students from having to reopen their studies should they not collect sufficient data during the data collection period.
How will this change impact students in the DIS-9903/9913 courses?
- Students will no longer close their study with the IRB after data collection in DIS-9903/9913.
- To meet the deliverables for the DIS-9903/9913 course, students will complete their data collection as they do now and then demonstrate their data collection is complete by completing a new Data Collection Verification Form.
- The Data Collection Verification Form should be submitted to you in the DIS-9903/9913 course via one of the weekly dropboxes.
- If the student has completed the Data Collection Verification Form and you are satisfied they have finished their data collection, you should sign the form and return it to the student as an attachment to the same dropbox where the student submitted the form. The student will then have met all of the deliverables for DIS-9903/9913 and can move on to the DIS-9904/9914 course.
- Please note the DIS-9903/9913 courses will still instruct the student to submit their IRB closure. It will be your responsibility to alert students to this change and to ignore the current course instructions.
How will this change impact students in the DIS-9904/9914 courses?
- Students will close their study after their Chapter 4 or Section 3 is approved by their dissertation committee in the Doctoral Record.
- Once Chapter 4 or Section 3 is approved, students should complete their IRB Study Closure via the directions provided by the IRB Resource Center. Students will be prompted to upload the signed Data Collection Verification Form as part of the closure process. Study closure confirmation must also be uploaded to the Doctoral Record.
- If a student in DIS-9904/9914 has already submitted their IRB Study Closure before January 15, 2024 in DIS-9903/DIS-9913 then they will be instructed to ignore the change posted to the course. For several months after the effective date, we expect there to be a transition period.
- Please note the DIS-9904/DIS-9914 course will not instruct the student to submit their IRB closure. It will be your responsibility to alert students they must submit their closure after the completion of Chapter 4 or Section 3.
Where and how will these changes be announced to students?
- An announcement will be listed in the News section of the DIS-9903/9913 and DIS-9904/9914 courses on January 8 & 15, 2024. The Data Collection Verification Form will be posted as an attachment in the DIS-9903/9913 courses.
- This change will also be announced on the main page of NCUOne and in the Commons.
- The IRB Resource Center will align its announcements and materials to reflect this change.
Where do I find the Data Collection Verification Form?
- The form will be included in the DIS-9903/9913 announcement.
- The form is located on the Chapter 4 tab in the Dissertation Center and the Section 3 tab in the Applied Doctoral Center.
- The form can be downloaded from these links here: the Dissertation Center and Applied Doctoral Center.
- If you can’t locate the form, please contact the Office of Graduate Studies at GraduateStudies@nu.edu
