This is a space for the teal alert bar.
This is a space for the yellow alert bar.
This is a space for the teal alert bar.
This is a space for the yellow alert bar.
Content: Scholarly journals, e-books, videos and more.
Purpose: A key multidisciplinary database for most topics. It is one of the library’s main search engines and the most comprehensive single search.
Note: Certain library databases and publisher content are not searchable in NavigatorSearch, and individual databases may need to be searched to retrieve information due to unique content. NavigatorSearch can be found at https://resources.nu.edu.
Once you have identified citation(s) within the Replications section, you may return to NU Library and search for these resources by title. Copy and paste the article title into the NavigatorSearch box on the Library’s homepage. Make sure to surround the title with quotation marks, select Title from the drop-down field, and checkmark the box next to Full Text.
Content: Biomedical and health journals. Provides MESH subject headings and offers the full text of many popular MEDLINE-indexed journals that are not available in other databases.
Purpose: Informs users about health and medicine topics
Special Features: Includes text-to-speech function for some articles
This authoritative database provides full text, cover-to-cover indexing for journals indexed in MEDLINE. These top journals cover a wide range of subjects within the biomedical and health fields containing information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
MEDLINE features a unique search limiter for EBM Reviews. The EBM Reviews limiter is a quick method to limit your search to the following 6 titles within MEDLINE:
This limiter is valuable as it limits your search to a small set of titles that apply very strict criteria and thus include high-quality evidence-based content, including systematic reviews.
To search for EBM reviews in MEDLINE, first type in your search term(s).
Next, scroll down to the Search Options area and check mark the box next to EBM Reviews.
Please note, it is recommended that you keep searches broad when looking for EBM Reviews as check marking this box will likely only return a small set of titles.
Content: EBSCO’s nursing database covering biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines.
Purpose: Database for research in nursing, medicine, and consumer health.
Special Features: Strong qualitative studies. Filter studies by nurse as author, evidence-based practice, and type of study. Includes MESH indexing, PICO search functionality, text-to-speech feature for some articles, and a tool for discovering citing articles.
In CINAHL, you may limit your search to Evidence-Based Practice using the checkbox shown below. Applying this limiter allows you to limit results to:
Content: Database of intervention focused systematic reviews.
Purpose: Learn the effectiveness of interventions proven through evidence-based research.
Special Features: Includes MESH and PICO search functionality.
Help using this database. Please allow cookies if the page does not load.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. One of these databases, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials or CENTRAL, is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.
Search for your intervention by name occurring within the Title, Abstract, Keywords. Remember to utilize phrase searching to ensure the most accurate results.
Please note, the Cochrane Library can be searched for free, however Northcentral University Library does not have a subscription to this database. For information about using The Cochrane Library see How to use The Cochrane Library help page.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the Internet’s premier source of evidence-based content.
After conducting a search for an EBP by name, you can further refine results by using the filtering options found on the right hand side of your results screen. For instance, you can narrow your results strictly to Controlled Trials.
Please note if you come across a result not available in full text you may request it through the Interlibrary Loan service.
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center contains a collection of scientifically-based resources for a broad range of audiences, including Treatment Improvement Protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources.
You can search by topic area, substance or condition as well as resource type (e.g., Toolkit, Treatment Improvement Protocol, Guideline), target population (e.g., Youth, Adult), and target audience (e.g., resource for Clinicians, Prevention Professionals, Patients, Policymakers).
